We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ash Cottage

Save Saved
You added Ash Cottage to your Saves list
Ash Cottage
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ash Cottage
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Old Road | Balreask Old, Navan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Navan B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Keeping it simple. Here you go.

The Good:
1.) Clean and comfortable.
2.) Location good with easy access to Trim, Slain and Navan.

Just Okay:
1.) The hosts were just okay. While Peter was nice and drew us maps, it always felt his interactions were half hearted. His wife I couldn't even understand and saw 2x during our 2 day stay.
2.) Rooms were small and the bathrooms smaller.

The bad:
1.) Breakfast was lacking- the selection was limited. Most places had a food bar with cereal, juices, milk, water, fruit, porridge. Not here. The Irish breakfast was sausage, eggs and rasher. No beans, no pudding, no mushrooms. eggs were bland.
2.) decor is old and outdated.
3.) bed was small, sheets scratchy and comforter smelled like body odor.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the room located downstairs if possible. Especially the one under the stairs. It s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hello Misty.We were sorry to read your review,especially what we feel are personal remarks about us.I am always ready to help and advise people,give them local knowledge about the area and chat to them about Ireland and life in general.The 2 nights you were with us we were full and very busy both mornings at breakfast ,but were available to chat later in the day.I drew maps for you to make your journey easier and advised you regarding local sites and the restaurant you enjoyed so much.All of the food items you mentioned.are available for breakfast,we serve it personally instead of a self service bar.The decor can be viewed online and hope it is in keeping with the cottage style but is a personal taste.The linen is the same as supplied to 4 hotels in the area.We note in your other reviews that you were disappointed with the B and B experience in Ireland in general, not being made feel to be part of the family.When there are 5 different groups looking for your attention its not easy to give full attention at all times.If you had said something we could have addressed your feelings about your stay but you were friendly at all times so we thought you were satisfied.Best Regards Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Borng, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Convenient location - short drive from Dublin Airport and close to the sites we wanted to visit. Rooms were lovely and hosts were very gracious. Best traditional Irish breakfast we had on our 24 day trip!

Room Tip: ask for a first floor room if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.Hope your holiday was a memorable one,we hope we might see you back in the future.Best Regards Peter & Nora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed there Aug 29 &30, 2012 as part of our trip for the American football games. The property was neat, clean, modern, and welcoming inside and out. Nora and Peter were wonderful hosts, providing greatbreakfasts and snacks, all home made, as well as directions and instructions for using the bus in to Dublin. The dining room had a gather area with sofa and chairs, reading material, etc. The weather was cooler than we are used to so they turned the heat on to get the chill out of our room. The only negative was that the roomand bath were a little small, not much room to move around, but by European standards are very good. Big enough armoire for our clothes and suitcases. Parking was on property so easy, location easy to find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice room set-up - privacy for guests and privacy for the hosts. The room we had was clean and comfortable. The hosts, Peter and Nora, are extremely welcoming, not to mention helpful when it comes to finding one's way about the area (and in our case, tracking lost luggage!) The breakfasts are substantial and tasty (bread and jams are homemade!) As our trip was short and did not permit for site-seeing other than Dublin (an hour away by regular bus service,) we hope to return in the future to visit the many historical sites around Navan, and we would surely return to stay at Ash Cottage.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishpeter, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much,we are very glad your holiday,and your stay with us was a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This review is based on a trip to Ireland from June 2nd to 19th when my wife and I stayed in 7 B&B. So there is both a comparative and an absolute dimension in these rankings. Weather was more humid and cold than normal.
Stayed there three nights. Instructions to find it were precise. Parking was easy as well as check-in. Good location to visit Newgrange (20-25 minute drive get there early for 9 am; well worth it) or Boyne battlefield or Trim castle.
Room was large. Large bed was comfortable and bathroom was OK. Heating turned on when we asked. Quiet at night. First evening I was concerned by a group of younger people staying over for a concert. Turns out our host Peter was also concerned and got up a night when they came back to make sure they stayed quiet. OK lounge in breakfast room.
Reasonable TV selection and wifi worked fine. Breakfast was nice.
Given the price and quality of service, I rank it very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Far enough from town where you'd have to drive your car back into town to eat, etc. Peter and
Nora were helpful when it came to finding our way back to Dublin's airport and car rental return.
We didn't get to experience the breakfast because our flight was so darn early we wanted to be sure to have the car back in time and still be able to make our way through customs and security. However, Nora did leave us a couple of slices of brown bread on a table that we picked up as we left. Sweet.
Our room was cozy. It could have used some extra pillows but that is a personal preference. We also had only one glass for two people. Our other stays also had mini shampoo and lotions for showering which this one didn't. Also, a small shelf in the shower would have been helpful for placing our things. Wash cloths are also appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hello Deborah,thank you for your review.We note that you were short of shampoo ,a second glass and an extra pillow.We apologise as these are normally provided,so this was an oversight on our behalf.If you had told us we would have,of course,provided what you needed.I am sorry you had no time to have breakfast but hope you enjoyed the home made brown bread you asked for.We also leave out fruit and cereal, for those who want it, for early morning departures and of course Tea/Coffee making facilities are available at all times.Maybe next time you will be able to have the full spread.Regards Peter & Nora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

It was a great experience we had in Ash Cottage (Navan, Ireland) last month (May 19-23). Being with my family, we had the feeling that we were just home, in another country. The place was so clean, and the traditional Irish breakfast was great (like straight from Mom's kitchen!). I liked the dining room a lot, because it was very cozy and home-y. One can have cookies and coffee (and wi-fi) anytime, and I found that corner cute. Peter and Nora were so kind, we felt they were like family. They were very warm and comforting. We never had such an experience on a trip before... we didn't feel we were strangers. God bless Peter and Nora; and Ash Cottage.
(By the way Ash Cottage is close enough to the bus stop, one can make daily trips to Dublin with ease).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ash Cottage, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and remember your family with fondness.We hope you will visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ash Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Cottage

Address: Old Road | Balreask Old, Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ash Cottage 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash Cottage is a family run purpose built bed & breakfast,with guest entrance, offering bright,spacious rooms have recently been decorated and furnished. A good night's sleep is assured, due to comfortable beds and quiet location. Each room has a multi-channel television, hairdryer and en-suite bathroom equipped with hot, powerful showers. A comfortable living room is also provided for guests with tea/coffee making facilities. You will recieve a warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Ash Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.