We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hammontree's Grilled Cheese

Hammontree's Grilled Cheese
326 N. West Ave, Fayetteville, AR
479-521-1669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 320 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Hot Dogs, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Fayetteville's original grilled cheese joint. Hammontree's specializes in gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches made with high quality ingredients; sourced locally when possible. We also have made from scratch soups daily, salads, and specialty sausages.
Hendersonville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Great food, local draft beer and service within walking distance to campus. Recommend the edamame hummus, white buffalo and ragin cajun sandwiches.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Delicious and different! Will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

When I found out there was a restaurant in Fayetteville that served nothing but GRILLED CHEESE, I was excited for weeks. I talked about it and scoured over the online menu as I planned my trip. Ultimately, I had a tough time choosing between Brie's Company and El Chupacabre. I planned on ordering both and just eating half and half, but common sense got the best of me and I only ordered one: Brie's Company.

I am not a brie eater, so I substituted manchego for the brie. This sandwich came with gouda, manchego (on mine), grilled apples, caramelized onions, and fig jam on sourdough. Cheese oozed out of the sandwich on all sides. It was creamy and delicious. The innards were tangy and savory, and... oh, yum! I can't wait to go back and try another sandwich.

The only downside is that the sandwich was served with plain old Ruffles potato chips. Some homemade chips would have been divine with this sandwich. But then again... you don't come to Hammontree's for the chips.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

H has a very comfortable atmosphere, that matches well with the wide selection of grilled cheese sandwiches (ultimate comfort food. "Jack To The Future" is may personal favorite.) Close enough to Dickson St. if the local action is your gig, but half a block away so you're out of the fray if it's not.

Btw, all of the parking is paid through a kiosk, but that system also utilizes a phone app. Easy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun bright place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had the sweet potato appetizer and 4 of the named griledl cheese sandwiches. Everything was good as well as the waitstaff. Sandwiches were kind of small for me but filling. Will go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best lunch spot in Fayetteville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great grilled cheese sandwiches and hotdogs. Nothing normal or ordinary about any of them. From the high quality cheeses to the unique combinations (my fav is the Ragin Cajun with andouille sausage, poblanos and Pepper Jack on jalapeno cornbread) and the superb soup. I've eaten here probably 100 times and never had a bad meal. If you want white tablecloths and ambiance then go somewhere else. If you want a great sandwich for lunch then go to Hammontree's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammontree's Grilled Cheese also viewed

 

Been to Hammontree's Grilled Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hammontree's Grilled Cheese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.