We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Keadeen Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Keadeen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Keadeen Hotel
Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newbridge
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times when visiting family who live in Newbridge.

All the staff at the hotel are warm and friendly, from the receptionists when you book in to the staff in the bar and the restaurant.

The rooms are excellent - very spacious, clean and comfortable. The food served in the hotel is also excellent - you have lots of choice at breakfast (you'd be extremely fussy if you couldn't find something you liked) and the meals served in the bar in the evening are also great - good choice and well-cooked/presented. The bar can get very busy so sometimes food service can be a little slow, but the food is worth waiting for!

Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to use the spa facilities (maybe next time, if we remember our swimwear and family commitments allow!)

We're looking forward to staying at the hotel again when we visit family again later this year or next.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    66
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
48
51
7
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

this hotel is a beautiful hotel in newbridge! perfect for families, debs, weddings.

I have been to many events there and it was outstanding!

Sometimes this hotel can hotel can be overpriced, but often it can be fantastic value.

There black pudding and potatoe salad is to die for but comes at a hefty price of €11! Not to be missed, i would definitly not get married there as i am from newbridge but this is ideal for any occasion.

Would recommend to everyone!
Prices are a bit too much!!!

Room Tip: try to get more beds in the room to save money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed at the Keadeen for 3 nights last week after a very stressful few weeks with work. We were there for a local wedding and the hotel was like an oasis after a very busy work schedule. The staff at the front desk (all of them) were warm and friendly and, also, very helpful with local directions, tourist information etc. In fact one morning we woke up too late for the (exquisite) breakfast buffet only for one of the ladies working in the hotel bar to 'have a word' with the kitchen who rustled up a full English breakfast for us as part of our bed and breakfast!

Having said all of that, we didn't even take full advantage of all that the hotel offered - in our rush to catch our flights we didn't pack our swimming costumes so couldn't enjoy the pool or gym facilities. We did have a walk around the lovely gardens in which we took plenty of photographs.

Lovely place. Thank you so much for making our first visit to Ireland so enjoyable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at the Keadeen as part of his birthday treat, going to the Curragh races - Phoenix stakes. when we arrived Elizabeth who was manning the reception was friendly, efficient and very attentive. Not only did we get a room upgrade, with the most enormous bed I have slept in, but we received free entrance tickets into the Curragh and a complementary bottle of wine was sent to the room. We had a great day at the races (a win or 2 always helps!) and had a delicious meal in the restaurant in the evening. The choice of breakfast the next morning was lovely fruit, cereals cooked breakfast. We both agreed we would definitely return to this hotel and would unreservedly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenties, Donegal, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We all loved this hotel. We all loved room - two camp beds set up in sitting room area for children with their own tv. There is plenty of seating in foyer areas. We had bar food and it was good even if a bit expensive. The gardens are lovely and plenty of car parking. This hotel is well kept and clean. Children enjoyed pool. Wouold love to return.

Room Tip: Great location for shopping in Newbridge or Kildare Outlet Village and close to Japanese Gardens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with friends, lovely drive up the hotel, nice loony with welcoming staff. Very old style decor not to everyone's taste, I personally am a fan of it but other members of the group thought it was very dated. the decor is throughout, better in some rooms than others, the bedrooms are a good size, flat screen tv and decent size bathroom with bath. The entire hotel is Exceptionally clean. Food was good also. Nice gym and pool. The only real downpoint was that it is a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We visited this hotel for a nights stay last August as a friend was getting married here. The wedding was beautiful and the food and service was excellent. The rooms were lovely too. The only thing that could be improved is that we were checking in for an afternoon wedding and as many of the guests had travelled from England they needed to shower and get ready for the wedding but hardly any of the rooms were available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Keadeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keadeen Hotel

Address: Curragh Road | Ballymany, Newbridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury 4-star family-run Keadeen Hotel is situated in Newbridge Town and in the heart of The Thoroughbred County.Just 35 minutes from Dublin City, hotel facilities include 75 luxurious bedrooms and suites, extensive conference, occasion and wedding suites, lounge bar, AA Rosette winning restaurant, and a leisure centre with a 20m swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and spa treatment room. Complimenting the luxurious interiors are the extensive and beautifully manicured award winning gardens making it a total oasis of relaxation no matter whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure.Established over 40 years ago and still operated by the O'Loughlin family, The Keadeen Hotel has an unsurpassed reputation for delivering traditional hospitality and professional service. Located in the heart of County Kildare guests have access to the world renowned Curragh, Naas and Punchestown racecourses home to exciting racing festivals and meetings. The historic town of Kildare is close by as well as an extensive range of special interest activities including golf, motor racing at Mondello, walking, fishing and much more. Visit the many nearby houses and gardens including Castletown and the Irish National Stud's Japanese Gardens and St Fiachras Garden with wonderful shopping available at the nearby Kildare Village Chic Shopping Outlet and Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The Keadeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keadeen Hotel Newbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keadeen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.