We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel, Excellent Staff and Service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newgrange Hotel

Save Saved
You added Newgrange Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Newgrange Hotel
Bridge St., Navan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Navan
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Excellent Staff and Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The check in was easy enough with instructions to rooms and breakfast rooms very clear. Rooms themselves were basic and of the advertised 3 star quality. Clean bathrooms with plenty of towels and hot water, clean comfortable bed, TV, tea/ coffee facilities and all the usual stuff, nice rooms. The staff were excellent, night porters serving us a few cold pints which helped us relax after nightshift work! When my room key failed the porter helped me out and replaced it with no problems at all. The lady at the desk also helped me out by offering a fax service for my work which was done with no hassle and a very friendly attitude. I can't recommend this hotel enough, it was lively and a great stay, but at the same time relaxing enough to get my work done, great stuff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the roadside/ town street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear brimit
Thank you for your review following your recent stay here in the Newgrange. I am glad your stay was an enjoyable experience. I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff. I hope to welcome you back to the Newgrange again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    71
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
43
79
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just a message to say "A Big Thank You" to Kate and all the Staff at the Newgrange for making Orla's Hen Party such a "Memorable Occasion". The whole package was Klass. The service and food at the hotel was brilliant and Orlie's Chicks had a wonderful time. We were made feel so welcome and the hospitality was second to none !!!!!! It's a credit to the hotel and it's staff. I will definitely recommend this as a hen weekend destination for future "Brides to Be". And what can we say about "Causey Farm" it was the best "Fun Ever". We are still laughing about our experience in the bog. This has been an experience of a lifetime and we enjoyed every second of it. Brilliant craic !!!! "Memories not to be forgotten".

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Front Office Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Julie
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I'm delighted all the girls enjoyed their weekend and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Was there for a fabulous wedding recently which I have to say the staff were very good to us and the food was great. Special mention to Martin the night supervisor who is a top bloke, very personable, approachable and looks after his customers and the hotel at night very well.thanks Martin :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Lisafromcork,
Thank you very much for your lovely comments following your stay here in the Newgrange. I will pass on your compliments to Martin which I am sure he will really appreciate. I am glad you were well looked after and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisnaskea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

i booked the newgrange last minute as we were heading to the races on the sunday afternoon so thought id surprise my hubby and stay over nite as it was our wedding anniversary! the room was just ok not very romantic and comfy but was clean! the food was lovely and service was good.....found the receptionist not very happy a wee bit dull! the breakfast was nice but i was expecting a buffet but i heard a lady saying it wasnt busy enough for the buffet but it was fine as it was tasty! over all was nice enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear 545ali2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Customer feedback is vital for us to maintain our high standards on which we have built our reputation.
We hope you can come and visit us again soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here last week as I was attending a friends wedding in nearby Slane. Arrived a little after 4 to swift and smooth check in, asked for a taxi to be booked for 5pm and at 4.55 we received a call to our room to let us know that the taxi was there.

Room was clean, neat and rather spacious for just the two of us. We did order a room service breakfast for 10.00 the next morning but when it hadn't arrived by 10.30 I called the front desk. They explained that their had been a number of orders for the same time and they were just leaving with the breakfast at that time.

Sure enough, within a few minutes 2 apologetic ladies arrived to the room with our breakfast. Overall, I was happy with the service and standard of the Newgrange hotel and if I have reason to stay in Navan again, I'll be looking to the Newgrange hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Front Office Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Hawk4077
Than you for taking the time to post your review about the Newgrange. I am glad you enjoyed your stay & I hope to welcome you back to the Newgrange very soon.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We chose to stay in the Newgrange Hotel as it was close to Dublin, but also close to my parents in Cavan who where minding our children for the weekend. When we arrived on Friday the receptionist politely asked was it a romantic weekend away as we informed her it was a 'child free weekend' when we told her it was our wedding anniversary we congratulated us, gave us our keycard and said nothing else. When we arrived at our room we realised that we had been upgraded to the Bridal Suite.

The Bridal Suite has an amazing jacuzzi bath that fits two comfortably !! I would be quite fussy about hotel bathrooms, but I can honestly say it was immaculate. The same with hotel beds. It was turned down perfect and the sheets were spotless and crisp. There was beautiful fresh fruit on arrival and the bed was so comfortable.

Dinner .. we decided to have dinner in the bar that night with a few drinks. I had the burger and my husband had the chicken and both of which were divine. I asked could have have the cheese on the side of the burger, no cucumber in the salad and the dressing on the side and the reaction was 'of course, absolutely no problems'. I in no way felt like I was putting them out. We had one or five cocktails throughout the night which went down a bit too well and the music was brilliant.

The bar staff as we were sitting at the bar in no way plagued us to keep filling up our drinks, but did keep an eye on us and ensure we were OK. I would have to say a particular thank you to Stephen the bar man as he was very good at his job.

Breakfast was a huge buffet of fresh fruit, croissants, buns, scones and cereals along with a full Irish which we demolised. We then went shopping around Navan which we did not realise have all the shops you could want or need.

That night we had dinner in the restaurant which was already dealing with 3 large parties, but did not keep us waiting even with the large amount of people in the restaurant. Starters were great and delivered very promtply. I had the fish and my husband had the steak which was cooked exactly how we asked for it and as for the garlic potatoes WOW !! We were too stuffed for dessert and opted for an Irish and Bailey's coffee instead. We got to finish our wine and in now way felt like we were being kicked out to make room for the next couple coming in.

What I liked the most is that the hotel has and country style charm. We didn't want to go to one of the contemporary hotels that is decorated in golds and purple. We wanted a hotel that made you feel welcome and The Newgrange Hotel did that. I would recommend it to anyone and we will be back. What I loved was the manager on the morning we were leaving was in the middle of getting the banquet halls (if that is the right name) ready for the wedding fair that afternoon and I asked could I have a quick peek before I left and she had no problems taking time out to show me how the had set up the top table and two other tables in different colours to show you what it would / could look like. I also got shown if you were having you wedding ceremony there the room where you would get married and it made me want to get married again. The twinkling lights and flower and red carpet and how all the chairs were decorated.

I would recommend this hotel again to anyone, and we will be back... Thank you for making our weekend so very very memorable and special for us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Front Office Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear kavanaghc
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I will be sure to pass them on to everyone here at the Newgrange. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Newgrange very soon.
Kindest Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

I have been staying here on and off for many years and to be fair the prices have tumbled but there are rough edges to all areas in your room old chairs a bit frayed wall paper peeling and apart from breakfast where (apart from hard chewy bacon ) the service and selection is first class ,however the evening staff really don't care although they go through the motions and the food is awfull just awfull chicken only half cooked and when you mention this there is never any sorry just "oh dear we will not charge you " I left a letter on my list visit for the manager but never ever heard anything shame really' I have been stopping here for years and have brought lots of custom too

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura C, Front Office Manager at Newgrange Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Derek

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I hope you will return to us soon and will see we have made improvement in many areas.
Kind Regards
Laura Cox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newgrange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Hotel

Address: Bridge St., Navan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Navan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Navan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newgrange Hotel is a luxurious and enchanting destination in the heart of Navan. Set in one of the most historical and beautiful spots in the country, guests from around the globe are invited to experience the old world charm of luxury hotel accommodation in Ireland. Fused with modern amenities, our award winning 3 star hotel offers a lavish retreat just 30 minutes outside the cosmopolitan city of Dublin. Our three star deluxe hotel offers 62 en suite bedrooms all spaciously decorated and designed with guest comfort and tranquility in mind. Newgrange, part of a set of family run hotels in Meath, is not only ideal as a holiday retreat but is also widely used as a meeting and event location due to its reputation as a sophisticated and well run establishment. We hold wedding receptions and civil ceremonies and our one wedding per day policy ensures the bridal party is never left wanting by our skilled and attentive team. With facilities for meetings, banquets and celebrations, we've got everything needed to throw the party of the year. Corporate companies looking for hotels near Dublin that boast a tranquil and elegant country atmosphere are able to enjoy business meetings and conferences at Newgrange too.Indulge in Irish hospitality and scrumptious fare at the in-house Bridge Brassiere Restaurant, enjoy something light and delectable at Ruxtons Cafe or grab a drink and unwind at Rowley's Pub. When the mood strikes in colder months, relax in our library lounge by a warm open fire and browse our selection of classics. When staying at this popular spot you'll never be short on entertainment, leisure or historical tales, as there is much to see and do in and around the area. Named after the ancient monument at Newgrange just 15 minutes away, Newgrange hotel boasts the ideal mix of stylish allure and modern magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Newgrange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Hotel Navan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newgrange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.