We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tankardstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tankardstown to your Saves list
Tankardstown
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tankardstown House | Slane, County Meath, Slane po9 2es, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“so relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Just posting a quick review to give the thumbs up to Tankardstown House. We arrived on a sunday evening, the place was quiet and we took full advantage. We stayed in one of the cottages, spent some time in house and ended our evening with dinner at the Brabazon. Overall I just couldn't fault this place.. If you want to get away from it all for some peace and quiet, in a first class luxury house with a gorgeous restaurant, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    23
    9
    10
    7
See reviews for
30
69
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I had been looking at Tankardstown house for my wedding. Having been to stay for the night and after visiting the bistro on many occasions now I am so excited about booking my wedding.
The decor is amazing and the whole place is immaculate, the food is great and the staff are friendly ....what more could you want!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Wow Tankardstown is amazing from start to finish - had never heard of the place until got invite for friends wedding so decided to make a weekend of it. Arrived up to this gorgeous house on beautiful sunny evening, was met be smiling staff and checked in to a top notch cottage with sitting room and kitchen and the most wonderful bed I have ever slept in! Went down to Brabazon for dinner on the Friday night just myself and husband. Menu was not your typical hotel restaurant - all I can say is the food was mouth watering. Attended wedding next day. It was the most wonderful setting for the day and again food just brilliant. Very different to your typical hotel wedding - extremely cosy and intimate. Staff extremely professional and so friendly everywhere from restaurant to wedding reception to breakfast to check out....already planning next trip back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here as a family (Grandparents and kids included) to celebrate a family members birthday and Tankardstown House lived up to all our expectations.
The accommodation, food, surroundings and above all the natural open friendliness of all the staff (that cannot be taught in any management school) were all fantastic. We all agreed that we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Dear sir/madam,
My wife and I went for a meal. We arrived at 19.20hrs.Our meal was for 19.30hrs. We were asked to wait in the bar and we would be called. At 20.05hrs we left despite the fact the person who directed us to the bar coming in several times to reorganise her staff her staff.
The person was not very helpful. The restaurant did not even bother to contact us after we left despite having our telephone no. Disappointed with attitude and lack of professionalism from a restaurant that is marketing itself as a quality restaurant.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tconroy, Owner at Tankardstown, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear Duneakn

Further to our recent correspondence, I would again like to apologise for not providing a satisfactory level of service on this occasion. At Tankardstown we endeavour to maintain a consistantly high level of service as reflected by our recent award for "Best Customer Service in Meath". We take any complaint very seriously. Once you made us aware of your complaint we contacted you immediately in order to resolve this issue. I would love if you wuld allow us another chance to show you the usual high level of service and food we offer here at Tankardstown. Kindest regards Trish Conroy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed in Tankardstown with family and friends for an entire weekend.
All I can say is that is by far the best hotel/country house we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The rooms in the main house and the cottages are so beautifully decorated and so comfortable. The food in the restaurant is unbelievably tasty with something to suit all tastes and a great selection of wine. Breakfast in the main house was wonderful, we had a choice of lovely fresh fruit, muesli and cereal and the cooked to order menu was superb - their full Irish is not to be missed!!
The icing on the cake of our stay was the staff, they were lovely from start to finish, they did everything they could to make our stay perfect.
Thank you Tankardstown, we will definitely be back!!
Niamh and Craig

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Having heard of Tankardstown and living relitavely close to it, I was pleasantly surprised with the House itself, the grounds, the food and most of all the staff. Well done and continued success.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tankardstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankardstown

Address: Tankardstown House | Slane, County Meath, Slane po9 2es, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tankardstown 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand country house with 6 heritage bedrooms and adjacent bijoux Georgian courtyard of 6 magnificently restored cottages providing 1 and 2 bedroom cottages all with own sitting rooms and kitchen areas. Elegant interiors compliment a most discreet setting amidst the rolling country side of Co Meath. Historic sites of Newgrange and the Boyne River on 2 miles away. A true oasis of tranquility and beauty yet only 25mins from Dublin Airport and 45mins from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Tankardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankardstown Hotel Slane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tankardstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.