We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B overlooking the bay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House
Save
You added Beaufort House to your Saves list
Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Markham, Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B overlooking the bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

W chose this B&B by chance and it was our good fortune in this busy town.. A beautiful home overlooking the bay but an easy walk into old Carlingford to excellent pubs and restaurants. Michael greeted us warmly, He and Glynis have created spotless, spacious comfortable rooms. Their breakfast is exceptional and custom made. A great stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
87
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Glynis greeted us at the door and I felt like I'd always known her! What a perfect host. She explained all the in's and out's we needed to know. Our room overlooked the bay and it was exceptionally clean (I'm a bit ocd!), bright and shiny. I was going to a clinic in Dublin the following morning and I sadly couldn't avail of the wonderful breakfast. My husband, however, is still raving about it. Glynis served breakfast and we met her lovely husband Michael who was another fantastic host! They both had that way of making you feel that nothing is too much trouble. We also met a group of American hill walkers who were staying. We just wished we had more time to spend. On our next trip to Carlingford we Will be staying at Beaufort house and I suggest you do too.
Thanks again Glynis and Michael x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

One of my favorite memories of my recent trip to Ireland is waking up in one of the beautiful guest rooms at Beaufort House. I looked out at the sea as I sipped my morning coffee in bed. Heaven! Glynnis and Michael do an outstanding job in every way. The B & B is charming and elegant in a simple, unpretentious way. The morning breakfasts were delicious and made perfectly to order. Perhaps the very best part was how welcome they both made you feel. Outstanding!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Peter and Glynnis made us feel spoiled from the moment we arrived. The room was so comfortable that I was tempted to stay in for the afternoon. The breakfasts were superb and both of our hosts were great company.The village was equally warm and friendly with some great cafe and restaurant food on offer. After 2 weeks of travelling in Ireland, Beaufort House was our number one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are just back from a 3 day holiday in picturesque Carlingford where we stayed in lovely Beaufort House. From the moment we arrived and met Michael and Glynnis we were made to feel very much at home. Our bedroom had an amazing view of the lough on one side and of Slieve Foy on the other.
The breakfast was a superb experience and Michael, with his chef's apron,was a match for any chef you care to mention.
We hope to return aand would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This B&B is ideally situated on the seashore with panoramic views of Carlingford Lough. It is only a few minutes walk to the town centre. Michael & Glynnis were so welcoming. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and gleaming. Our room was very large and tastefully furnished with two windows. The side window had a view of the Cooley Mountains whilst the front had amazing views of Carlingford Lough. Bathroom had a large walk in power shower with toiletries and soft towels. The house has full Wi-Fi access.
Breakfast: Our table was set with crisp linen table cloth and linen napkins and silver placing of cutlery. (Glynnis has the most beautiful collection of silver service) Breakfast consisted of fruit juice, fresh fruit, cereal, toast home-made brown bread, brioche, home-made jam & marmalade. Cooked breakfast was salmon poached in citrus, orange, lime, Full Irish, scrambled eggs of a mini tasting selection of breakfast. It was fantastic and great value for money. So relaxing. I would highly recommend staying at this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Last night my husband and I had the very good fortune to stay at Beaufort House. Glynnis and Michael were truly wonderful hosts and their commitment to making their guests feel welcome was evident from the moment we were greeted at the door. The setting of the house is stunning and our lovely room had spectacular views. The breakfast was a lovely dining experience and the choice of dishes on offer was a surprise, our breakfast was cooked to perfection. We will definitely return to Beaufort House and would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Address: Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Carlingford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Carlingford
Beaufort Hotel Carlingford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.