We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisanisk House

Lisanisk House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrickmacross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lisanisk House
Dundalk Road, Carrickmacross, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Hull. Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Second time around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Once again returned to Lisanisk House for a fishing spell and the wife to relax and chill out. The weather was atrocious but the service we received at Lisanisk still made it an enjoyable holiday. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone requiring good service. Clean rooms and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

i stayed at lisanisk house with my husband and 2 children in a large family room which was spacious and clean .The setting is beautiful overlooking a lake with play area also for the kids and a decking area beside the lake .very much enjoyed our visit and will return .the owner was very accomodating with all our needs,a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Stayed at this B&B and was more than happy with everything. Great service & friendliness of all staff and the host, Rosealeen, was very helpful. I took in some fishing also on the beautiful scenic lake that runs right up to the front lawn, the fishing was great too! I would reccomend this B&B to anyone especially international tourists looking for value for money and a "real" experience of Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I'd like to counter act on the above negative review which I don't think is very fair...
as with a lot of people who use Trip Advisor, there's always one who had a bad experience with accommodation and then builds a proverbial snowball up to be a stinking avalanche.

I stayed with my wife there last Friday...
Again we were at a wedding in the Nuremore and avoiding the extortionate bedroom prices they were offering (€185 per double room)
Lisanisk was standard enough as B&B's go, but it was/is the cheapest B&Bs in the area.
Rooms were clean, food was fine and the host Rosaleen was very helpful and friendly, oh and the area dn house itself is really scenic.
It's a family run business and people are doing their level best in these tough times to make a crust as best they can.
If you do find yourself staying in Carrickmacross/Nuremore and are looking for some pocket saving yet decent genuine accomodation, I would no problem in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I stayed at Lisanisk house during the summer with my husband and 2 children for a week and found it to be a wonderful B&B. The owner Rosaleen was so friendly and accomodating. We stayed in a large clean family room with 2 queen beds and a crib for the baby and had ample room. It also had a wheelchair and stroller friendly door to outside which was great. There is a beautiful lake there and also a kids play area that the kids loved. The breakfast was good and the host made me a vegetarian breakfast instead of the traditional bacon , sausages etc which I dont eat. The only thing I was disappointed in was the lack of a decent high chair for the baby. Overall our stay was really enjoyable and we would stay there again if we return to that area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

You will not find a more hospitable, accommodating B&B in all of Ireland. All of the family members where very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the room, very comfortable and clean...and I specially enjoyed the conversations with Rosaleen. The breakfasts were delicious and the location was very convenient. This house is very professionally run and has excellent facilities.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull. Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Fishing holiday in Monaghan area. Stayed at Lisanisk House on B&B basis. We found this establishment to be first class.Good food, clean room and excellent service. The fishing want to bad either. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lisanisk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisanisk House

Address: Dundalk Road, Carrickmacross, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Monaghan > Carrickmacross
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carrickmacross

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisanisk House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lisanisk House to your Saves list