We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What more can be said"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killyliss Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Killyliss Country House to your Saves list
Killyliss Country House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Ballybay, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballybay B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“"What more can be said"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over the first weekend of August 2012 and as my wife has difficulty in walking I contacted Pauline about suitability. She put us on the ground floor, met us on arrival, and had tea etc, ready for us as I was unpacking.
I would highly recommend Killyliss Country House to anyone looking for a quiet few days away, but not too far away from many places of inetrest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
26
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here Aug 12 with my husband and mother for a few days, Pauline is a great hostess and new friend! We stayed in the lodge and mum stayed in the main house, frankly we could move in........spacious, clean with all our needs catered for including great advise on the local sites & restaurants. Mum had an electric blanket on her bed which Pauline kindly turned on each night. Coothill is the nearest town and the people are very friendly and helpfull with an Irish charm that allows you to feel at home. This is truely a great base for touring and the local roads are not too busy so it is fairly easy to get around. I would definately recommend it for a visit and we certainly hope to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here with two friends recently and we couldn't have been made more welcome by our host Pauline. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The ensuite shower was superb and Pauline supplied clean towels everyday as well as a comfy bathrobe. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a tv with a dvd player with a selection of dvd's.

The breakfast was outstanding with a selection of fruit, yoghurts and a full cooked Irish breakfast. There is a wide range of information about the local and wider area available and Pauline could not do enough for us. I love how this house is situated in a quiet rural spot but is easily accessible to towns and villages nearby. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The minute you step in the door you feel at home here - Pauline is a great host. Bedrooms are lovely, homely and spotless in this peaceful location. Pauline gave us great tips on where to visit, where to eat, where to shop and how to get everywhere. Every need catered to, from checking online bookings to the Titanic exhibition to stunning home-made lemon marmalade at breakfast.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our recent stay here was absolutely brilliant. Killyliss Country House is a fantastic place; cosy yet spacious, traditional yet new, and situated in beautiful, peaceful countryside. Pauline, our charismatic host, gave us a lovely warm welcome, fantastic cooked breakfasts and much indispensable local knowledge! She really cares about her guests. I would highly recommend this as a wonderful place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed at this fabulous guest house very recently with my family and it was delightful. Pauline could not do enough for us, from checking the weather, to providing directions and great hospitality. The breakfast was superb and by far the best we have had to date. Location was peaceful and was able to relax and take in the surroundings. The bedrooms are spacious, clean and very nice indeed. Heaters and electric blankets provided in all the rooms (which are not required but a nice touch), clean towels daily too.
The guest house is a credit to Pauline for all the hard work she puts into this, you can tell she works very hard indeed. I love that it is family run and her husband Kenneth will even take time out of his busy day to stop and chat, Lewis the little one is a lovely confident little boy who is always smiling too. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definatley keep in touch with Pauline and family. Thanks once again for a lovely stay we hope to visit again soon. Lindsay, Nichola, Desi and Helen

Room Tip: Any room would be a joy to stay in as all done to high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

A beautiful location, very peaceful, rooms immaculately clean with every need catered for (even electric blankets on the beds!). Pauline was fabulous giving us directions, recommending a good place for dinner, and giving us the best breakfast I think I've ever had! Would highly recommend and will definitely return when visting relatives in Ballybay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Killyliss Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killyliss Country House

Address: Ballybay, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Monaghan > Ballybay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Killyliss Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful small country house hotel, just 1 hour by car from Dublin, offers free car parking, free wifi throughout the property. Home cooking a specialty, dinner each evening accompanied by fine wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Killyliss Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killyliss Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.