We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Keadeen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Keadeen Hotel
Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newbridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a fantastic 4 night stay at the keadeen hotel. Perfect location for shopping(newbridge silver, kildare outlets) and for the national stud. had dinner 3 nights in the bar as the food was so good! Breakfast was a treat with a huge selection of goodies! Rooms are very comfortable and the perfect temperature! Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

It was our pleasure to offer you what we like to think is a home away from home! It gives us great satisfaction to read your comments and see you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us from the accommodation to the food to the proximity to great shopping outlets!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    66
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
48
51
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were invited to the restaurant for Sunday lunch in mid-August. We were seated with another 2 or 3 tables in an ante room to the main restaurant. We felt completely let down by the service and quality of the expensive food. As we were a large group of 11 we were not ready to order when initially asked and after that we were ignored and it was over 30mins by the time someone came by that we had to call over. We weren't served by one waitress but a succession of whoever happened to be passing by. Very sub-standard for a so called 4 star hotel. The waitress taking the order was extremely unhelpful with 2 of us who had very restrictive dietery requirements. No helpful alternatives offered, and information given was false, such as no butter or dressings were requested, but yet the vegetables arrived coated in butter! The children's meals were fine but one small child was left for over 30 minutes after the other children had been served and even after all the adults had eaten. Completely unacceptable for a pasta bowl. We had to call attention to this a number of times and nothing happened! Two of us had very expensive fish and what I believe was a scallop on top but was entirely inedible. The fish was completely dried out despite the heavy sauce which was obviously intended to disguise the overcooked fish. We didn't bother with coffee or desserts as we were all completely fed-up by the end of our meal. No-one asked how the meal was, we were invited and didn't want to complain in front of our hosts. Absolutely no value placed on our custom by the unfriendly, unhelpful staff. There are far nicer restaurants with really good customer service in Kilcullen and Kildare Town and I would advise people to check those out before this place. I am from Newbridge and will not be giving my hard-earned money to the Keadeen again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

I am very sorry to learn you did not enjoy your recent dining experience with us. While I can assure you this is not the norm by far, we take all feedback very seriously and have already begun looking into this matter further. So thank you for taking the time to voice your experiences.
While I understand you felt you werent in a position to mention on the day, as you were a guest at the meal, should this have been brought to our attention in the days after event, we would have taken the opportunity to discuss the experience in detail with you and demonstrate our sincere apologies.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact me on 045 444128 or email info@keadeenhotel.ie

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My daughter had her Debs on 5th September 2013. We had a fantastic time, the food was so good and staff were so attentive to everyone and very friendly. I have attended other functions at Keadeen, weddings, Christmas Parties and out for special dinner parties etc, and i would highly recommend Keadeen. The food is fantastic (soup to die for), also the best roulade i ever had. It is so homely cosy and staff are the best.
Carol Mooney

Room Tip: Our room was warm and the bed was very comfortable, it was on ground level at back of reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Carol

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, I am delighted to hear you and your daughter enjoyed the Debutante Ball hosted with us in September. It was a great evening with a lovely atmosphere. I will certainly pass on your kind feedback to our chefs in particular Peter our Pastry Chef who makes the amazing Roulade you speak of- it is by far our most popular dessert! Hopefully you will get to experience it again in the near future!

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I'm from newbridge. My parents had their wedding reception here, my grandparents would come most Sundays for lunch. The food at the keadeen is very nice, although quite over priced.
I recently attended a wedding here and shortly after I came to see Tommy Tiernan. At the wedding my friend checked into the hotel, I was helping her carry bags to her room and the lady at reception was nothing short of ignorant to both of us! At Tommy Tiernan We had dinner in the restaraunt first (myself and my boyfriend) and I have NEVER came across such rude staff in a hotel, AGAIN. The woman serving us was rude and impatient and when I asked her for fresh water she questioned us and made it obvious we were inconveniencing her. When we entered the ballroom, again rude staff member behind the bar, barked at me and never once said please or thank you, then very rudely told me I couldn't pay with my debit card (I had no cash) I would just like to point out that the reason I've experienced rudeness from these staff members is because I am young (as was my friend checking in, as is my boyfriend) so my advice to the people running this hotel would be to tell your staff that a paying customer is a paying customer no matter what their age!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Darina

Thank you for bringing your experiences to our attention. I have brought to the attention of our senior management team who are dismayed and disappointed. We would really appreciate it if you were free to come in and meet with a manager to discuss. Please give me a call when you get a moment on 045 431 666 or email on sales@keadeenhotel.ie. You and your family are obviously regulars to the hotel and we would like to do everything we can to ensure it stays that way.

Kind regards
Anna/Tina
Operations Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent stay at the Keadeen Hotel I found the staff where very friendly and welcoming and the food was delicious. I can not fault it as it ticks all the boxes for me and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi Claire

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back with us again in the near future!

Kind regards
Sgaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights in the Keadeen this Summer. On arrival at the hotel we were very impressed with the beautiful garden and flowers leading up to the hotel door. We were greeted by warm staff and shown to a gorgeous room very nicely decorated and it felt very luxurious. Our meals were top class and drinks in the bar relaxed. The staff were excellent with our 4 year old daughter and she loved her stay, especially the pool. This is a super hotel to go to for a relaxing break and is also very accommodating for children. Looking forward to going back some day soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to create a family friendly environment and provide you with top class food and service during your stay with us.

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of having my Wedding Reception at the Keadeen Hotel. Both myself and husband agree that the Keadeen was the best decision we made with regards to the wedding planning. Our day was just perfect and we could not of asked for better from all involved. The meal was amazing and the service was excellent also- one staff member nicer than the other. We could not of asked for better for our wedding. We would not change a thing about the day. The gardens at the hotel are fantastic and are lovely for photographs. The ballroom was laid out in such a gorgeous way and the bridal suite is also fantastic. We were made feel so special by Mrs O' Loughlin and all the lovely staff on the day. A special thank you to all involved in helping us celebrate on the day and in deed for all the background work before the day. I would have no reservations in recommending the Keadeen Hotel to any couple planning on getting hitched!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keadeen_Hotel, Public Relations Manager at The Keadeen Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Clare

Its great to hear from you both! Hope you are all relaxed after your honeymoon! Thank you so much for taking the time to voice your wedding day experience with us and it gives us great pleasure to see all our hard work in making your wedding day special paid off :)
Looking forward to hearing from you over the coming months and years and we wish you all the love and happiness for your married life together

Kind regards
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure.Established over 40 years ago and still operated by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keadeen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.