We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle

Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle
Ballyfarnon, Roscommon, Ireland
353 (0) 71 9647771
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Roscommon
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The food here was simply fantastic. I could have eaten everything on the menu. There was great variety to suit everyones taste and the staff were incredible. They were so pleasant and helpful. I can't wait to go back!!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Excellent service, fresh locally sourced food and great presentation.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fantastic local sourced food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

superb quality and small portions. 5 star cooking. Small portions for potatoes/ potatoe gratan/ - didnt bother me but some in our party asked for more.
Dessserts to die for

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

See my review of Kilronan Castle Estate for details, but my shellfish was overcooked to the point of being inedible and no effort was made to right the situation. For the price, I think that is unacceptable. Husband enjoyed his dinner (steak).

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We were staying nearby in Ballyformyle. Had last been in the area 16 years ago when the Castle was just a shell. The transformation after the 50 million Euros has been spent is startling. Decided to give the restaurant a try. I share the surprise of those who were surprised by the reports of those who found the food and experience disappointing. We were there on a Sunday night. The ambience is warm and inviting, the service a delight. It is quite expensive but the test is can the expense be justified. And it is. Good attention to detail - nice breads, a splendid tabinade, a nice taster to get the juices flowing, a judicious cleanser prior to the main course. And the starters and the main course were well up to scratch. My rack of lamb was plentiful and as pink as I had wanted. Restaurants have good and bad days but the overwhelming sense was of a place that takes the providing of food seriously. 120 euros later, we certainly left satisfied and with no sense of disappointment at our treatment or the quality of the food. Without doubt the best food we enjoyed during our stay.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle also viewed

Roscommon, County Roscommon
 
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim
 

Been to Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douglas Hyde Restaurant - Kilronan Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.