We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Slane Farm Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Slane Farm Hostel to your Saves list
Slane Farm Hostel
Harlinstown House, Slane, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Hays, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great location but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The room was fine for the price, the kitchen had everything to make a meal (although no dishsoap to wash dishes with for two days), and the location was great for exploring Meath and Louth Counties, but they were having serious staffing problems during the days we were there. When we arrived, we were greeted after about ten minutes by a very harried owner who passed us a key, pointed to our room door, and then left without any overview of the facilities or policies. We saw no one for the two and a half days we stayed. There was no one to answer questions. Other guests would ask us if we had seen anyone about as they too had issues and questions. One young, German couple who had made reservations and arrangements to arrive late with a baby found reception empty, took a key from behind the desk, and let themselves in to an empty room. All of us then spent 30 minutes the next morning looking for someone, anyone, to pay so we could leave. Hostel doorbell? Nope. House doorbell? Nope. House backdoor clanging bell? Nope. Walk around facility? No one. Farm office? No one. At one point, I just began to shout, "Hallo, is there anyone alive around here?" As we met back at reception, the same harried woman walks out the house's backdoor. What?

We had to laugh as we left the parking lot because after seeing no one for days we saw from our car
- the owner
- the women in charge of the hostel reservation bookings who came driving up
- two farm workers of a small tractor pulling into the lot after us
- and that poor German couple who had to stick around because they had let themselves into a room.

Hopefully, whatever crisis gripped the farm has now passed and things are back to normal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slanecottages, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leavfe a review for us. Yes you are right we were on top of our eyes the weekend you arrived with us. The cows just finished calving and it was all hands on deck on the farm to get everything in order.
Then in the hostel and cottages we have been over whelmed with the amount of bookings coming in already this year and we didnt expect it. Our bookings have doubled since last year at this time and we are delighted.
Since the weekend you have stayed with us we have employeed new staff on a full time basis and we are now getting ready for a very busy summer.
We really hope you will return to us again in the furture and we hope you have a great onward journey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    12
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
27
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stayed at the cottages for several days and had the most delightful time. Felt like I walked into a home away from home as soon as I arrived. Very close to town, can have some pints at Boyles and then stroll home, even closer to the castle. Love it, will be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slanecottages, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our place. We hope you will return again in the future! Regards, All at Slane Farm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have just stayed here for my sisters hen party . A brilliant experience for everyone . This place is in a great location and we had the entire rooms to ourselves . It suited us perfectly . We brought our own food , there is a huge kitchen and dining area . There is a games/ sitting room upstairs where we spent after eating . Then only minutes to the village to sample the many pubs .
The family that run the hostel are so accommodating , they didn't come near us at all and we partied until the early hours of the morning , they just wanted the place left as we found it. A very helpful family to deal with . I would highly recommend for any one looking for any sort of getaway , be it party or quiet and relaxing .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review.
It is only really this winter that we have decided to try and get more groups - and all I can say if all our groups are like your group we will be doing pretty well!
Health and happiness to you all for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This place was heaven on earth. Clean, professional, environmentally conscious, tucked away in the Irish countryside with plenty of places to walk and take in the Irish way of life. Plus it's only a 20 minute walk into the village of Slane for a pint or two. I would recommend this to anyone, and plan on returning again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks Royal - don't forget us when you are picking up your awards!!!
We will look forward to seeing you again in 2014!
Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here last weekend and found to the place to be a little treasure. Clean bedrooms,big sitting room and kitchen and great for a group of friends to stay in for the weekend. I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we will be looking for to your return visit - hopefully soon!
Best of luck in 2014!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Irelmand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Slane Farm Hostel is a little gem hidden away in the Slane/Meath countryside. Close to the village, yet far enough to give it that "quaint and rural vibe". Accommodation standard is excellent, with all the necessities you need on a trip away. The outside space has picnic benches so that you can nip outside, relax and enjoy the scenery. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. Family run also so you get a great welcome :)

Room Tip: Cottages Rock to be honest - very private :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for such a great comment! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and thank you for taking the time to give us a review! Happy Christmas and see you again in the new year! Regards, Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We threw a 30th Birthday party here last weekend and we couldn't fault the place. The family who own the hostel were so accommodating and allowed us to do whatever we liked as long as we left it we found it. That made it so easy to organise where the band/Djs (we had 2 Bands and 2 DJSs) would be and where everyone would sleep and so on. There is space for at least 50 people to stay over. We had the place completely to ourselves on the night of the party (once you have 25 or more staying you can have it exclusively yours) and then a group of us stayed on the next night too. The hostel buildings have such thick walls, being built many years ago, that noise pollution wasn't an issue. We partied until the small hours and then the big hours and it was no problem. I'd say we had about 100 people at the party overall and about 30 stayed over the night. The venue is reasonably priced and has great kitchen facilities (for the necessary fry the next morning!). I would highly recommend this venue to anyone looking to throw a party in the Meath area or organising a group event of any kind. The family behind the Hostel are a pleasure to deal with. Couldn't rate it highly enough. I suspect they will be inundated with parties/wedding etc very soon.Great alternative location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gemma m, Manager at Slane Farm Hostel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for having you boy friends 30th birthday with us! You were a pleasure to have and your friends and fab! The band and DJ worked really well and the lights were amazing!!! Enjoy your Christmas and hopefully we will see you again in the new year! - Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Slane Farm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slane Farm Hostel

Address: Harlinstown House, Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slane Farm Hostel and Cottages are situated on a large working farm in the heart of the historic Boyne Valley. These old farm buildings have been lovingly transferred into luxury accommodation that would suit couples, families, groups or individuals. With Dublin city and Dublin Airport only 40 mins. away guests can enjoy the freedom of the countryside and stroll around the many walks on the farm and visit the dairy enterprise and family pets. Slane Castle is next door the many historic site of the Boyne Valley are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Slane Farm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slane Farm Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.