We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth visiting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Newgrange Farm

Newgrange Farm
Newgrange, Slane, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Slane
Type: Farms, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not worth visiting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

i recently brought my 2 children to this farm and was totally disappointed with it. there wasn't anyone doing the tractor rides or anyone to let the children hold the small animals. there's not much to look at and didn't take long to see everything. it could really do with being updated

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“In need of a complete overhaul.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this farm on previous occasions and enjoyed it, this time however I was truly disappointed. There wasn't anyone about the yard to allow the children to hold the chicks, puppies were fenced off and despite the fact that there were 10 of us waiting for the tractor ride we were told there wasn't enough. My daughter was bitterly disappointed and that is her lasting impression of the day. At least we saved the extra €10 that is charged for this on top of the entrance fee-€28! The 'maze' is rubbish-no matter what way you turn you are out. The highlight of our day here was the picnic which we had brought with us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Fascinating and a Mystery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We are often underwhelmed by some tourist attractions, however we found Newgrange to be fascinating, and great value. You park at the visitor centre, buy your ticket, and get a scheduled bus to Newgrange Farm. The entire trip takes about 75 minutes and costs 6 euros. The guide we had was excellent, and the tour was one the best we have had on this trip to Ireland. Well worth the detour if you are staying north of Dublin.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Visited with two young children aged 7 and 5. This was a return trip as we went last August and the children talked about it all winter. It cost 21euro, but we got the complete day out of it. The big attraction was holding the puppies, kittens, chicks and feeding the baby lambs. A maze designed from bales of straw entertained them for ages.
An outdoor area comprising of sheep, goats, donkeys, cows, kids and various other animals made up the bulk of animals on view. The children had tremendous fun playing with and feeding these animals. There was also an array of rare foul on view , go-carts and toy tractors to play on. A coffee shop is also on site.
I would recommend this farm to families, especially to children who do not normally get to see or handle animals on a regular basis.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“the animal farm is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

stopped here for a quick lunch as part of the Mary Gibbons tour and the sandwiches were ok but the real attraction here is the petting zoo/animal farm they have. They had puppies, piglets, baby lambs, and baby chicks, cows and horses that you could pet and I think they let you feed some of them too. I think this would be a good place to take the kids

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newgrange Farm also viewed

Donore, County Meath
Slane, County Meath
 
Julianstown, County Meath
 

Been to Newgrange Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newgrange Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.