We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly staff, highly recommend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oriental Palace
Kennedy Place, Navan, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 48 Restaurants in Navan
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, friendly staff, highly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Originally from Dublin, now living in Trim. Couldn't find a decent Chinese in Trim but Oriental Palace in Navan is in a different league, a genuine Chinese. If that wasn't enough the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Don't mind travelling the extra distance for my take away, it's well worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Finally we got a decent chinese. Staff was so helpful & food was very good.Early bird was a great deal.Portions are massive.You can actually share a main course between two.One of the best places in royal county

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is our family's restaurant of choice. Not just because of the food (which is pretty great) but because we can bring the kids and not only are they catered for, but they are treated like VIP's. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We often go for Sunday lunch which is great value (€12.50 for a starter and main course for adults and €6.50 for a main course and icecream for kids) but we recently went on a Saturday night for a family meal (it's the only place we all agree on) and the food and service were fantasic.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service and nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I Have visited this place on a number of times and have always been very satisfied as I left. After being there today I decided it's time to write a review. Along with my mother we had the early bird menu, 2 courses for €16 I think. On arrival we were given complementary Prawn crackers and we received excellent service throughout. Any time our glasses were running low the waiter was quick to fill them up and was very helpful. Our plates were brought out on a plate warmer and soon after when our food was ready the waiter placed the dishes on it. The service was very fast but then again we were there at 5 o'clock and the only people in the restaurant. As a starter I had crispy spicy shredded chicken which was presented beautifully with a side garnish. For the main course I decided to go with the Mongolian chicken curry which was also very nice. As I was very full after my starter and prawn crackers i couldn't finish my main course, it was too nice to leave behind so the waiter put it in a take-away container and we set off. Next time i'm in Navan i'll definetly call in again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pricey but good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Went into this place expecting it to be cheap as it looked like a little whole in the wall establishment. There is a small door leading up a flight of stairs that is non descript and does not notify at all of what to expect upstairs. We were surprised to see at the top of the stairs a very elegant place full of very helpful staff. We were seated, had our napkins put on our laps, and was asked right away what we would like to drink. Thinking the menu would be expensive after this kind of treatment we were surprised to see that prices were in a good range. However, when we ordered, we were unaware that rice was an additional cost to the plate! Each of us got rise 'with' our meal and that was 5 euros for each person. The food was very good though and the shrimp flavored crisps served before the meal were delicious!! I do recommend this place due to the atmosphere and the food. However just be aware that the costs can be hidden.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Palace also viewed

 
Navan, County Meath
Navan, County Meath
 

Been to Oriental Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.