We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive or unobtainable internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road | Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive or unobtainable internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

Had stayed at the Abbey for the previous 4 years and had always found it impossible to access my Hong Kong internet account via the extremely expensive PC in the "Business Centre" (a tiny room with one computer that costs around 8 Euros per hour to use). This time around the problem with my HK ISP had still not been resolved and the manager informed me that instead of forwarding my mail from the office PC to the business centre as per in previous years, I would have to walk the mile or so into Roscommon town centre. Not a very helpful attitude from the manager given that I had been out of touch with clients in Hong Kong since early that morning when I left the UK. Will never stay here again as a result of the manager's extremely unprofessional attitude.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The manager
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    87
    62
    29
    22
See reviews for
100
126
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

Walked in to The Abbey Hotel and found a room available. Stayed 4 nights, large twin room, nicely furnished. Breakfast was average but nicely served, Carvery Lunch was excellent with large portion, many choices and very reasonably priced. Dinner service was quite pricey. It was a cold week and was unhappy to find that Management turned the heat off at night from midnight to 5:00 a.m., then again from Noon to 5:00 p.m. As Floridians we were "freezing" and had Management bring us 2 portable electrical heaters which worked out fine. Good location, close to shops and restaurants and also has a new Leisure Center which appeared to be very popular with the local residents.

  • Liked — Location - Excellent Service
  • Disliked — Poor TV Viewing -Overpriced Dinner Menu
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

I travelled to the Abbey Hotel last weekend with my partner and my 4 year old for a much deserved weekend away. I read previous reviews about this hotel so was a bit apprehensive initally - no need to be! It was excellent. The Hotel is situated on its own private grounds surrounded by beautiful gardens and is just a short walk into the town itself. The hotel is tastfully decorated in keeping with the old Manor style and has even an open lit fire in the lounge off the bar. Our room was spacious, clean and very comforatable. My 4 year old loved the the pool and my partner found the lesiure facilities second to none . The food in the restaurant was exceptional, the staff were both friendly and very helpful.

Over all we really enjoyed our stay. and we are planning to return in the new year.

  • Liked — The Spacious Rooms and great service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis Clare
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We stayed here with our children on a super valu midweek break here in August last. We were very happy with the hotel as it was clean and well managed. The food was excellent and each night the menu was different. The restaurant staff were very courteous to us each night and they made sure that we got the same table each time we ate!! On the third night our youngest child grazed her knee outside and the restaurant manager gave her some treats. Our room was large and spacious and the receptionist organised an inter- joining room for us on check in even though we had not reservd one!!

The leisure centre is excellent and it suited us great to have the kids left there where they were supervised at all times.

Overall we thought the hotel was good value and perfect for the children as it is not too big. The staff were very helpful at all times and we would have no hesitation in recommending the Abbey to anyone.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

We attended a wedding here in October and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel. We expected a small country house hotel with basic facilities, however, the hotel is much more than that. Our room was excellent with a soft bed and plasma TV. Were checked in prompltly and our bags were brought to the room for us while we ate in the restaurant. The steak I had was the best I have had in years and the service was polite and courteous. At the wedding the next day everybody had a ball and once again the food was excellent. I sopke to some locals at the wedding and they said that the hotel has an excellent reputation for food and does very well. Therefore I am surprised by some of the comments on this website from other reviewers.

By the way the leisure centre is excellent. We checked out after the wedding and were asked was everything okay for us and were thanked for staying at the Hotel by a blonde receptionist. Nice to know that our business was appreciated!!

JF Dublin

  • Liked — the personal touch
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

we have just come back from a 3 day stay at the abbey hotel have to say it was a lovely hotel the food was second to none probaly got one of the nicest meals i ever had there. The staff very friendly and helpful and my little girl loved the pool. Wil definately go back had a lovely break











thanks for a lovely stay.
john and geraldine. kildare

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

I stay in the Abbey hotel for one night on business last Saturday. Its a small hotel in pretty grounds. There was a wedding on when I arrived. The room was very dated and dark, the bed was as hard a board, the bathroom very dated the shower sprayed everywhere but down. The toilet paper came in a dispenser like the ones in public toilets, one sheet at a time.
I didn't eat there as there was not room service after 9pm and the resturant was closed, and breakfast in the morning started at 8am, As I'd been awake all night with the hard bed and the noise for the wedding ,so I left very early, exausted!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Where to start.........
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road | Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Abbey Hotel, Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambience described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The Abbey boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the Abbey offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Our award winning Leisure Centre boasts a 20m Indoor Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Fully Equipped Gymnasium and Treatment Room. Ideal for your family holiday with our kids club available during the schools mid –term breaks and holidays.Our Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, using fresh local produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation. Those on business can avail of our conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s picturesque gardens and magnificent, beautifully appointed Ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.