We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Killyliss Country House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killyliss Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Killyliss Country House to your Saves list
Killyliss Country House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Lisnalong | Monaghan. County Monaghan, Ballybay County Monaghan, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballybay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at Killyliss Country House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had a great time at Killyliss Country House. We stayed in the lodge which was perfect for a family. After traveling all over IR, UK, and Paris....hands down Pauline's Irish breakfast was the very best! Great homemade breads, granola, and jams. I will be missing the Irish bacon for a long time! Could not ask for better hospitality and superb directions. We loved the Irish countryside and want to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights, we booked at short notice but everything was just perfect when we arrived. Pauline the owner was absolutely wonderful she made our stay so comfortable and could not be more helpful (thank you so much Pauline) breakfast was lovely and there was so much choice, the rooms were amazing, so was the suroundings and views. would stay here again for sure. anna & isabelle (from the blackford party)

Room Tip: we went as a group and had 2 rooms and the lodge all room were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Eight months after our trip to Ireland and a brief stay at the Killyliss Country House we still talk about our hostess Pauline as through she was a treasured relative. Our stay was wonderful, Pauline made us feel welcomed and at home. The accommodations were lovely and the house was very clean. The breakfasts were delicious. Most of all, Pauline gave us excellent advice about the area and was a pleasure to speak to in general. I would highly recommend the Killyliss Country House and would love to visit again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I booked this accommodation via Hotels.com at an excellent offer only to be rang by the owner to say that she could not give me the accommodation at that price and went to great lenghts to describe how they didn't get their money for sometime for any bookings made in this way - not my problem. Basically I was told to cancel my booking unless I was prepared to pay further monies when I came to the property
I wanted to put this out there for everyone as I advised the owner she should ensure she is removed from Hotels.com site if she doesn't want to get more customers the same. I was looking on Tripadvisor today before posting this and see that I can still book this facility at a similiar cost but don't want to drive all the way there tomorrow to be told at the door I will have to pay more
AVOID and book elsewhere

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killylisscountryhous, Owner at Killyliss Country House, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
The excellent offer that this lady refers to was an amount that would have worked out at approx £12 pp for bed and freshly prepared full Irish breakfast for 2 nights in a twin room and not a single room as booked . She made a reservation that was a mistake, was made aware of it and was given several options and she choose to cancel with no charges applied.Staff at Killyliss House do their very best to help all customers whether the they choose to book or not but sometimes we just say well we tried, and agree that we cannot please everyone all of the time.We have done wonderful business for many years with Hotels.com and look forward to many more.Management here choose not to thank guests publicly on Tripadvisor but can we on this occasion thank all our guests who have taken the time to write a review, we sincerely thank you , we are very humbled indeed by your kind words and look forward to welcoming many new and previous guests to Killyliss House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night at Killyliss in late October as part of an ancestral trip to Co. Monaghan. Even though our reservation was made at the last minute, Pauline welcomed us warmly, and quickly did what needed to be done to prepare the room. The accommodation was very comfortable, and the breakfast excellent, served in an elegant setting. Pauline was so helpful in providing leads and local contacts for genealogy research. She is a great hostess, and we would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

To review a B&B that is without fault, is very hard. To accommodate a guests every wish is the mark of a great hotelier. Our hostess did just that ... and more. My only caution to those considering booking here is to get up in the morning VERY hungry. The home made jams.yogurts, breads will satisfy most hungry people, but then she brings out breakfast! Eggs, meats, and all the Irish trimmings. This is not just a place to stoke up for the day, but a beautiful home they have opened to us... as their guest. If you are lucky enough to book a stay here, you will never forget it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampford Arundel, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Pauline is the most wonderful host, providing a gentle, relaxing and all round first class stay. The electric blanket went down a treat with the Missus! Thanks for your hospitality Pauline - we'll see you again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Killyliss Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyliss Country House

Address: Lisnalong | Monaghan. County Monaghan, Ballybay County Monaghan, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Ballybay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Killyliss Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful small country house 4 star B&B,, just 1 hour by car from Dublin,all rooms ensuite, offers free car parking, free wifi throughout the property. Home cooking a specialty, dinner each evening accompanied by fine wines. Ideal base for touring famous sites , Giants Causeway, Titanic Centre Belfast, Bushmills Distillery, Castle Leslie etc etc. A guaranteed peaceful nights sleep in the irish countryside, heated electric blankets on beds, and wake up in morning to a delicious home cooked irish breakfast with fresh baked breads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Killyliss Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killyliss Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.