We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road | Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for three nights B&B in a family room. The room was bright and clean and the communal areas were fantastic, genuine character without compromising a top class stay.

We eat at the bar and the food was quick, reasonably priced and tasted great. The bar was welcoming, a modern twist on a traditional hotel which was nice.

The location was excellent and within easy walking distance of the town centre where there was plenty of choice for evening dinner too.

The breakfast buffet was great and on a quieter day they offered hot breakfast made to order.

Room Tip: The hotel is used for conferences and weddings functions but the rooms are in a separate block so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    87
    62
    29
    22
See reviews for
100
126
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the abbey for a wedding. We had a great night. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was fantastic.The bedroom was spacious, clean and confortable. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I visited the hotel in June of 2013. This was prior to our going on an eleven day tour with Collette Travel. We stayed one night and really enjoyed our stay. When I booked the hotel, I also booked a dinner which was fabulous. The service was great and staff at the hotel were very accommodating. I booked the hotel because my grandfather was born in Roscommon and we visited his homesite. We found the people in Ireland to be among the friendliest anywhere. Whether your of Irish ancestry or not, Ireland is a great place to visit,

Room Tip: we didn't have breakfast, and I don't know if the hotel had a spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We recently stayed one night while stopping in Roscommon. It is walkable to the center of town although not much to do in Roscommon. We ate at the Jackson which was phenominal!
The grounds of the hotel are pretty and the rooms were clean. All beds were double beds. Seems to be a common hotel for conferences.
Brekafast was good, no complaints. Parking was free.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Making the booking was a little difficult. I had to make several calls and send several emails. That said I am glad I persevered - this is a lovely spot for a night or two away. The hotel is old style, but with character on beautiful grounds. Lots of 'olde world' charm about the place. Receptionists are a little on the slow side (everything takes ages, even a simple check in or check out), but are friendly and polite. Hotel is well located only a 5/7 minute walk from town, which was ideal for going out. Lunch was only a carvery option (we would have liked a menu - even bar food, which was not available) so we went out for lunch. The rooms are a little dated and not overly large (they had those bed spreads which went out in the 80s and 90s which really should go !), no iron/ironing board (but reception dropped it up straight away), our telephone didn't work (but again this was sorted and was only a minor issue). A very old box tv set (pet hate and unacceptable for a 4* I think !) bed was a little small (double but only a European Queen) but was comfy. Only two pillows in the room (none in the press) I asked for more to be sent up and they sent just one up, which was feather (even though I had checked in with a 'no feathers due to allergies' request). We had a tapas included for our evening meal as part of our package. To put it mildly, this was dire. We received a plate with deep fried sausage, chicken, garlic mushroom and a bowl of lettuce covered in mayonaisse, which was neither sufficient for an evening meal or enjoyable. It was cheap, oily and we left hungry. By the time we left it was too late to eat out elsewhere. Breakfast was buffet style and very nice, good quality. Staff efficient. Overall, not a bad property. Good value for money, but could do with improvement in a few key areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a midweek overnight in early February and the value was good. It was a little bit out of town but property has some character and parking was available on site.
The service was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was generous and cooked to order. I would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Booked this hotel for the second night of a two night break away with my wife after we could only get one night in Lough Rynn castle.
Soooooo disappointed. Checked in and went to our room ( Room 29 ) thought it was a joke when we entered the room. It was small and freezing cold, décor way outdated and the beds small with headboards literally threw up against paper thin walls. Looked clean.
The little hallway leading to the room was dark and dingy.
Complained to the receptionist who looked shocked but showed us another room that was a bit better but the damage was done.
We got into our car and returned home. ( 70 miles ) Complained by email to the manager, the gist of his reply was, the receptionist thought the room was of sufficient quality as per our rate ( €110 B&B ).
In todays climate you would expect a lot more for €110.
Both the Abbey and Lough Rynn castle are 4 star hotels but I am afraid that is where the comparison ends. Incidentally Lough Rynn was cheaper to stay in.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 29.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road | Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Abbey Hotel, Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambience described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The Abbey boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the Abbey offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Our award winning Leisure Centre boasts a 20m Indoor Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Fully Equipped Gymnasium and Treatment Room. Ideal for your family holiday with our kids club available during the schools mid –term breaks and holidays.Our Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, using fresh local produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation. Those on business can avail of our conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s picturesque gardens and magnificent, beautifully appointed Ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.