We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My review is of food only please ignore stars about hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club to your Saves list
Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glenroyal Centre, Maynooth, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
1 review
“My review is of food only please ignore stars about hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently dined in the Saints bar and ordered a salad which I found a piece of plastic in. My mother also got a hair in her food. When we asked to speak to a manager, a member of staff approached us as there was no manager on duty, however we were lead to believe she was in fact the manager. Needless to say it was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had and after speaking to the only other group of people in the bar (who had also tried to report their experience to a manager) we concluded that nobody felt like eating afterwards.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Aaron,

Thank you very much for your feedback, Our Sincere apologises that your dining experience was not as it should of been, We take this complaint very seriously and we are very sorry that you found a piece of plastic in your salad, this should not of happened and we will also make sure we take new steps to make sure this not happen again, I called your mother yesterday to also apologise to her and to say sorry that she found a hair in her salad, Like I said in my e-mail to you, our chef on duty was wearing full chefs uniform and also chef hat and also a hair net, we will also be looking a further ways of making sure this not happen in future,

I know you were speaking to our senior supervisor on duty who took on board your feedback and from speaking with your mum who informed me the service and team could not of been nicer,

Once again thank you very much for your feedback as it help us improve as a hotel with our service and standards and sorry you did not have a good experience when dining with us,

As per my e-mail to you, please call me directly on my mobile or e-mail me the next time you are passing I will make sure next time your experience will be as it should be,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    60
    27
    6
    11
See reviews for
33
37
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I walked through the Glenroyal doors on a cold winters morning and was greeted by a warm waft of heat. Greatly appreciated after a five hour bus journey. The great experience continued when I was greeted with a warm friendly smile by the receptionist Their was a lovely fire affect in the lobby and beautifully decorated Christmas tree.which gave a great festive atmosphere.

I stayed in room 141. It was spacious, warm inviting and very classically decorated with warm silver and gold tones. I must also mention the underfloor heating in the adult changing rooms. A lovely touch an a cold evening. Overall from start to finish I felt very valued as a customer, all staff very polite, hotel very clean and they have an adults only pool and changing facilities and dinner and breakfast were of a great quality. I am looking forward to returning for a ladies weekend shopping and for valentines day with my partner. Keep up the great work may it be the first of many stays in your relaxing haven.

Room Tip: stay in a classical room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A pleasant hotel with good facilities. The layout is a little quirky but they are currently decorating the place to modernise. The room was wonderfully clean and spacious, but we could hear other room occupants. There is no minibar or refrigerator, which was a small downside, especially if you visit on business and want to store some food. Staff are very friendly and there always to be someone around.
Breakfast has a canteen setup which didn't feel particularly luxurious but was very functional. The cooked breakfast is very standard but the continental felt lacking.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed one of our newly decorated rooms, we are still decorating and hope to have this completed by late January 2015, we take on board you feedback with regard to our breakfast and we have made alot of positive changes in this area to improve our breakfast offering, as a result of your feedback we will be making even more improvements with our breakfast to make sure its to the highest standards,

Thank you once again,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here recent with a group...We parked around near the leisure club and ended up walking through the link from the club to reception which was very smelly so our first b impression was not good, however when we got to reception that had changed, the hotel is being refurbished at present with very little if any impact on residents...check in was quick and when we got to our room it was excellent , bed was comfy....bright and airy overall. ....at the pool it was grand..need to remind or ask residents at reception about wearing of hats in the pool and non - members should be offered a lock for their lockers. I had to go back and ask for a lock....nice warm pool no complaints.....dinner was super...food tasty and hot. Staff smiley and helpful at all times.....The one thing that let this hotel down was the breakfast...It was horrible...everything greasy and tasteless.. could not pick your own. Chef just slapped it on the plate rashers was full of fat and greasy...no flavour...mushrooms and tomatoes were full of oil and overcooked...no homemade brown bread..did not go near the sausages....hash browns were full of oil.... a little more TLC on the breakfast food, let the guests pick their food. buy in proper tasty breakfast ingredients. ..its most people's last meal in a hotel so it should be good....a good Breakfast is always worth going back for....would stay again but unless breakfast changed I would be goin to cafe across the road to find a breakfast...

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ted,

Thank you very much for feedback, and we are glad that overall you had an enjoyable stay, We apologise that you did not have an enjoyable breakfast, we take on board your feedback with regard to this and I have met with our team and while we have been improving our breakfast offering we will as a result of your feedback continune to be looking at ways to really improve in this area even further,

Once again thank you very much for your feedback as we agree with you that breakfast should always be to the highest standards which we will endevour to do,


Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Glenroyal last night hoping to get a full nights sleep and onwards but I was awoken at 6am to the sound of trucks delivering goods to the shopping centre located DIRECTLY beside the hotel. After trying my best to return to sleep at 7am when the trucks disappeared I was then awoken at 9am to the noise of 2 painters chatting very loudly outside my door. I then noticed I could hear the doors of all the hotel rooms on my floor being opened and closed as people were getting up which suggests poor insulation. The room was nicely presented but was indeed cold with no real extra blanket solution found in the wardrobes of many other hotels. Aside from these gripes the hotel looks well, is nicely presented and the staff are chirpy and very helpful. Such a shame its not possible to rest there.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank yo very much for your feedback and we are sorry you did not get a good nights sleep, We will look at ways of improving in this area, thank you for your kind feedback about the team been very helpful and chirpy,

We do hope you will visit us again in the near future,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel because we were attending a wedding in the area. The room we were allocated was a very long and dreary walk from reception. The room itself was outdated and absolutely freezing, We were told that the heating only came on at certain times in the day! We decided to leave and booked into a nearby hotel. To give hotel management some credit they did refund us in total without any hassle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Trisha,


Thank you very much for your feedback, We are sorry you did not like our hotel and we are glad to say we now have all our rooms fully refurbished and we hope to have all our bedroom corridors fully refurbished by Jan 2015,
We do hope you visit us again and stay in one of new rooms,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Glenroyal on many occasions. The hotel is currently getting an upgrade, Rooms are spacious and clean. Food in the Bar is tasty. Breakfast is sadly disappointing - lacking variety and taste. No real welcome at check in. And sadly with the upgrade comes higher prices.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenroyalHotel, General Manager at Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear James,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay and we take on board your feedback with regard to our breakfast and we are currently working on improving in this area,

Thank you,

Kind Regards

Ted Robinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club

Address: Glenroyal Centre, Maynooth, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenroyal Hotel And Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.