We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Markree Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Markree Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Markree Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Castle   |   Colljust off the main Sligo-Dublin Road (N4), Collooney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Never been disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I have stayed at markree at least half a dozen times (and yes at one point in room 1 that everyone keeps saying is horrendous.) I have to disagree with just about every negative comment I have read here. I have stayed for a holiday, in the stables b&b, and in the castle for a wedding and also for the year of the game fair. Each time in a different room in a different part of the castle.
I can honestly say that I have not once had a negative thought about any aspect of my stay.
I do not understand the criticism of the food. Having eaten in many resteraunts in top locations around the world I can only say that the food, if not extravagant or modern, is some of the nicest and most generous I have found.
A truly remarkable place and a wonder to have in it's current state given it's past. Thank you for all the time and effort you have put in Charles.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    144
    46
    23
    27
See reviews for
110
221
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Lovely from the outside and the approach to the building. It was a very different story inside. Our stay was awful. We checked in with our toddler to room 1 which smelt and felt damp. However the smell of damp was preferable to the smell in the bathroom, which consisted of a urine sodden carpet. The room was dirty and damp. The lowlight however came in the middle of the night, when it started to rain and the rain poured through the ceiling and on to us. We counted 5 leaks in the room and the water poured through and soaked the bed. We were due to stay 3 days but checked out the next morning. I might add we got no apology from the female member of staff at reception the next morning. In the middle of the night after complaining to staff we were offeref another room but frankly it was no better. However im not writing this review simply because we had an uncomfortable night. I think the hotel is dangerous. They werent in the least surprised by our complaint that it had rained on us and the electrical equipment in the room yet they saw fit to put myself and my child in that room. Appalling and shameful of them. Also we noted a pint glass left on a low level window sill with a bottle of liquid, with a large x marked 'corrossice insect repellant' which sat in the hall for the length of our stay. If a child had lifted it,... Markaree castle is awful. Since our stay i have heard a number of others who have had awful experiences. I intend making sure everyone, including the newspaper that advertised the deal we sought know the conditions guests are expected to endure.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markreecastle, Manager at Markree Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
We were quite honestly very shocked to read your review and horrified that you had had such a bad experience at Markree. As you can see from other reviews, your negative experience thankfully is not one that many others have shared. Nonetheless we take your comments very seriously indeed and have fully investigated all your points. I can assure you that the room you mention is already undergoing renovations to deal with a leak in the roof. Thank you very much for taking the time to write and review- we appreciate all feedback, both negative & positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Fantastic entrance. Inviting warm glowing fireplace. Th erooms seemed damp, only to find that in fact the bed we had was 'sodden' wet. This sorry to say it 'dampened' our spirits. The reception staff were however quick to offer us another room, the first one was not acceptable as it was a sort of attic room with dorma window looking to the sky. The second choice which we were told was the last one available was a much more cosy room (room 15 I think), a;though still seemed a bit damp. This was solved by keeping the heating on for an appreciable time.
Apart from the 'shock' of finding the bed in the first room an absolute shock, (really couldnt beieve it), the one night stay there turned out satisfactory.
OH one other major point when checking out, and despite what is said on the receipt, We were NOT given the choice of currency to pay in. The bill was settled in the origin of the debit card, i.e. sterling, whereas I would have preferred Euro, and probably have saved a pound or two, ore (Euro).
The food was acceptable, and plentiful, but reminded me too much of a sunday diinner

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markreecastle, Manager at Markree Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review Markree Castle. I can assure you that we take the time to read, and act on, each and every comment made in order for us to get better and better. Each year we arrange an extensive renovation campaign and your comments will help us to prioritise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Staying in the Markree Castle is a true castle experience at about one-half or one-third the cost of some of the better known castle hotels in Ireland. Overall the feel is of faded elegance, but it is very comfortable with enough modern touches (bathrooms and showers) to make it a fun place to stay. It has carved beam ceilings and stained glass in the public rooms , a Rococo dining room with food which is interesting, tasty, and at a reasonable price, and large guest rooms. The Johnny Cash room is enormous. There is a stable for horse riding on the premises, and there are acres of fields and gardens for wandering around. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The overall service is excellent. Elevator access to all parts of the castle is limited, and the location is a ways from anywhere - about a 10 minute drive to Sligo.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markreecastle, Manager at Markree Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to give Markree such a great review. It is lovely to know that you had a great stay and hopefully your review will help others when planning their trips in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killaloe, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Very pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Hotel & grounds are breathtaking.
The receptionist was extremely helpful & courteous.
Our room was quaint & perfectly in keeping with the castle. Bed was comfortable, room and bathroom were spotless.
Breakfast was very good & plenty of choice.
The whole ambience of the hotel was warm, friendly and we had a throughly enjoyable stay & certainly intend to return.
A gem of a hideaway, can't say anything bad, we loved it......magical!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markreecastle, Manager at Markree Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to get into the spirit of the old castle. Hopefully your review will be helpful to others planning to visit Sligo and the Northwest of Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights for leonard Cohen Concert : The Castle looks fantastic: The entrance is very grand with carpeted staircase however there were 2/3 very large flower arrangements in the hall and the flowers were very dead I dont mean wilted they had been dead for some time: So on entering the lobby the same thing a large flower arrangement on a central table & dead flowers: So it was with trepadation we registered hoping this wasnt a sign of things to come: We got room number 1 & it was awful, it is on the ground floor & to get to it you pass the kitchen & another landing between our corridor & for the 2 days there was a vile smell, so we had to take a deep breath & run through this space: Our room was very uncomfortable thought the bed was Ok & spotlessly clean the shower & toilet were inadequate in size & decor: The bedroom furniture was shoddy & there was a smell of smoke in the room, though we should have request ed a non smoking room. We did ask if we could change our room but the hotel was fully booked: Dinner in the restaurant in my mind should not have been let out of the kitchen the vegetables were disgraceful The meat was overcooked too & the sauce was dreadful, so we didnt eat our main course, the starters were OK : (we werent charged for our food) Beakfast next morning wasnt much better on my cereal spoon there was a lump of brocolli which didnt come off in the wash . So it was a bit of a put off, & other guests advised us not to try the sausages!! The staff were charming & the bed was clean are the only two positive points: Its a shame because the castle itself is fantastic but the furniture couches etc were shoddy & dusty: However they were full, on account of the concert I suspect but all the more reason housekeeping should have had it shining & Im afraid we were very let down & we wouldnt visit again:

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markreecastle, Manager at Markree Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review Markree. I can assure you that we take your comments very seriously and before this review was even posted we began work on the roof in order to fix a faulty downpipe. We love to hear of customer's experiences, both negative and positive in order to improve our facility and service and can assure you that you will not experience the same difficulty if you visit Markree again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglinton, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Stayed in the Markree Castle Hotel for three nights in July 2010. From the moment of arrived, feelings of relaxation and welcome were encountered! The staff are undoubtedly the biggest asset of this Hotel. Every single member of staff went out of their way to be helpful, welcoming, accomodating, and sincere in their genuine and attentive approach (Alex, Simon, and Niamh to name but a few). They really are amazing.

Check-in was straight forward, and the room was bright, very clean, well appointed, and had lots of space. The views were fantastic. Its not your clean-lines type hotel, but rather it is furnished with pieces fitting of a castle of its age and size. The soul of the Castle would be destroyed otherwise. The room had a great ensuite bathroom, including a great steel bath as well as an over-bath shower. Can't beat a bath, especially in a Castle! There are rooms thats have been stayed in or lived in by well known people, such as Yeats.

The dining experience was wonderful. Breakfast was fantastic, cooked to order, as well as the healthier options being available (or both!). The evening dining experience was just fantastic too, a great menu and the food was cooked to perfection, and at reasonable prices (just the right price). Everything was at a perfect pace. You can reserve your table early in the day, and choose one which overlooks the gardens..

The grounds of the Hotel are beautiful, with a lovely river going around about 1/3 of the castle. Horse-riding and other activities are available. You can also take the back road to Strandhill to the seaweed baths (Voya) for a well deserved and highly recommended seaweed bath (€25 single) - it means you stay out of busy Sligo and keep with the whole detached from stressful life experience. There are loads of areas that you can walk, as well as run about with the dog.

There was no issue with bringing a dog, in fact, the staff went out of their way to welcome the dog too! And there was a great atmosphere around the fire in the reception area in the evening when you returned from your evening walk to dry out at the fire.

This hotel is highly recommended from personal experience, and a return trip is certainly warranted!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Markree Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markree Castle Hotel

Address: Colljust off the main Sligo-Dublin Road (N4), Collooney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Collooney
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Collooney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Markree Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Markree Castle, Sligo's oldest inhabited castle, has been the home of the Cooper family since 1640. Now brought back from virtual dereliction and lovingly restored by the Coopers into a country house hotel and highly acclaimed restaurant, Markree Castle is a gateway to the past, combining distinctive old-world, home from home charm with stunning surroundings. Described as Ireland's finest castle of its period, with much care and attention given to preserving original features and atmosphere, a visit to Markree Castle presents a unique opportunity to immerse yourself in history and the authentic castle experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Markree Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Markree
Markree Castle Sligo
Markree Castle Hotel Ireland/Collooney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Markree Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.