We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deadly food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PJ O'Hares

PJ O'Hares
Tholsel St, Carlingford, Ireland
+353 42 937 3106
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Carlingford
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Draperstown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Deadly food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Was here as a group of 19 for my sisters hen party. The food, service and everything was amazing. Will definitely go back if I am in Carlingford again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    68
    20
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“died and gone to heaven....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Not many places don't change and yet still get better - PJs is one of them. Having grown up locally, I knew PJs but moved away it's been a few years since I've been in. Went for lunch on Thursday with family. Had Crabs Claws (toes my sister calls them) and I can still taste them as I write. Simply THE BEST food, service, ambience, you name it, it's it. Friendly, easy, chitty chatty..and then to top it all, turns out somethings have changed after all in PJs - new luxury loos. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven! Advice for travellers : Do not go to Carlingford without going to PJs!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“oh the Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

the Atmosphere in this place was great!
my first beer in ireland but not the last!
i will never forget the great Waiter which was very nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“buzzin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

great buzz about the place, great beer garden, suits all ages. few mad yokes about but quite friendly

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Seafood here is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It's a lovely place to go on a sunny afternoon, sit in the beer garden with a nice pint and great seafood. The oysters & crab claws are really good and it is good value for money. I would avoid it on Saturday nights thou as Carlingford is full of hen nights and they flock to P.J.'s.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ O'Hares also viewed

Carlingford, County Louth
Carlingford, County Louth
 
Carlingford, County Louth
Carlingford, County Louth
 

Been to PJ O'Hares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PJ O'Hares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.