We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Keadeen Hotel to your Saves list
The Keadeen Hotel
Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
kildare
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“top class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in the Keadeen Hotel last weekend after a wedding. My only regret is we only stayed one night. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly from the time we arrived to the time we left. The wedding food was top class and service was great.
The breakfast was fresh and hot and plentiful.
The rooms are lovely and comfortable. We had a small personal problem during our visit and thanks to the duty manager “Tina” we got sorted out and it did not spoil our stay. She was really on top of everything, and nothing was too much for her.
We didn’t have time to use the leisure centre but had a nosey in it and it looks great.
We are back for another wedding in January and it will be a 2 night stay this time. Thanks to all at the Keadeen for a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    73
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
64
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely hotel with a relaxed atmosphere and a well kitted out gym. Room was lovely, however being on the ground floor a net curtain on the window would have provided a little more privacy. Had a meal in the bar which I could not fault in either price or taste. Also there was an abundance of fresh fruit at breakfast which was a treat. The staff were also very friendly. While WiFi was available the signal was poor.

Room Tip: Possibly higher floors might afford more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Myself and my husband booked a room for the night of a wedding we were attending, at a price that I thought was a bit expensive, but I thought, you only get what you pay for , so it must be first class.
We had booked a superior room, to say the furnishings were in need of replacement is an understatement! the bed was fine, and some furniture was o.k, but the easy chair and foot rest was in need of replacement, it was stained and old!
When we went to leave the room, the security lock wouldn't work, so we reported it to the receptionist, who said she would have it taken care of A.S.A.P. In that evening, my husband went back to the room four times, each time our door was unlocked!! each time we reported it, and each time got the same reply, until we threatened not to pay! then a repair man was called, and fixed it to our satisfaction.
Breakfast was no better. the continental part was fine, but when it came to the cooked breakfast, it was all pre cooked and put into a hot dish to keep warm, resulting in rubber eggs plastic bacon, pudding like plastic.
Never again. at a cost of €145, for one night, I feel we were robbed.

Room Tip: Dont go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel felt like it was hidden away like a little retreat and yet it's so central to the town. The staff are so friendly and helpful and we stayed in delux room and it was nice and big and bed are so comfortable . We didn't eat in hotel as a function was on but cause it was so local to town it worked out fine
A lovely hotel for some R&R

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Keadeen for a wedding recently. It is truly a very beautiful hotel.The rooms are really spacious and spotless,and all the staff, from the receptionist to the bar staff and the restaurant staff are all very friendly and I couldn't find fault with any of them! It is a sort of olde world hotel,but that only adds to the tranquil peaceful atmosphere that you will find there! We had a meal in the bar,and the food was second to none,in fact the portions were so huge we couldn't finish it,and we felt it was very reasonably priced.The breakfasts are also gorgeous,and there is something for everyone there,and the hot food for breakfast was actually HOT,so 10/10 for that !! The gardens are absolutely beautiful,and huge credit must go to the gardeners.They are wonderful gardens for having wedding photos taken! The wedding reception could not have been nicer,and I'm sure the bride and groom were thrilled with their choice for their wedding.The meal from start to finish was delicious,and all came out piping hot and the waiting staff were wonderful too!....You may be wondering after all that why I haven't given it 5 stars,and this is my only gripe with this hotel.We found the prices in the bar for drink very over the top,everyone knows about "Hotel" drink prices,but at the wedding reception,they were charging more for the drink at the reception bar than they were out at the normal bar! We found this to be very unfair and felt it really was taking advantage of the wedding guests,and there were lots of people that noticed it! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel,just be aware of their bar prices!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Overall a great day at a recent wedding. Good food,service and rooms. But 135 euros for b&b was asking a bit much, especially as we were supposed to be getting a wedding party discount. I could get the same room for 109 any other time. Seems we were been punished for been part of the wedding party . As I say it was a pity as it was a great day and night until we were overcharged in an underhand way. No more overnights at weddings in this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

After months of preparations, we finally got married at the end of July and held our wedding reception at the Keadeen Hotel. Well, what can I say apart that it was simply perfect. I need to mention Sharon, Joe and Tina who did an absolutely fantastic job and Lorraine who dealt with all the accommodation bookings and queries.

It was not just about the day but also the planning involved. We wanted to make our wedding our own and they allowed us to do so. Unlike many other venues where you can only take what it is on offer, they have been open minded, receptive to any idea we’ve had and accommodated us any way they could. Nothing was off limit. What I have also loved is the level at which they get involved. We did not feel like a couple going through the wedding mill, there were not there to just do their jobs. Instead, there was warmth and friendliness in every dealings we have had. They went out of their way to ensure we had a great day and we did. It was a stress free day for us and it all went smoothly on the day. Tina and Joe were on the ball at all times, attentive, professional and once again, involved.

The food was fantastic, thanks to chef Kevin who has been fantastic and more than accommodating.The service impeccable and our guests are still raving about the food, service but also about the hotel.

The gardens were perfect for our photos and as they had set up our arrival reception outside, we were able to be with our families and friends at the same time.

The Keadeen is not a modern impersonal hotel. No, it is a hotel that has a huge amount of charm, elegance and character while having all the modern amenities you would expect from a hotel. Every room I have stayed in has been big, spacious, bright, comfortable and clean.

People often say that the day itself goes so quickly and they can not remember much. For me, it is the opposite, I remember every hour of the day and this is due to how well organised everything was. A massive thank you to all the staff who were involved, not only on the day but also the night before when we held a dinner in the Curragh room for our families and friends coming from abroad.

We will forever be grateful for allowing us to have such precious memories to cherish. You are a true asset to the Keadeen and such kind and caring people. Many many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure.Established over 40 years ago and still operated by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keadeen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.