We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Poets Rest

The Poets Rest
Chapel Street, Slane, Ireland (Formerly The Poet's Rest)
+353 (0)41 9820738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 restaurants in Slane
Price range: $5 - $53
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
newry
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Visited here in late August with two children on our way home from a weekend away. After spending a few days in a lovely hotel in Naas, we were bitterly disappointed with our meal in this restaurant. My wife's duck appeared to be microwaved from frozen and my seafood pasta was rubbery. The children didn't eat their food from a very limited kids menu which was supposed to be free with each paying adult. It was not however free, we were charged for it and it turned out to be one of the most expensive and worst meals of our trip.
My advice would be to bypass this rather dull and uninteresting restaurant, it's poor to say the least.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanitaZ, Guest Relations Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear patreflex! First, thank You for Your review! I would like to apologize for Your disappointment in our food and Restaurant itself! Just to let You know, that we never cooking duck from frozen, or microwave ether. I wish You could mentioned Your disappointment
in our food at the time, so we would deal with it, the best way possible. Kids eat free, if adult is having Set Menu for 19.95.
Kids Menu maybe are limited, due to not such a big demand. The Main from Kids Menu, Dessert and drink are not been charged for, only extra costs apply if kids would have extra portions or extra drinks!
Once again, sincerely apologize about poor experience in our Restaurant! Would be very happy, if Your Family would give us another chance, to make Your visit enjoyable as it should be!
Kind Regards, Sanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    40
    20
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our second visit here which we thoroughly enjoyed, made all the better by the very friendly and attentive waitresses.
On our first visit, although we enjoyed the food, the "steak-on-a-stone" experience was not for us. We mentioned this to the manager and he told us to ask for our steaks cooked by the chef on our next visit.
We took him at his word and savoured a fillet and sirloin surf'n'turf, although served slightly on the cool side of warm they were delicious and melt-in-the-mouth!
We also noticed that kids eat free from the childrens menu while accompanied by an adult eating from the €19.99 3 course menu which is a really good incentive for families.
Nice atmosphere, good menu selection, friendly staff, keep up the good work!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanitaZ, Guest Relations Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Barbican-10! Thank You for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
On behalf of Poets Rest Team, thank you for your kind comments. I hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.

Yours sincerely, Sanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Saturday evening in The Poet's Rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Recently a deal came up on one of the promotional websites, and since Slane is very close to me we decided to go and give The Poet's Rest a try.

I was one of the most enjoyable experiences of eating out I've had in a long long time. The two waitress staff were amazing. The house red was enjoyable.
The food was really fresh. The steaks on the stone were fab. There was so much choice on the desert menu..heaven.
Great chocolates with the coffee. If I had to fault anything it would have been the chips that came with the steak but I’m just been pedantic.
Keep up the great work. I will be back with my inlaws..Don’t let me down!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanitaZ, Guest Relations Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Vadca!A wonderful review! I thank you for your time in posting it on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and service and I do apologize about chips! We are dealing with this matter at present.We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for your kind words of support!
Kind Regards, Sanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A real gem in Slane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

While overnight in the area to visit New Grange we decided to go into Slane for dinner  and thankfully stopped at the Poets Rest. The outside and inside of this place, both beautiful.  

I had the creamy seafood pasta bake loaded with calimari, prawns, and a variety of fish. My wife after two weeks without beef opted for the 8oz sirloin which was more like 12, served partialy cooked on a piping hot lava stone for her to finish cooking as she pleased. Both meals were outstanding and a good value. Not to forget, our server who was very friendly and efficient and the lemon cheese cake for desert was yummy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanitaZ, Guest Relations Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Chris H! We at Poets Rest are so thankful for Your review, and we are so happy that You and Your wife enjoyed food and atmosphere in our restaurant! We had such a pleasure to have You in our restaurant!:) We are looking forward to welcome You back again! Wishing You all the best!
Yours Sincerely, Sanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Passing by had lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were passing by and decided to eat here, partially to do with the ample parking.
We were early and initially were the table for lunch, we were shortly joined by 4 other tables.
We had the thai green curry and goats cheese salad for lunch. The curry was spicy and plenty of chicken, goats cheese was tasty, both good portion sizes.
Service was good

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanitaZ, Guest Relations Manager at The Poets Rest, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear bandrews212!All staff at Poets Restaurant would like to thank You for Your time to write a review! We are so delighted that You enjoyed our food!:) Was great to have You in our restaurant! We hope to see You again in the near future! You are very welcome to visit us again!:) The best wishes!
Yours Sincerely, Sanita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poets Rest also viewed

 

Been to The Poets Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poets Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.