We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Tree

The Bay Tree
Newry Street, Carlingford, Ireland
00 353 (0) 42 9383848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Carlingford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
co. louth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Was out with family for few celebrations bunched together.
Experience was enjoyable, staff where pleasant and helpful, menu had good choice and one person ordered off-menu which again seemed no problem.
Good selection of wine but was ever so slightly over priced but all in all a good value for what we got, top class well prepared and beautifully tasting local food.
We will be back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    30
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Town - Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

32 of us dined here on saturday night - between the food, athmosphere and staff I would highly recommened going here. The mussels for a starter were top drawer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food in Carlingford!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent food, best we had in all of Ireland! Atmosphere very pleasant, service top notch ... a little pricey, but worth it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Place and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Went to this restaurant after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed with the ambiance and staff both very good sadly both steaks we men got looked great when presented but were tough,wives fish were very good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Northern Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were a party of two couples. It was the other couple's anniversary and they had booked this restaurant as they had visited Carlingford a couple of times and it looked busy and they liked the general appearance of the restaurant. 3 of us had starters and the food was very tasty. I had the caesar salad and chirizo which was plentiful, but not too filling. I had the fillet steak for mains which was cooked to perfection and lovely. Even the vegetables had a lovely taste to them, the homemade chips were beautiful. The others in our party had duck and lamb. Both really enjoyed their dishes and we were all so full that we could only manage coffees and no desserts. There was a lovely relaxed ambience in the restaurant. The staff were attentive, but not overly so we were able to chat and relax and we were not rushed out like they do in some restaurants in order to free up your table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Tree also viewed

Carlingford, County Louth
Carlingford, County Louth
 
Carlingford, County Louth
Carlingford, County Louth
 

Been to The Bay Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.