We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food is terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carlingford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Carlingford
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“food is terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Didn't stay here but went in for lunch. The Reception area and bar are very nice . The staff bar one lady in a white shirt were just not on the ball. We sat outside had to go looking for menus. Then when we placed our order we again had to go looking for the waitress. The seafood chowder was awful pretty sure the cream was gone off. The duck spring rolls again terrible not as much as one piece of duck in them just beansprouts and hoi sin sauce. We didn't finish either. When I went to pay the bill I wasn't asked once was everything ok. The plus point on this hotel is again a nice bar and a lovely garden but some of the outside chairs could do with an upgrade. Their was a cat that im sure belongs to the hotel jumping up on tables and drinking from the milk jugs!! Disgusting !!!some poor unsuspecting guest might get more than milk in their coffee!! My wife told the waitress and in fairness she was horrified. Also the limescale in the main gents loo was disgusting can't understand this when a limescale remover spray costs nothing. The staff just seemed very unhappy.We went in with a view to staying this weekend as we dont live to far away, glad we did, certainly wont be staying now!!.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    100
    93
    47
    31
See reviews for
75
145
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arklow, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is located in a beautiful surroundings, in the lovely village of Carlingford, on the shore of the Lough, lovely for a walk along the lough shore especially on a beautiful sunny day. However, we were disappointed with the hotel, the bed room facility was very basic, my husband & I stayed for 4 nights, we were disappointed to find there was no closed door wardrobe, only an open wardrobe with hangers for hanging our clothes, no big drawers either, so we could not unpack our cases properly. We think the open wardrobe is fine if one only stays overnight or for a couple of days. The television was very small & old, the carpet could do with a good shampoo or replacement, the bed was not comfortable, the mattress was too soft. We were very disappointed with it. However, the staff were very friendly & efficient especially in the restaurant. The food was good but the main course was a little bit spoilt by too much of the same taste gravy accompanying it every dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Jentze,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of our hotel throughout your stay with us. However, we appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our hotel and our service to our guests. We will most certainly take these comments on board, and ensure that our House Keeping and Maintenance Departments rectify them. We hope these issues will not stop you from returning to us in the near future for another stay,

Best Wishes,

Majella Toner,
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I attended a wedding at this venue a few weeks ago, although the couple in question had obviously went for a cheap deal, I wasn't expecting something outstanding. However it was shocking, when we arrived at the venue I could have sworn we were in an industrial estate, the decore was dated and again screamed cheap, our bedroom upon check in resembled a hostel. The food was average, wine like vinegar.Staff were rude and even the bride commented on how unhelpful they had been. I felt so sorry for the bride and groom who had clearly just wanted to invite as many guests as the could for as little money as they could afford but you definately get what you pay for. Terrible terrible embarassing venue!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Rachel W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we wish to address some of the points you have made. You mentioned you were unhappy with the wine, the hotel allows brides and grooms on occasion to provide their own wine at a fee, the wine was to their taste and choice.

We were recently Awarded Wedding Venue of the Year Leinster 2014 by WeddingsOnline.ie and Best Wedding Venue in Leinster by Weddingdates.ie, based on a stunning location and excellent food and service. We have went through the feedback from each wedding over the last 6 months and not one bride or groom commented negatively on the service at their wedding in fact every wedding stated that they would highly recommend the hotel.

You also marked 1 out of 5 stars for location. Our hotel is located overlooking Carlingford Lough and mountains within a 4 minute walk of a stunning village with medieval features including King John's Castle and Carlingford Abbey and beside Carlingford Lough so we are very surprised that you were also unhappy with the location.

If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Majella
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and i stayed here for a wedding this weekend and from the start the staff couldn't have made us more welcome and comfortable.

After an early morning ferry ride over we arrived at the hotel around half 7, we were greater by Jo in the restaurant and after hearing of our long journey and general tiredness she showed us to the toast, cereals and a quiet corner!

Not 90 minutes later we were found a room to book into (early) and got our well deserved rest.

The room was a little old fashioned but was exactly what we needed and wanted for no more then we received.

This hotel's staff are clearly its heart and soul and because of them our stay was absolutely perfect.

Thank You to your hotel and wonderful town.

Room Tip: Oriel room has a joint balcony which is handy if a friend is starting next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear donkeykong55,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford. Our management and staff aim to please, and make every guest feel welcome and relaxed for the duration of their stay at our hotel. Therefore, we are thrilled to hear that you received this treatment from the very start of your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments, and we hope to welcome you back for another stay with us in the near future,

Best Wishes,

Majella Toner,
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleblayney, Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here a while back where the food was absolutely spectacular the accommodation was rather a let down. We didn't get to sleep all night as there was a noise of water the whole night, The pillow cases had dried blood stains on them. When I spoke to receptionist she basically stated that she would say it to laundry not impressed at all. Could have at least let me speak with a manager, it was a voucher we had received for Christmas and personally was definitely not worth the value as stated

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear rosemarie225,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, I have passed your comments on to the chef. However, I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay in our hotel. I have notified House Keeping of this, to ensure it does not happen again. Please do not hesitate to contact us on 0353 (0) 42 9373530 to speak with a manager within the hotel about these issues,

Kind Regards,

Majella Toner
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

What a dissapointemnt !! Firstly on check in we waited at an empty reception for more than 10 minutes before anyone attended to us. . Eventually a receptionist came and checked us in. Never saw that before.
The room was dated and looked more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel room. It was souless.The carpet was puckered, bed tired looking, televieion so old it was hard to get stations on it. To be fair the bathroom was modern and clean.
Soundproofing appears to be an issue. The walls are so thin I heard the man next door snoring loudly.
Breakfast was ok. The staff mostly appeared to be very young and untrained. We stayed at this hotel for a family occasion. The choice of accomadation in Carlingfotd is very limited and for a tourist and beautiful area I find it hard to understand. We paid way over the top for 2 nights b and b. Would I stay here again? Maybe if I paid half the amount it might reflect value for money.
Otherwise NEVER!!




-+

Room Tip: Don't waste your money. Way overpriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear noeleen-47,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay in our hotel. Here at the Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford, we make sure that staff are available at all times to cater for our guests, therefore I have passed this message on to all staff to ensure that it will not happen again in future. We appreciate your feedback on our rooms, and we have taken it on board to continue to improve our hotel.
If you would like to discuss any of these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact us on (+353) 42 9373530, and speak to a manager within the hotel,

Kind regards,

Majella Toner, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

From Australia toe Cebu, from Cebu to Ireland it's been a crazy cool travelling, and knowing the culture of every Places we traveled. The room here is natural food is Halal anyway. We are just curious about their culture. Since it is part of our study. We are young couple who wanted to find a place to settle down. This Hotel is good and it has good service although they are not smiling unlike Philippines, but still fine. After Whale Shark Snorkeling & Canyoning Adventure in Cebu Philippines.But now we are ready to know the culture here. Special thanks to Cebu Exclusive Holiday private tour Company in Cebu for the referrals.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella-Toner, Manager at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Chan L,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we wish you the best of luck on your travels! We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future,

Best wishes,

Majella Toner, Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Address: Carlingford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Carlingford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Carlingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Carlingford
Four Seasons Carlingford
Carlingford Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.