We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ross House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ross House B&B to your Saves list
Ross House B&B
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No.2 Quarry View | Convent/Creggs Rd, Roscommon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Roscommon B&B and Inns
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and comfortable - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed in Roscommon, as many others have done, for a wedding at the Abbey Hotel; however we wanted somewhere that was away from the hotel itself so we could also get a bit of peace and quiet when we wanted, and Ross House was perfectly located - the centre of town and the hotel are both just a 15-minute stroll away (much less by car).

The welcome was lovely, with a cup of tea and a scone, and our room (number 2) was good-sized and very clean. The beds were comfortable and at night the house is very peaceful so we slept realy well on all three nights. There is wi-fi available, which was a nice surprise, and this enabled us to keep in touch with family easily while we were away.

All in all we'd be happy to recommend Ross House to anyone visiting this part of Ireland (or just passing through) - thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have good views of the old castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Thank you for making us feel so welcome. Excellent accommodation and fantastic breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for Teresa, she was a perfect host. We highly recommend it. Mary & Bob

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed one night here on a recent trip to Ireland. Roscommon was a short drive from the airport at Knock. Although the B&B is technically on the edge of town, we parked our car and had a quick easy walk into town. The room had a lovely view of the castle ruins.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ediger-Eller, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We have been to Ross House for just a night during our ireland trip. It is a nice place to stay and very quiet. We good some good recommendations where to go and what to see in Roscommon. We will be back in a year or two and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at Ross House as were were attending a wedding at The Abbey, Co. Roscommon. The accomodation was wonderful, large spacious bedroom. Everything about Ross House is perfection, from the wonderful Breakfast to Teresa herself. We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. Teresa was friendly and kind. In fact she gave us a lift to the Abbey in her car as it was raining. Teresa certainly made us feel as though we were one of the family with even a pot of tea and cake after our days out sightseeing. Teresa certainly did everything she could to make our stay there and in Ireland wonderful. Can't praise her enough. Thank you Teresa.
If we return to Ireland in the future, we will certainly return to Ross House and thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed there for one night for a wedding in Roscommon which started at 1pm. The owner of Ross House told us checkout was at 11am. When we asked about the possibility of waiting somewhere (living area/lobby) before we headed for the wedding (as we were dressed for the wedding) we were advised to go to a cafe in town. As such we felt the owner was very unaccomodating. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Stayed at the Ross House for two nights in August with my family and it was great. Cant's say enough how well we were treated. Teresa was a gracious host. If you plan to stay in Roscommon, I would highly recommend the Ross House.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ross House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross House B&B

Address: No.2 Quarry View | Convent/Creggs Rd, Roscommon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Roscommon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roscommon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ross House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ross House is a family-run, 4-star Bed and Breakfast, that offers a warm and homely overnight experience within walking distance of Roscommon Town. The O'Hara family have been running their B&B for ten years and have enjoyed welcoming guests from all corners of the globe. The house is always warm and the reception always welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Ross House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.