We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was fine but expensive for what we got!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Yew Tree

The Yew Tree
Lecarrow, Roscommon, Ireland
353 (0)90 666 1255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Roscommon
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Roscommon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Was fine but expensive for what we got!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Ate here at the start of the summer after hearing many good things but have to say was underwhelmed by what we got. The food was grand (i had chicken goujon's & my friend had duck i think) but I found it pricey for what i got and I also expected more condiering the good comments I had from friends. Maybe it was an off night, might try again. Maybe try the evening menu next time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“First Impressions.....50/50”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We made a Reservation for the Yew Tree Restaurant for Sunday evening @ 7pm.
It was our first time to eat in the Yew Tree restaurant and we were looking forward to enjoying our evening, as we had heard good things about the food.
we were promptly seated when we arrived , The Early Bird Menu was available,and four extra main course options at added supplement price. We decided on a Brie and Blueberry Filo, and Black and white pudding pie starter. both were delicious but just a little on the small side. Main course of 6 oz fillet steak and Roast duck sounded fantastic.Unfortunately after we had ordered our waitress informed us there was no Fillet Steak left,so the 8 oz sirloin was the the replacement we took.The wine list was quite small only serving a Merlot as a red wine by the glass option.Would have prefered a nice Shiraz but we went with the flow.big mistake the wine was undrinkable, tasted like someting that should be only used for cooking.The main courses were very tasty,we ordered an extra portion of fries with the Steak,unfortunately the fries were violently over cooked and we could not eat them,our waitress replaced them but by the time she came back we had finished our food.At that stage the feeling of disappointment had really set in.There were four options for dessert we had Banoffi Pie and Chocolate Mouse with rum ice cream (added supplement again here).Both were delicious and we cleaned our plates.During our Dessert, the music had stopped in the Restaurant had and the hammering of cutlery been polished in the background was so interuptive i decided to go to the front desk to pay the bill. I informed one of the waitresses about the music and noise and she just said the i pad sometimes turns itself off and ignored my comment about the cutlery. The bill came to €67 but i was not given a receipt or bill which i found unusual ?. All things considered the food was mostly great but i felt the restaurant lacked the presence of a manager on the night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful atmosphere, friendly and warm welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I can't praise this restaurant highly enough. There is a huge choice on the menu and the prices are very reasonable. We were greeted by co owner nicola and a nicer person you couldn't meet. The food was top class and the restaurant looks great and very comfortable. I would definitely reccommend it. Looking forward to my next visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have had the pleasure to visit this restaurant on 2 different occasions and I must say I have really enjoyed both visits. The food is simply delicious,really good home cooking and the staff are just so friendly!!! Early bird menu is good value.The restaurant appears to have been redecorated recently and I would suggest to add some lights or candles to the walls as they appear a little bare...other than that,well worth a stop in Lecarrow.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Convenient spot on the N61”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very handy stopping point if you are travelling on the N61, nice food, reasonably priced with friendly efficient service. Good alternative to the usual hotel carverys on this route!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yew Tree also viewed

Roscommon, County Roscommon
 
Roscommon, County Roscommon
 

Been to The Yew Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yew Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.