We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some work needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Nua

Bistro Nua
Georges Street, Newbridge, Ireland
+353 45 486 369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 21 Restaurants in Newbridge
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Bistro Nua is a family run, local business serving exceptional classic and contemporary dishes in a warm and relaxed environment. They pride themselves on professional service, superb food, value for money and a truly memorable experience.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Some work needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I've been here twice and the first time I had goats cheese salad & the burger, the goats cheese salad wasn't great, the dressing was a very sharp balsamic which didn't complement the goats cheese at all. The burger needed a lot more seasoning.
The second time I had the soup which was delicious and the veg stir fry. The stir fry was a bit tasteless but satisfying nonetheless.
I will be back, the staff are great and there is a lovely atmosphere there. A few tweaks to the menu and it could be perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An C, General Manager at Bistro Nua, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We have looked into the balsamic dressing and we fully agree that this is not up to the standards we thrive for here at Bistro Nua. We have subsequently made adjustments to the dressing and would truly hope you pop back into us and give it another try. We are confident you won’t be disappointed.

Thanks again,
The Bistro Nua Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Disapointing ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Pork belly starter was like 3 rashers, a very poor portion but tasty. One person ordered beef stroganoff and two pieces of beef was served, it looked and tasted like round steak that was really undercooked. The waitress argued with us when we said it was undercooked for the type of meat. A disappointing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An C, Owner at Bistro Nua, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are however very disappointed to hear you didn't have the positive experience we strive to deliver here at Bistro Nua. We have spoken with our waitress who was aware of one dissatisfied customer this week. As she was not satisfied with her Beef Bourguignon our waitress provided her with an alternative course from the menu.

We assure you that we do not use round steak for our slow cooked Beef Bourguignon. We have spoken with our chef's and they have taken the feedback on board.

We would really like the opportunity to hear more from you and hope you might consider a return to the restaurant for a much improved experience. Please give us a call on 045 486369 and we can arrange something specific for you.

Kind Regards
The Management Team @ Bistro Nua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food in Newbridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

There are no words to describe how good the food was.

Both of us had Duo of Salmon fishcakes & 10oz sirloin steak on the early bird menu. Everything was delicious, and so fresh.

The owner came in for a meal while we were there and she came over to ask us if we were enjoying our meal, which was lovely.

We shared desert, which was the special, homemade strawberry cheesecake, with strawberry ice cream. The biggest slice of cheesecake I've ever seen, and delicious.

Thank you to all the staff and the owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Nua also viewed

Newbridge, County Kildare
Newbridge, County Kildare
 
Newbridge, County Kildare
Newbridge, County Kildare
 

Been to Bistro Nua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Nua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.