We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slane Castle

Slane Castle
Slane, Slane, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Slane
Attraction details
Beith, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Being a castle it is a perfect venue for music concerts due to the sloping hill that allows you to see even from the very back. Just back from the Eminem concert and the venue was brilliant! Staff were helpful and very well sign posted. Would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Historical location, gorgeous deco, lovely whiskey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our group visited Slane Castle and was given a fantastic tour of the place. The paintings, the interior deco & design, the feel of this place...it is a must-item for anyone visiting the vicinity! The surrounding park looks simply put magical. The castle has it's own whiskey blend for sale, and this product is equally wonderful and of highest quality. Soon they will have their own distillery there on site, we were told - so I do look forward to visiting this property again in the near future.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“concerts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

slane castle put on some great concerts the likes of bon jovi,oasis,eminem,have all played at slane castle

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Parked wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went the wrong way in and landed at the back of the castle, found the signature in the castle ground the only thing that would perhaps need improvement, staff was very nice to tell us that we went the wrong way in :) lovely castle

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Shocking Organisation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I can see from the reviews below that mine seems to be a more unpopular view, however, when we recently went to Slane Castle for the Bon Jovi concert I thought the lack of entry organisation was absolutely absurd!!!

We queued for over 3 hours to get in, which meant that by the time they actually bothered to start letting our queue in we had all ready missed one of the opening acts, absurd !!!

The security checks (once you did FINALLY get in) were fine, prompt enough.

The toilets were plentiful and, to my surprise, they were well kept, clean and were well replenished with toilet paper.

The concert itself was great, pity about all the people falling over drunk (even early in the day) It honestly beggars belief that people would spend 70 euros and upwards to get absolutely drunk out of their minds! We were trampled and fallen on a number of times, I came home with bruises !

Overall, given the complete lack of organisation from the venue itself I would not be back and would not be recommending!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slane Castle also viewed

Donore, County Meath
Slane, County Meath
 
Trim, County Meath
Slane, County Meath
 

Been to Slane Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slane Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.