We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaufort House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlingford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaufort House
Save
You added Beaufort House to your Saves list
Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Carlingford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Last night my husband and I had the very good fortune to stay at Beaufort House. Glynnis and Michael were truly wonderful hosts and their commitment to making their guests feel welcome was evident from the moment we were greeted at the door. The setting of the house is stunning and our lovely room had spectacular views. The breakfast was a lovely dining experience and the choice of dishes on offer was a surprise, our breakfast was cooked to perfection. We will definitely return to Beaufort House and would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
91
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in Beaufort House for 3 nights in July 2013. Michael and Glynnis welcomed us to their beautiful guesthouse like they had known us for years and made us feel instantly at home. Our room had a beautiful view of Carlingford Lough which is just across the road from the house. The house has full Wi-Fi access which we used each day - the speed was great and it was always available. The breakfast was just divine - Glynnis had been busy making beautiful homemade brown bread, jams & marmalade! I sampled their poached one morning and can only say that I wish I could cook like that! We were within walking distance of the all the restaurants and bars in the village. Carlingford gave us a lovely base to tour around Northern Ireland from. Michael and Glynnis gave us a beautiful home from home for the 3 nights that we stayed with them. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to you - its' one of the nicest guesthouses that you will ever stay in!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days 20th August. Glynnis and Michael, run a fantastic guesthouse, were perfect hosts, felt really at home. You must try the fillet of salmon poached in citrus, orange,lime, never would have thought to have for breakfast, but sooo worth the experience. My room was spacious and really comfortable, with amazing views of the mountains. Beaufort House is only a short walk from the centre of Carlingford, where the restaurants serve fabulous seafood and the craic is '90'.

Highly recommend staying here and I will look forward to my next visit!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We would highly recommend the Beaufort Guest House. Overlooking Carlingford Lough this guest house is located within walking distance to the restaurants and pubs. With welcoming and friendly hosts, clean rooms and a scrumptious breakfast - We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Beaufort House is a place you write down, bookmark or otherwise file in ling term memory in order to make sure the name is handy for future bookings. It would be very difficult to forget, though, due to such memorable interactions we had with both Michael and Glynnis Caine (the owner / proprietors).

My wife and I spent a few days in Carlingford and just had a wonderful time. This was in large part due to the warm welcome, continued hospitality, fantastic cuisine, and personal experiences we had while staying at the Beaufort House. Our room had a wonderful view of the bay, was incredibly spacious, included a private shower, and hosted a very comfortable bed. The Irish breakfast here is a masterpiece, and it was the perfect ending to a most cherished vacation. We will miss this place.

Thank you Michael and Glynnis for going out of your way on multiple occasions on our behalf. You are truly wonderful people and have left a lasting impression of what Ireland is to us. We shall see you again.

Room Tip: Our room had a bay view and was most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Carlingford and were so lucky to find this gorgeous guest house which was right on the waterfront. Glynnis and Michael are so friendly, chatty and make you feel very welcome and at home. Our bedroom was lovely and had a stunning view of the lough. I just sat at the window looking out and it was so peaceful and quiet. A very tranquil place and yet only minutes walk to the fabulous restaurants and bars in Carlingford. We enjoyed an excellent meal in The Bay Tree Restaurant and then went on to PJ O'Hares where a band was playing. Enjoyed a good nights sleep in a very comfortable bed and we did not hear a sound, the house is so quiet. Breakfast was a lovely experience and both had an Irish which was cooked beautifully. Unfortunately we were only there for one night but we felt so relaxed and rested going home. Thank you Glynnis and Michael for making it such a special stay. We wiil be definitely highly recommending Beaufort House to everyone. Hope to get back again for a wee winter break. Barb&Bill Greyabbey

Room Tip: Ask for a lough view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We discovered Beaufort House 13 years ago and have returned for a few days every summer since then. We think this speaks volumes and it is most certainly our main reason for making the trip to Carlingford each year. Our favourite room (we now call it “our room”) has views of both the Lough and the Cooley Mountains, hence our heading. Accommodation is excellent and breakfasts are superb, with Michael’s poached salmon in citrus butter deserving a very special mention. Saving the best wine to last…..you couldn’t wish for more welcoming and delightful hosts than Michael and Glynnis. All being well, we’ll be back next year!!

J & M Belfast

Room Tip: Request the room with 2 views (except when we plan to be there!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaufort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaufort House

Address: Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Carlingford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Beaufort House Hotel Carlingford
Beaufort Hotel Carlingford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaufort House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.