We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Keadeen Hotel to your Saves list
The Keadeen Hotel
Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Henfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here recently whilst in Ireland and had a lovely stay at the hotel. The rooms are a lovely size with plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. Great shower in the bathroom.
The food is of a high standard and breakfast was a delight with a huge spread featuring lots of variety including a large selection of hot dishes as well as cold.
Staff were very attentive and whilst this is a large hotel felt very warm and inviting

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Ian239

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are humbled by your kind praise.
We sincerely hope this will be one visit of many to our Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    73
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
55
63
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The approach to the reception sets the tone - lovely character and appearance,with superb grounds! A very warm and welcoming greeting.Great to have a receptionist with strong local knowledge.Had a good wander around the town on a warm and pleasant evening returning for a drink and dinner in the bar.Menu was quite good and my curry certainly made the mark! An appealing and comfortable lounge for a relax after dinner.Room was spacious with a lovely view over the garden.A bottle of water in the room would have been appreciated.Bed was just so comfortable and I had a great night,s rest.Breakfast next morning was excellent with a wide selection and the warm breakfast was delicious! Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.Thanks!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very sincerely for your kind works of praise and positivity. It gives us great pleasure to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we hope you will become a regular visitor to our Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

love the keadeen hotel in newbridge ....going there for years...nice location fine car parks....clean and neat and tidy....toliets always clean and well kept....cannot understand whty after big gaa games in newbridge or portlaoise....if you call in at say 4pm or 5pm on a sunday.....only soup and sambos available.......................lots of other pubs do food all day.....lots of hotels ditto....come on keadeen we are now on the up.................catch up.........................

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hi Joe H
Firstly thank you for your opening line ‘Love the Keadeen’, my three favourite words to see in any review and secondly thank you sincerely for being a long standing customer. It humbles us greatly to have such a large loyal customer base and especially those who notice all the extra effort we put in and the attention to detail that goes a long way towards making our hotel what it is.
However given your wonderful opening comments, I am disappointed to go on and read the rest of your review. I can only assume as a long standing customer you have our best interests to heart in voicing your remaining comments. However, I think it is important to note that our food service times and product offering have been fine tuned over the past 43 years and are actively reviewed on a regular basis and adjusted according to actual and perceived demand. One such example is the recent extension of the club bar evening menu service times.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely fabulous. The driveway was beautiful and the exterior was so welcoming with lots and lots of flowers! The entrance was nice if not a bit old fashioned. The receptionist was lovely and helpful.The room was spectacular there were two separate rooms one with a double bed and a good size tv the second one was a lovely cozy living room with a lovely fire! The food was very tasty but a bit expensive. After I ate I went out to the garden which was very pretty. I'd definitely come back here again though I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Alexis C

Great to hear from you and thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you noticed our driveway as it has recently been redesigned and we feel it adds greatly to the hotel. As for our gardens and abundance of flowers I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to our hard working resident gardener Gerry! Just one little thing, I am curious as to why you would not recommend our hotel for families? The hotel is very popular for family breaks and our 18m swimming pool is a big hit with the kiddies! We are also close to a variety of local family attractions ie Japanese gardens etc. If you would like to share your thoughts please contact me on sales@keadeenhotel.ie/045 431666. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

very pleasant hotel with a cosy feel. comfortable and reasonably priced. the evening meal in the bar was a bit overpriced but food was good. the breakfast was really good, lots of choice and very fresh and tasty. Would go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Scatty2

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your stay, it is very much appreciated and I am delighted to hear you will be back to visit us!

Looking forward to welcoming you to the Keadeen again soon.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very well appointed and gracious hotel. Fitness suite and pool good. Rooms and common areas very elegant and well appointed. Dinner was served only in the bar, and was somewhat overpriced and underwhelming. Breakfast was excellent. good food and plenty of choice at the restaurant buffet. A good quality hotel, best in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Jonnieraven

A very Happy New Year to you! Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us, I appreciate you taking the time to voice your comments to us. We pride ourselves on our traditional 'old school' values and we believe this counts for making the Keadeen Hotel the 'quality hotel' you we strive to be. In terms of dining, our Derby Restaurant is open at weekends and offers a more formal dining experience however during the weekday our Club Bar Bistro does a roaring trade for both lunch and dinner with our fusion menu. I am dissapointed to hear you were not overally enthusiastic about our menu offerings as to date the feedback has always been super, however just to let you know our Head Chef has introduced a new bistro menu for 2014 which was launched yesterday. I sincerely hope you will take the time to come back to visit and try it out.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Was a lovely night, food lovely, service very good and very relaxing cosy hotel, restaurants looked very busy....Hotel a great Christmas feel ,romantic warm open fires, music and great atmosphere...location very good too

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi Catherine C

Thank you kindly for your wonderful feedback! We LOVE Christmas here at the Keadeen Hotel and we do our very best to make a magical time for all of our guests! I am delighted you had the opportunity to experience it with us and we look forward to many more visits from you in 2014.
Wishing you and yours a Happy New Year.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure.Established over 40 years ago and still operated by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keadeen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.