We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic views, very friendly owners & lovely fry up!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viewpoint Bed And Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viewpoint Bed And Breakfast
Save
You added Viewpoint Bed And Breakfast to your Saves list
Omeath Road, Carlingford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic views, very friendly owners & lovely fry up!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

great place to stay in this georgous irish village, it was very quiet when we were there, but can imagine the summer would be busy. Excellent restaurants, bars & the locals are very welcoming. Hard to find but it's worth it when you see the views! We arrived late and they had warmed the room with electric blankets in the bed for us. Rooms are a bit dated but they have everything that you need. Very friendly people who were helpful and very welcoming during our stay.

Room Tip: try to get one with a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Came here as part of a Hen party and Viewpoint was an ideal place to stay. The rooms were clean with scented candles lighting when we arrived. The views over Carlingford are beautiful and Paul was a pleasure to deal with. He is a great bit of craic and very accommodating. He collected a few of the girls from the nightclub without charge and even came around at 4am offering snacks and drinks! Breakfast was very nice and served later than usual to allow us an extra few minutes in bed the morning after.
Highly recommended - a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

This was just ideal for us. The location was fantasitc, the views were brilliant, the rooms were clean and ideal for what we wanted. We were a group of 25 girls so the owner had us all located in the lower end so we would not disturb other guests and it was perfect. The owners themselves were just lovely - so helpful and friendly. This place really added to our weekend and I would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Situated in the beautiful town of Carlingford with breath taking views this is a great location. We arrived late and without a booking on a bank holiday weekend and all of the rooms were fully booked except one. So to help us out the owners offered to let us camp in there garden for a a small fee which also included breakfast in the morning. They couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly, even providing a free taxi service to and from the town centre.
I can highly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to travel to the area.
Thanks again for helping us out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We had emailed and later called to book a room for over the weekend. We wanted to stay one night only and the owner took our details over the phone, assuring us the room was available. We provided full details and one double room for one night was reserved.

The day we were travelling an email from the owner cancelling our one night booking - apparently they have a 'policy' of only accepting a minmum of 2 day bookings. Why this was not indicated at time of verbal booking on the telephone, with the owner, is a mystery to us. Where it did leave us was setting off for the airport with no room to goto in Carlingford, over a Bank Holiday weekend. The owner really did leave us with few options at such a late stage and didn't even offer to find us a room elsewhere, they being local.

Our belief is that another booking opportunity came along where the guests wanted to stay more than one night, the owner spotted an opportunity to make a few more Euros and cancelled our one night booking. This as any reasonable person will know is simply beyond being acceptable, is total poor service and leads us to complain and let others know that they really do need to be aware should they be deciding to look for a place to stay in Carlingford.

We have previously stayed at Carlingford House, a lovely place with fantastic people running it, and who take one night bookings, including over Bank Holiday weekends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundonald, Belfast.
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

A very welcoming place, nice scented candle, heat on, fresh bed linen on a well aired bed and a friendly host, what more could you ask for? Paul was great, he dropped us into Carlingford ( you are a wee bit out from the village ) and when our evening was over the guy behind the bar phoned the taxi for us. We arrived back to the heat on, a light on and the elctric blanket on, now that's what I call service:-) Breakfast was well cooked ( by Marie ) and very tasty, plenty of everything and a beautiful view over the Lough. A very pleasant stay , Paul and Marie are great and we give the Viewpoint a big thumbs up!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I read the Trip Advisor reviews before booking the Viewpoint, the majority being favourable, but have to admit was concerned about the few negative ones.

Well I shouldn't have been!

The Viewpoint turned out to be a wee gem. Upon arrival in the room was greeted with a lit scented candle and spectacular views! The room was spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished, ensuite, with tv and tea/coffee making facilities, even an electric blanket on the bed - basically all you would need for a very comfortable stay.

The rooms are fronted with sliding double glazed patio doors (most with spectacular sea views!) and so are all accessed independently from the main house. It was like having your own mini apartment, but with all the conveniences of a B&B! It's location is about a 5 mins (downhill) walk from the town centre and Paul the owner also runs a taxi service, so getting in & out couldn't be easier! He even picked us up after 2am after a lovely night out and the banter was great - thanks Paul!

Breakfast was lovely, served in the main house in a cosy elevated dining room , with views overlooking the whole of Carlingford Lough - what more could you ask for?!
Remember this is a B&B after all, and you are paying B&B prices, so after my stay do feel the bad reviews on here are rather harsh!
Both Paul and Maria were friendly & courteous and couldn't do enough to help! Will definitely be back, have no hesitation in recommending the Viewpoint to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viewpoint Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewpoint Bed And Breakfast

Address: Omeath Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Carlingford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlingford Viewpoint Guest House Bed & Breakfast Accommodation overlooks the Medieval Town of Carlingford with majestic views of Carlingford Lough and the Mourne Mountains. The ideal place to stay while visiting Carlingford & Ireland's North East Coast whether on an activity break or a relaxing sightseeing holiday. We offer unique Motel Style accommodation and can cater for individuals and groups of up to 26 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Viewpoint Bed And Hotel Carlingford
Viewpoint b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viewpoint Bed And Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.