We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galway Road | Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Traralgon, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lovely hotel, big spacious clean rooms. Had a lovely view of the Abbey ruins from the bedroom window. But, the night we stayed there was a wedding. Could not hear the wedding party or music, but all through the night anytime any of the guests come upstairs to the rooms the doors would slam and wake you up. Then at 4am there was a party, not sure where but it sounded as if it were in the room next door. Walls seemed to be paper thin. At 7am , a any crying somewhere woke me up again. I am yet to go down for breakfast, so have no comment on that. Maybe on a midweek night would be better...oh and no wifi :(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    87
    62
    29
    22
See reviews for
100
126
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

A mid week stay at the Abbey Hotel in |Roscommon town proved to be a surprise delight. The hotel is set in pleasant gardens with the backdrop of the old abbey . We were staying overnight and had dinner innthe restaurant which was of a very high standard. There is a spa and leisure centre which my wife used .The room was perfect . breakfast the next morning was faultless, full irish breakfast with selection of fruits and breads with cereals . We departed after breakfast with a sense of having found a little hidden gem in county Roscommon. There were not many staying in the hotel, well at least there were not many at breakfast that morning.
Well worth the stay at €79.00 for a double with breakfast. Why are there not more staying at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Lovely staff, very friendly, with the exception of one lady working on the reception desk.

Rooms were spacious, airy, comfortable and clean.

Food ok, top marks for breakfast.

One major problem: Requested late check out which we were given on arrival but got a call to vacate the room on the Sunday morning of departure from lady working on reception desk, very rude and abrupt. Shocked by this ladys lack of manners and professionalism and would not return to this hotel for this reason.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin . IRELAND
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Needed a break for a couple of days and this Hotel was just Perfect.
Staff were really nice , food was good and rooms were lovely.
If I had one complaint it was the Smoking area outside the Bar. it was dirty and was not cleaned for the 2 days I was there. A quick sweep with a brush is all it needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was at a wedding last weekend and my main complaint is that breakfast finished at 10:00 a.m. on a Sunday!! The hotel was full (mainly with wedding guests as it was a large wedding) and I don't know any other hotel that does not serve breakfast late on a Sunday especially after a wedding. We arrived down at 9.55 and there was only crumbs left. My aunt was there nearly a half hour earlier and she did not get much more.
it also took so long to get a drink in the residents bar that it nearly took the good out of it.
People kept tripping over the steps in the ballroom also which is a health and safety risk. I also thought €140 for a double room (wedding rate) was very expensive in a recession. Easily known it is the only large hotel in Roscommon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very good place to stay if travelling round Ireland. Hotel had lovely comfortable sofas and some lbeautiful old prints on the walls. Bedrooms very spacious and clean.Staff were second to none especiallyat reception and bar. We had Bar food and it was excellent. Just one thing marred the meal, having to listen to the boss/manager give out to some the staff for leaving receipts on table ,he should have taken them aside to his office not out in front of customers, as the staff never stopped working all day and were courteous and smiling even after this incident.
I got a leaflet at hotel and It had 10 things to do in Roscommon which gave us ideas where to go.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on second floor and heard no noise, slept like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Decided on a trip to Donegal to increase stay for 2 nights by going racing at Roscommon. Enjoyed break very much, staff extemely helpful and courteus, food excellent especially breakfast, room spacious, hotel clean. Excellent value

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel

Address: Galway Road | Roscommon, Roscommon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Abbey Hotel, Roscommon, is a charming 18th Century Manor House Hotel, set idyllically on it's own private grounds and gardens. With an ambience described as one of "casual elegance in a timeless relaxed atmosphere", The Abbey boasts 50 beautifully appointed bedrooms. For that extra touch of luxury the Abbey offers superior deluxe bedrooms. Our award winning Leisure Centre boasts a 20m Indoor Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room, Fully Equipped Gymnasium and Treatment Room. Ideal for your family holiday with our kids club available during the schools mid –term breaks and holidays.Our Award Winning Restaurant, situated overlooking the Abbey ruins offers a range of innovative dishes, using fresh local produce and served with great attention to detail and presentation. Those on business can avail of our conference facilities while the Abbey is also the perfect venue for your wedding day with it’s picturesque gardens and magnificent, beautifully appointed Ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Roscommon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.