We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Beauty with excellent hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slane Farm Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Slane Farm Hostel to your Saves list
Slane Farm Hostel
Harlinstown House, Slane, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfort and Beauty with excellent hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

An excellent base for exploring the Boyne Valley. Set on a working farm but extremely cosy and comfortable and the hosts are exceedingly warm and hospitable. Great for a family in cottage accommodation or for baseline camping.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    14
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
30
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here and found the family to be so accommodating and helpful. Definite five stars from me!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drogheda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I cannot compliment the farm/campsite/ hostel enough! Stayed here the weekend with my sister and our kids, and Joanne and Gemma couldn't do enough for us! They even had and Easter egg hunt for the kids! We had one of the cottages and they were just fabulous, clean, warm and very comfortable! We will b staying here on a regular basis!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Just booked again to go back to slane farm! This place is fantastic, the family who run it are very friendly and helpful. Place is very clean, and has everything you need. The kids love it, they get to feed the hens and jack the donkey! I see on their site they have a new puppy and mr and mrs peacock! My daughter looking forward to meeting them, and the boys can't wait to go back to the milking parlour! 2 weeks and counting.....

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Lovely hostel, we are always looked after when we go there with groups. The landlady is nice and knows everything about the surrounding area. Will be going back. The only thing I would adjust is the shower controls.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed for two nights in one of the cottages. It met all our requirements - shower that worked - strong and hot and the farm is close to Meath attractions. The only downside was the double bed was very uncomfortable and the sheets didn't seem to fit it. However the overall layout of the property seemed well thought out and caters for all budgets and needs. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed one night in a motorhome, and found the place to be superb. They have cottages, hostel and camping available. The camping has 2 showers, 2 toilets and is very nicely mown grass. there is now a new area of gravel for motorhomes, with level spots for about 3 vehicles. the other spots can be leveled with levelling blocks. They have an Organic garden, and when various vegetables are in season, there may be surplus available to buy. There are hens, gease and a donkey to keep you company (fenced away seperately to the campground).
It's very clean, and very friendly.
We found it easily, and it's a handy location to travel from Slane (only about 10 mins). they have a small sitting room with loads of books about the area, so it's good on a wet evening!

Room Tip: We used a motorhome spot, all are fine. Be aware you are camping near animals who can wake up and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slane Farm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slane Farm Hostel

Address: Harlinstown House, Slane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Slane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Slane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slane Farm Hostel and Cottages are situated on a large working farm in the heart of the historic Boyne Valley. These old farm buildings have been lovingly transferred into luxury accommodation that would suit couples, families, groups or individuals. With Dublin city and Dublin Airport only 40 mins. away guests can enjoy the freedom of the countryside and stroll around the many walks on the farm and visit the dairy enterprise and family pets. Slane Castle is next door the many historic site of the Boyne Valley are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Slane Farm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slane Farm Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.