We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife's favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rue Orleans

Cafe Rue Orleans
1150 N College Ave, Fayetteville, AR 72703-1907
479-443-2777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 309 Restaurants in Fayetteville
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My wife's favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

What more can I say? The title gives you everything you need to know. If you like New Orleans style food, then this place is for you. Very authentic and nice sized portions.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    6
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka Springs
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ya know What it means to Miss New Orleeeens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Arrived at 11am opening time -- as this was my first visit. Wanted to dine there for the past few years and didn't realize that it was just across the street from the VA hospital where I make occassional visits.
I was more than pleased. Didn't go overboard on the Menu - decided on a cup of Anduille Gumbo and a Shrimp Poboy. Gumbo was Great -- Fried Shrimp were Exellent -- Bread loaf was Awsome.
Being from New Orleans, I inquired of the owner who I understand is from N'Awlins also.
Will Return!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fried Oysters are very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This being oyster season, my wife and I thought we would try Rue just for them, despite our recent disappointing meal. Rue does know how to prepare deep fried foods well. The oysters were really excellent and the quantity was very generous. The waitress was very helpful. The bread was terrible as always.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The food is absolutely to die for at Cafe Rue Orleans. The Shrimp Pontchartrain is one of the best dishes I have ever tried. The atmosphere is pretty tame and the parking lot is tiny, but you will not regret visiting this place. You wont find better New Orleans styled food anywhere. I stopped here on my way south to New Orleans with a few friends and all four of us left stuffed and happy. Great place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic Cajun Cuisine with Big New Orleans Taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We were greeted with a great southern welcome, and seated right away. The food was excellent, and the portions are huge. The Cafe is very quaint, but had a great view of Old South. The only negative was that the inside and bathrooms could use a good cleaning. Overall was a good dining experience with the food being the hero. Would love to go back and visit Maudie and her amazing food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rue Orleans also viewed

 
Fayetteville, AR
 

Been to Cafe Rue Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rue Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.