We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road | Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value for money and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a livingsocial voucher and staff are very friendly but I have to say our dinner was absolutely beautiful we had pork belly and it's the best we have gotten anywhere. Thank you for a lively stay and we would love to return in the future

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    87
    62
    29
    22
See reviews for
100
126
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Having stayed in the hotel for a badly needed break following a bereavement. We were really looking forward to the pool. (2 adults and 2 children 2+4). We were advised there was a children's pool.When we arrived, the water in this pool was above our children's head. As our children can not swim, we asked for armbands and were asked for €20. We did not have this money to spend for a quick splash in addition to paying the hotel, Disappointed that safety was not the main objective, It felt like a 4star hotel with a Ryanair policy. The hotel itself was fine. But we did feel let down by the experience. I would recommend the leisure center have some spare arm bands if needed to paying guests. Had this being the case, we would of being happy to return,

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on a 69 euro voucher deal. We were pleasantly surprised at how good it was. There was no mention of vouchers and we were checked in very efficiently by the friendly receptionist. Our room was very spacious with a four poster bed and large bathroom. The decor is very tasteful and is in keeping with the character of the hotel. There was a bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates waiting for us when we arrived.

We had lunch and dinner in the bar where we found the staff to be extremely friendly and courteous. The food was also delicious and reasonably priced. I had seafood chowder which was one of the nicest I have had anywhere. There was a real buzz about the place and the bar was packed that night. There were a lot of locals there which is always a good sign.

The hotel owner was very visible and was continuously walking around and talking to guests which is a nice touch. I found all the staff to be very pleasant and their customer service skills were excellent. The hotel was very, warm and cosy and the lesiure centre is quite good. We definitely will be paying a return visit to this hotel and I would have no hestitation in recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A lovely family run hotel with all the amenities. We had booked through a deals page so had an overnight stay with a bottle of bubbly & chocs for €60. Excellent value. After buying the deal, I rang the hotel to book the date, received a reservation number & asked for a confirmation email. On arrival, we were early for 2 pm check in so headed to the bar for lovely lattes. Observed the 2 owners on site throughout our time in the hotel & their attention to customer detail was impeccable. We then proceeded to reception to check in. Bernie the receptionist was welcoming but made reference at volume to the fact that we had a "voucher". In fact it was referred to three times while we were checking in & once when we checked out this morning - all while other guests were waiting at reception. In fact, it was insisted upon when we booked in that we produce the voucher - it was chance that I had a printout in my bag. Didn't think we'd need one when we had a reservation number. So prepare for that. We didn't want to eat in the hotel after this so headed to Gleesons where we spent €70 on food - then to local hostelries where we spent another €80. We had one round of drinks back at the hotel before heading to bed. Room was absolutely fine - a little dated but a welcoming change from corporate (now NAMA owned hotels). The leisure centre is a welcome facility & they are working on its maintenance at the moment. Buffet breakfast was ample & the hotel was lovely & warm, cosy & comfy. Keep up the good work folks. If you don't want discount visitors (€99 is the norm - so it was a 30% discount) - don't advertise on their offers page. Pop a special on your own web page instead.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisnaskea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a lot as its my favourite hotel in Ireland. Love it so much....what else can I say that I haven't already staff pleasant nice and very helpful....we had a bar snack in evening was very tasty...

Rooms lovely a lot of people say about decor being dated but I like this it adds to the hotel room wz lovely and big...

Breakfast was lovely plenty to eat
All in all cnt wait to return hopefully soon just wish my stay this time hadve been longer than one night but roll on next time!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've read in some of the reviews that the decor of the hotel was dated but in fairness it's in keeping with the design of the building and to my mind is quite sympathetic to the general style/age of the hotel. The old "Vanity Fair" cover drawings that are hanging on the walls are quite good and there are nice pieces of antique furniture dotted around. We were just staying one night and opted for dinner in the hotel restaurant. The mains of fish were excellent and the 2 waiting staff were professional and attentive. The bar was quiet but was welcoming. Our room (62) was clean and warm and very comfortable. Breakfast was self-service in the restaurant and was really good. In short I really couldn't fault this hotel. We didn't try the spa unfortunately due to time constraints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed one night last sat night (23/02/13). Lovely ground floor room, old decor but suits the place and makes it cosy. Slept so well with no sounds from other rooms. Breakfast was fantastic with waitress even giving me a scone with fresh cream which is what I wanted. Staff very friendly and nice. Would definitely stay again and would have loved to have tried the great leisure centre but ran out of time. Location great also. 5 stars

Room Tip: Ground floor very handy as no need for lifts and it just past the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road | Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Abbey Hotel, Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambience described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The Abbey boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the Abbey offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Our award winning Leisure Centre boasts a 20m Indoor Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Fully Equipped Gymnasium and Treatment Room. Ideal for your family holiday with our kids club available during the schools mid –term breaks and holidays.Our Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, using fresh local produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation. Those on business can avail of our conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s picturesque gardens and magnificent, beautifully appointed Ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.