We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carton House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Carton House Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Carton House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just stayed with my family. Great place to relax. Close to Dublin (around 20 mins driving). Good walking trails. Nice room. Great staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear ar_foraoil,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see that you and your family had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the grounds and facilities on offer here in Carton House.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    276
    143
    71
    43
See reviews for
217
583
23
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Have stayed in lots of 4 and 5 star hotels and can honestly say we were never treated so badly and i will not be recommending it to anyone...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Galwaygirl101,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly about your experience with us and go through the details of any issues that you may have had.

Please feel free to contact me on 01 - 6517757

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed one night b&b+d in the old house with my husband. We both work full time, have a 1 yr old and am 37 weeks pregnant. Room wasnt amazing, but it was so quiet, we got fantastic rest which was purpose of stay. Staff very friendly and lovely atmosphere of Irish hospitality. Full choice from menu for "package" dinner, no supplements for this or that, and food really good. Explored some of the reception rooms of the old house which are stunning and make you want to think of a reason to have a function just to use them. Didn't get as far as using the leisure facilities or explore much of the grounds but will next time. Definitely my favourite hotel in the short trip from Dublin region and will return asap.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Eimor,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It is great to see that we are now your new favorite hotel for a short break. Please feel free to contact me if I can assist you in anyway with your next booking at Carton House.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I recently attended a conference in Carton House. all aspects of my stay, facilities, bedroom and food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I look forward to my return in a month for a leisure weekend stay.... Thanks to all at Carton

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear holsgirls,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see that you had such a successful conference here in Carton House and I have
passed your kind comments on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back next month when you will be sure of the same level of care and attention for your weekend break.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My friend and I had a short mini break here for one night in February. We shared a twin room in the new part of this large hotel (built in 2006). Our room was adequate in size though not huge. Beds were comfortable with good duvets and pillows. Bathroom was fitted with a large modern bath and shower with a "rain" head...very good. Our room was quiet and though the hotel was busy it was in no way noisy at night time. We availed of the spa and were treated well by the staff there. Our overnight package (€90 each) included a 3 course dinner. It was good but I was disappointed with the main course....tiny sample of veg and small portion of whipped mash potato. Breakfast on the other hand was great...all you could eat and very good fruit selection. The grounds of Carton are vast and have two walking trails marked out (3km and 6.5km). We did the shorter trail and it added to our enjoyment of this venue.We were also able to tour some of the historic rooms of Carton and embrace the history of the Earls of Leinster...very sentimental. Carton is a place that enables you to get away from it all and yet it is so close to Maynooth. We took the opportunity to explore some of the old part of Maynooth College too including the historic St. Patrick's Church. I would certainly recommend Carton for a short stay. We're not into golf which Carton is renowned for and yet we still found plenty to do!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear BMRCIreland,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience during your stay with us here in Carton House. The original part of the hotel is really special and it is great that you found the time to explore some parts of it and some of the 1,140 acres of parkland on offer here in Carton Demesne.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Carton in the near future and if I can be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me.


Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Spent 1 night away with a friend for a relaxing break. First impressions are really fantastic. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. We had a standard twim room with a view which was fine. The spa is top class and well worth the visit. We had planned to go swimming but it was a Saturday afternoon and the pool was full of children, families, noise, etc. Great for families but not what we were looking for at this time. We ate in the Linden Restaurant and were not overly impressed with the food. It looked lovely on the plate but didn't taste as good as it looked. The breakfast buffet was fairly standard but the scones were hard and the fruit selection was limited to apples, oranges, bananas and tinned grapefruit. The food from the bar for lunch was much more enjoyable. Take time to walk the grounds and explore the old part of the house. If I were to return, I'd request a room in the house and would eat from the bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear SK5,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see that overall you had a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the grounds and facilities on offer here in Carton House.

If there is any aspect of your dinner experience that you found disappointing please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be sure to share the feedback with our Kitchen Team which will help us to make any required improvements to specific dishes.

We do provide a full whole fruit platter along with freshly chopped fruit salad on our breakfast buffet alongside Prunes, Dates, Apricots and grapefruit segments as standard however if there are any items in particular you would like to see on our buffet we would be happy to provide them on request.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the near future and please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance to you.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Arrived to stay in a deluxe room.our room had a balcony that didn't really look at anything.big bed but later found out it was two beds joined together. I kept falling into join all night.pillows very soft not in a good way. You would need three to give you the same support as one good one. Beautiful bathroom with lots of toiletries and separate wet room shower which was lovely.ate in the linden tree restaurant that night, which was average. We thought the food was going to he out of this world but was just average. I had a goats cheese starter and my husband had the pork belly starter. Both were nice but not out of this world. We both had chicken for main course. It was a chicken breast with a pork stuffing laid on top, with one baby leek and 5 tiny baby potatoes. We both had desserts, a chocolate bomb and a strawberry and black pepper cheesecake. My husband thought his dessert was nice, I could not eat mine it was awful it also had tinned strawberries on top which I thought was a bit poor for decorating the dessert.
The great thing about the meal was the cocktails were good and the service in the hotel was great.
To sum it up the hotel looks lovely but food is just average.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHDGM, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear Ineary,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that overall you had an enjoyable experience however I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your dining experience. I have passed your comments onto Cathal our Head Chef and his team who have taken them on board. I can assure you that the strawberries on your dessert were locally grown fresh strawberries but had been marinated and served with some of the tasty liquor marinade, please accept my apologies that this was not to your liking.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Carton House in the future where you are sure of a warm welcome. Please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to make a booking and I would be delighted to look after the details for you. I would also be happy to arrange through our Accommodation department for some firmer pillows to be placed in your room which you might find more comfortable.

Kind regards,

Brian Bowler
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carton House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Hotel Near M4 Motorway, Maynooth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carton House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carton House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carton House Hotel And Golf Club
Carton Hotel Maynooth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carton House Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.