We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather shabby at the edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation to your Saves list
Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation
Maynooth, Maynooth, Ireland (Formerly Stoyte House, Maynooth Campus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Maynooth B&B and Inns
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Rather shabby at the edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the north campus for a conference. It was good to have access to a kitchen to brew up and make breakfast but the fridge, microwave etc were very worn and looked grubby. One of the kitchen blinds broke (it was mended next day) and they were all shabby. I paid over £30 per night without breakfast.
My room was ok: the bed was firm and comfortable but a bedside table (as pictured on the website) would have been useful. The ensuite shower room was good: the water drained away quickly which often doesn't happen with tiny bathrooms.
There is no wireless signal.
If you fancy re-living your student days, this is fine. Overall, it is no more than adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth C, Sales & Marketing Manager at Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. During the summer months we are fortunate to have the apartments available to us which are indeed used for student purposes during the academic year which was where you had stayed. I am glad you found the the bed comfortable and that the shower worked well. We do indeed have internet connection, some buildings have wireless and others require a cable. I am sorry if you were unaware of the arrangements. The north campus apartments are student apartments however on the south campus we have varying grades of accommodation to suit most budgets and tastes from our College room to our Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed here on and off for the last 4 years. During that time I have found the service to be consistently good. For what you pay you get an excellent service. The rooms are clean, spacious and airy. The accomodation is set in the grounds of St. Patricks college and is a fabulous site, especially at night. I would recommend anyone to stay here who is looking for a very reasonably priced place to stay with good transport links into Dublin and further afield.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 312, the window does not shut tight and can be drafty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth C, Manager at Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your continued loyalty to us. We appreciate our regular guests and their business. We do think we offer value for money and try to improve on this all the time.
Thank you for letting us know of the window draught in P312. I have made our maintenance department aware of this and have asked for it to be addressed. I hope this will not be a concern again for yourself or indeed any of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This accommodation actually forms a wing of the Catholic Priests Seminary - a beautiful old neo-gothic building which now forms the centrepiece of Maynooth University. Our room was simple, but clean and comfortable with twin beds and a sink and a view over the gardens with the lovely church building beyond. The shared bathrooms were just down the corridor. They were clean and nicely presented - with the same kind of individual shower cubicle arrangement that you get in swimming pools where you have to push the button for a limited amount of hot water. Unfortunately, on the day we stayed, none of the showers had any water at all! We never discovered if this was because the building seemed to be empty apart from us (it was the Easter Holidays and the university was deserted) and the water had been turned off - or whether there was some other problem. A code was necessary for the wifi and was issued for the day of arrival. It was necessary to have a different code for each user. Neither code worked the following morning - so perhaps its necessary to ask for a 2 day code. Breakfast was a bit canteen-like and institutional - as one would expect as this is not a hotel - however it was located in the huge dining hall designed by Pugin. On the day we stayed there was continental breakfast only - but I suspect that a full cooked breakfast is probably available when the university is actually open. This is a good option for visiting Maynooth or the university. Maynooth is very small - so there isn't actually a lot of choice. However this is patently not a hotel. Interesting place though.

Room Tip: Some more luxurious rooms are available at higher prices. Might be worth the extra in this lovely hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth C, Manager at Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We agree our setting is indeed beautiful and guests can stay in a very unique location. Our college rooms are comfortable and thank you for your compliments on the accommodation and bathrooms. I have followed up with various departments regarding your issues that you have kindly made us aware of. I am sorry to hear that there was a water issue. Our housekeeping staff do check there is hot water every morning so on that particular morning noticing that there was no water for some strange reason they requested for our maintenance staff to attend to it straight away. Our water is never turned off whatever our occupancy. Sorry to hear you did not come across other guests as there were others there at that time. I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and your guest and thank you for your patience with the matter. In regards to the issue of wifi for security purposes we issue a code on a weekly basis and it is changed regularly perhaps this was the reason as to why it did not work. Should we have been made aware of this issue it would have been attended to promptly. We are fortunate to be able to offer our guests all year round a substantial continental breakfast only each morning between 8am and 11am. Our reception is open till 23:00 and are here to help with any visitor questions on attractions or otherwise. Thank you for despite your inconveniences your kind comments and for letting us know of your problems. We do our best to try and make ours guests stay with us as comfortable as possible and hope we may be able to welcome you again to be able to reassure you of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've stayed here several times over the past few years when visiting Ireland. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are friendly, and the campus is beautiful. The bed in particular was very comfortable. For the price, you're probably not going to find a better place to stay.

The location is excellent. Maynooth is close to Dublin, the airport, and a mall, but retains the pleasant atmosphere of a small town. From the Conference Center, you can easily walk to a number of pubs and restaurants within the town. I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth C, Manager at Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a comment. It is nice to hear that you have stayed several times and have had enjoyable stays with us. Maynooth indeed is a lovely town, a real hidden gem. We hope we may welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Maynooth has a fantastic location just outside of Dublin. It's an easy drive from Maynooth to basically any other point on the island. The rooms we had were clean and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Maynooth itself is also a charming town, well worth a trip. I highly recommend the Conference Center for your next trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth C, Sales & Marketing Manager at Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for the review. It is very helpful to hear our customer comments and we appreciate your time in doing so. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again on the campus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghera, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Maynooth is a small College/University town set about 40 minutes West of Dublin CC. Maynooth offers great food bars and a friendly atmosphere. If you are coming to Maynooth I would really recommend staying on the NUIM South Campus St Patricks College buildings. I usually pick a good sized college room as I like the price and I am usually out and about during the day.
Check in is done at the front recpetion counter which you then need to walk on campus to get to your room. Lifts are provided and lots of car parking available.
Rooms are spacious, clean and welcoming. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ring for availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

First, I'm from the town, but I havent lived there for many years. Myself and my partner stayed there for one night. We had a great double room overlooking the interior gardens of the old campus. Very high ceilings, lovely old style windows, thick walls, large double bed, good tv, warm room, complimentary tea/coffee, shower/toilet (on the small side but no problem). Stayed in Crotty Room, 3rd floor, almost in a turret style. A quiet place to relax and see the beautiful campus and surrounding area, under 5 minutes walk to the town/bars/shops/restaurants etc...There is an elevator too, handy for the bags. Other than that, downstairs you have wonderful hallways, with wooden beamed ceilings, paintings and graduate profiles. Also the beautiful Gunn Chapel can be accessed downstairs. We didn't have breakfast there, not sure if it is offered, but there are small cafes just outside the college gates, a few minutes walk away. We preferred to stay here, because of the great room, good location and it was something different, historical and not the usual hotel affair. The cost was also under 100 euro a night for the room. Good value. All in all, perfect!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation

Address: Maynooth, Maynooth, Ireland (Formerly Stoyte House, Maynooth Campus)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Maynooth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maynooth Campus Conference & Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.