We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really deserve the great reviews.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Markree Castle Homefarm

Markree Castle Homefarm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collooney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Markree Castle Homefarm
Save
You added Markree Castle Homefarm to your Saves list
Collooney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They really deserve the great reviews.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Just back from 3 nights B and B in a 3 bed apartment in Homefarm. My wife and 3 young children were treated to fabulous service and astonishing value for money. From the moment we arrived Amy our hostess was very attentive and made absolutely sure we were comfortable. We requested more logs for our open fire on day 2, and within an hour Amy arrived with a sack full that she had just chopped with her own hand. Needless to say I was pretty impressed. Also impressive were the 3 breakfasts that we were served in the castle dining room. The food was all freshly prepared and delicious,and even though they were very busy the service was seamless. They went as far as preparing french toast (not on the menu), for one of the kids who refused to eat anything else. This was a lovely touch as it made the breakfast table a happier place...(nothing worse than a grumpy 10 year old claiming that he doesn't like any of the food.)
The hotel itself is as i expected it to be. It's 3 star rating is about right. It's a little bit shabby but clean and warm and comfortable too. The big log fire in the lobby was always lit and provided a lovely welcome every time you walked in. The apartments are about 200 metres up the road and are set in a lovely courtyard with pretty gardens to the rear for the kids to enjoy and with the sauna and hot tub housed right next door. The apartment was extremely well equipped, clean, always warm, lots of hot water and with very comfortable beds and bedding. My only minor gripe might be the quality and mismatched style of the other furnishings....very much the flat pack variety, not nice to look at , not great quality , and purely functional. Overall I thought it was perfect for a relaxing break and a great location to explore the region from.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sligo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

Stayed there for a friends wedding, wow the apartments are gorgeous! Great place to recover after a night of dancing...we had the hot tubs to ourselves. and then walked around the estate which was magical. I'd highly recommend the apartments!

  • Liked — the decor and layout of the apartments
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

I had never heard of Markree Castle and hadn't visited Sligo on nigh on 30 years when I saw a special offer of b&b for 49 euros in local press. For my birthday my husband booked a night (rather than our usual foray to Donegal which usually is 50 euros plus for the run of the mill) as a treat for me and all I can say is that Markree is something else. Pure peace and tranquility with food that is glorious! The fittings maybe to some eyes a tad worn but the whole place oozes a shabby-chic for a want of a better phrase and the staff are brilliant. I will be returning if only to have a spoonful of the cream of cauliflower soup,which I used to believe I made a good version of before my visit to Markree, and to taste FRESH eggs which I thought had been banned under some obscure law..........And then there is the beautiful landscape and peace.......what more could a city-bound busy 'girl' want?

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — lack of detail in cleaning bathroom...was clean but not spotless
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Stayed at homefarm for a month in the Granary house.....absolutely fantastic!!!!! the high quality finish, the old and modern combined, beautiful scenery and the never ending countryside!!!! absolutley breathtaking.... brilliant family holiday, went with family and kids of 18 17 17 17 15 11 and kids boyfriends and friends!!! difficult to please teenagers but it went down a treat they loved it and with hundreds of places to discover i didnt hear the word boredom once!!!!!!!
rercommend it for all. best holiday ever and when the sun was shining you may as well have been in the carribean. owners are very obliging and gave us the use of a canoe and fantastic decking area for a bbq!!!!

without a doubt go!!1

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

Top class finish to these fabulous apartments and a the staff are an absolute riot.
We stayed here for a week with friends and it was a shame to go out of an evening as it really was a home-from-home.
We ventured to the indoor hottub on several occaisions but that had to be done!
The apartments and houses are tastefully furnished and every little detail is thought out - even down to including washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets. Towels are included too which is rare for self-catering accommodation.
One of this things I liked was the peace. Because there is an area for cars to park, it's so peaceful as you don't here people coming in at all hours.
Can highly recommend Markree Home Farm apartments. We had a blast and would definately return.

  • Liked — Everthing!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

Stayed at homefarm with friends and family for a wedding at the castle. Very impressed with the accommodation which was clean, spacious and well laid out. Enjoyed the upside down lay out with the skylights and french doors upstairs, although make sure any early risers are not heavy footed. The owners have gone to an effort to make the accommodation modern and neutral and were very welcoming. The location is very peaceful and as you are in the grounds of the castle you can walk through the parkland or go tto the castle for dinner. The layout and sizes of the different apartments are great for a large group of people who also want some privacy.

  • Liked — The peaceful location
  • Disliked — The tv reception went after the first day - but so what!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

Stayed two nights in the Homefarm Apartments and found them delightful. The converted buildings are renovated nicely and are spacious and well equiped. You are nicely secluded from the Castle, a minute or so walk away, and Victoria and the staff are welcoming and friendly. The only downside is that the living room/kitchen is upstaires, with small windows without views, and the bedrooms are downstaires ( for insurance reasons I believe). The shower in the bath was poor, and check the hotwater timer suits your needs, as we ran out after only one shower, thou' there were four of us preparing ourselves for a wedding in the caslte! Ugh..

  • Liked — Simpathetic renovation
  • Disliked — Bad shower
  • Tips/Secrets — Not suitable for mobility impared
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Markree Castle Homefarm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markree Castle Homefarm

Address: Collooney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Collooney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Collooney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Markree Castle’s 17th Century farmyard buildings, you can enjoy sculpture gardens and a private deck overlooking the river Unsin as well as sauna and hot tub facilities. This range of luxury, self catering suites and the fabulous Granary House are just minutes walk from the Castle itself, where meals and afternoon tea can be enjoyed by prior arrangement. Markree Castle Home Farm gives you the opportunity to immerse yourself in the peace and relaxation that Markree has to offer while enjoying all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Markree Castle Homefarm Ireland/Collooney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markree Castle Homefarm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.