We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views while you eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Linden Tree Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Linden Tree Restaurant
at Carton House, Maynooth, Ireland
+35315052000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 28 Restaurants in Maynooth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $64 - $92
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Castlebar
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful views while you eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I loved the big glass windows extending down to ground level so that you had fantastic views while you dined either in daylight or late in the evening.The food was very good although service was a bit slow on the previous evening.Food presentati0n was excellent and staff very professional.There was a great variety of food for breakfast and wasl very well presented.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Food & Beverage Manager at Linden Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Cara,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Linden Tree Restaurant here in Carton House.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and I will pass on your feedback to the team here. I am sorry that you found the service to be a little slow on the second evening but I do hope the quality of the food when it arrived to the table was of a high stanard.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Joy
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunboyne, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Book a table in the large windows on a summers evening, and enjoy the show from the chefs changing menus. Arrive hungry and throw away any plans to rush off anywhere. This is food to enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Food & Beverage Manager at Linden Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Mebo40,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Linden Tree Restaurant here in Carton House.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and I will pass on your feedback to the team here.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Joy
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clane, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dinner as part of packeage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

stayed as part of package. food average only for the price, with strange combinations of food, chocolate icecream with pear and almond tart? (which was alittle over done). My sea bass fillet was teeny and I had the ends of 2 carrots as decoration with squash smeared across the plate.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Food & Beverage Manager at Linden Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Ellen200111,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Linden Tree Restaurant here in Carton House.

It is disappointing that you didn't enjoy the experience and that you felt some of the food combinations didn't marry well together. We challenge our culinary team to come up with dishes where all of the produce used are in season, also we try to be inventive in the execution of the dish. It is a pity that you didn't enjoy it on this occasion.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and if I can ever be of any assistance to you please feel free to contact me.

Kind regards,

Paul Joy
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Christmas Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I and my family dined at the Linden Tree Restaurant on Christmas Day this year. We've found in the past that Christmas Day Lunch can be very hit and miss with some excellent experiences and some really awful trials! Firstly, on arrival we were greeted in the hotel lobby with a glass of bubbly or a juice. The fire was lighting, and the decor was beautiful; all purples and silvers with a huge Christmas tree in the corner. When we made our way to the restaurant we found a very appealing table setting with lime green table runner and plenty of gold Christmas crackers. We were provided with a good selection of tasty bread; walnut, tomato, rustic brown and sourdough. The selection of starters was good with the salmon selection being the clear winner. Other options included a celeriac soup, and smoked duck salad. I would have preferred to have the soup as the second course rather than as one of the starters given the day that was in it, but that's only a small issue. For the main course the choice included traditional turkey and ham and a pheasant dish among others. Those in the party who ordered the turkey & ham were very pleased with the flavourful dish, commenting that the turkey was moist and the stuffing really tasty. I and others had the pheasant which was very tasty if a little overdone. The Pheasant was accompanied by a sweet potato mash and a vey small number of vegetables. The whole meal would have been enhanced by a few dishes of additional vegetables & potatoes on the table. Dessert of the famous Carton House Christmas Pudding was very good although the portions were far too large!
The service was attentive and despite the restaurant being packed to the rafters, the food served was of a high standard. I will definitely return next Christmas, but I would suggest the Linden Tree adds a soup/sorbet course, and provides additional side dishes for the table. Overall I'd recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Food & Beverage Manager at Linden Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear TMKc,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Linden Tree Restaurant here in Carton House.

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed the Christmas Day experience in Carton. I will most certainly pass on your feedback to the team here. We are currently reviewing our offering for 2013 following our feedback from Christmas and we will take your feedback into account regarding adding another course for soup/sorbet.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back next Christmas or maybe even during the year! If you ever need assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch with me.

Kind regards,

Paul Joy
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Superb Food. Very good service.Dinner was especially good, I enjoyed a perfectly cooked steak, delicious.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Food & Beverage Manager at Linden Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Eamon C,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Linden Tree Restaurant here in Carton House.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us and I will pass on your feedback to the team here.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Joy
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Linden Tree Restaurant also viewed

Maynooth, County Kildare
Maynooth, County Kildare
 
Maynooth, County Kildare
Maynooth, County Kildare
 

Been to Linden Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden Tree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.