We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Millhouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Millhouse
Save
You added The Millhouse to your Saves list
Slane, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Sligo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

This place is amazing! When I first made inquiries about Millhouse I wasn’t sure would it be worth the cost. Myself and my partner wanted somewhere close to Newgrange and that would be a nice comfortable relaxed weekend break away. All I can say is that we were more than pleased and rate this as one of the nicest place we have ever stayed not only in Ireland but in any country. What we especially loved was the tremendous creativity that has gone into the interior design at Millhouse, every room, every corner, every fitting was unique and full of taste and cleverness; it was simply a delight. The attention to detail was really special: roaring log fires, the cosy bar with a touch of glam, the board games, the selection of breads and fresh tasty foods for breakfast, god help me the toaster was even amazing! These are people that clearly have actively sought out ways to improve their establishment at every opportunity; it really does seem to be an attempt to aspire to perfection. The manager Harvey was charming, considerate, and incredibly helpful in a relaxed no-fuss way. Our room was gorgeous, the bed huge and comfortable, the shower powerful, broadband available, a dvd collection if you wanted to watch a movie, a sauna available downstairs if you wanted, you really couldn’t ask for more. Waking up in the morning with the River Boyne outside our window, so beautiful and relaxing. If you are interested in staying somewhere unique, with beautiful food, incredible design, and all round luxuriousness, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

A quick post to say thanks to the staff at the Millhousr for making my recent stay a truly memorable experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

My self and my partner flew over to ireland to attend the oasis concert, we had heard of the boutique hotel through a good friend and we decided to give it a try, the mill house was exceptional and the staff could not do enough for us, the food was amazing and plenty, i loved my room that looked onto the river with its pretty bathroom, myself and my partner thought it was perfect for a romatic getaway and it certainly made us feel very special and looked after, will be back as i feel i could have stayed a week, top marks ++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

We celebrated our wedding at the Millhouse in Dec and could not recommend it highly enough. From the outset, everything was clear and plans were kept up to date through regular contact and email exchange. The staff were so efficient and our friends are still talking about how good the dinner was. Apart from the weather, it was the perfect day. The venue is exquisite and so well maintained. One of our guests liked it so much, she's booked her own wedding there.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

We got married in The Mill House in September 2007. We spent an absolutely blissful weekend there. Starting with dinner for family on Friday night before the wedding on Saturday. Janey, the owner could'nt have been more helpful and did everything she could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Special mention has to go to the amazing breakfasts, including the best blueberry pancakes. Also the rooms, they are so beautiful and filled with character with the comfiest beds, our room had a gorgeous four poster bed. If you are looking for a really romantic weekend away close to Dublin or somewhere to host a party, wedding or family get together then I could'nt recomment the Mill House more highly. It is unique, unstuffy and gives a modern twist to the conventional Irish country house. I can't wait for an excuse to spend another weekend there.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

I came across the Mill House website when looking for a hotel that was perfect for a weekend hideaway.
The rooms looked gorgeous on the site and the room we stayed in was exactly as shown - beautifully decorated comfortable and clean.

We stayed for 2 nights and it was like a home away from home.
The hotel is located in a lovely spot beside the river Boyne.
The staff were excellent and the service great.
We ate there the first night and the seafood was delicious, breakfast in the morning was also very good.
The games room in the loft has the option to play pool, watch a dvd, play board games or just relax with a few drinks.
All in all I would recommend this boutique hotel to anyone as it's a great place for a quiet weekend or a party with friends.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

This hotel is situated on the River Boyne in the village of Slane, it is a hidden treasure. The room we had was beautiful and the bed was the loveliest we have ever slept in, it was peaceful, relaxing and the staff were unobtrusive but obliging. It was a fantastic place for a romantic weekend.

  • Liked — The location and the stunning room
  • Disliked — We really enjoyed this place
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Millhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millhouse

Address: Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 11 bedroomed Boutique Hotel.Specializing in bespoke weddings and private parties.Open for food all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Millhouse Hotel Slane
Millhouse Hotel Slane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Millhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.