We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Letterfrack Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Letterfrack Lodge to your Saves list
Letterfrack Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Letterfrack | Connemara, Co Galway, Letterfrack, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice but cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

A very nice place to stay since it is a perfect starting point for Connemara exploring. The building seems a wood-made mountaing hut, the staff was kind and both the common areas and the rooms are clean. Nearly all was perfect, but it was very cold in the room I stayed: 15 degrees...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
25
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Didn't recognise the place, Wasn't informed that it was currently a building site. nobody to greet us on arrival. A note to ring a number and was told out room and key was in door. room half clean. Cobwebs ect. Clean but not fresh bedding, smelt like it had been there a few week. At night nobody on site. Didn't feel at all safe with a large group on people drinking and being loud in the front sitting area. Only saw one person as we left.. to take our money of course. Terrible, wouldn't go back at all

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letterfracklodge1, Front Office Manager at Letterfrack Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Sir
It was disappointing to hear you had such a terrible stay at our hostel. We welcome all comments good and bad but I think it is only fair to let our future guests know the real truth of some of the harsh comments you made, firstly we are building a restaurant at the hostel and doing some renovations that are nearly completed so there is extra building material and machinery around, however it is not obstructing anyone or unsafe. It is not a building site. We trying to offer our guests a better service. Our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, fresh linen etc. Why did you not bring any problem with the room to our attention ? The noise you heard in the front room did not continue after 10.30 as I was informed by one the guests the music was off by 10.30. You room was located down at the end of the corridor so its very surprizing you could hear that far. You mentioned that there was no one around, the bell and the phone at reception are there for guests to contact someone if you need anything. There is not always someone standing at reception, we are only a small hostel.
If you were nervous and felt unsafe there was a number to call and also all doors were locked. We have never had a problem with security.
Finally you failed to mention that on departure you were offered breakfast and you just left without saying anything even though you had such a terrible stay. Most people with a problem with their stay will speak up on departure.
The above reviewer booked accommodation at the hostel the previous week and failed to cancel it so
we did not sell the room that night, even though we could have charged him we didn't. He made a mistake with his reservation and said he should have been for the night he did stay with us unfortunately he forgot to mention this in his review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed a few nights - €25 each per night for our own room with en-suite :) Hot water on demand, towels and bedclothes supplied. No heater in the bathroom so it was a bit chilly. Breakfast was v basic but fine for the price (Cornflakes, white toast and coffee style)! We cooked a lot in the kitchen which was fine as it was off peak but I'd imagine it wouldn't be so clean at busy times - nobody seemed to take responsibility for turning on the dishwasher and there were no rules re labelling things left in the fridge so things festered there for long periods. Only one oven worked - four hobs. If I was staying in Connemara again I'd stay in Clifton and drive to more beautiful places like Letterfrack by day - not much (to put it mildly) choice of things to do after dark and a taxi to Clifton cost €18 each way. We found Clifton more fun at night with a beautiful seafood restaurant - Mitchell's I think it was called. There was a lot of building work going on while we were staying in the hostel - quite noisy - and there tended to be loud disco- type music blaring from the reception till 10 at night. I also wasn't fond of the huge TV and loud music being on in the breakfast room while you drank your coffee but that's just me not being a morning
person ;) Overall I'd recommend this place if you want value, basic, clean accommodation in the beautiful back of beyond!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as it was in good proximity to Kylemore Abbey and arriving at dusk there was no one to greet us except a permanent resident, who was not staff and although he did his best to sort out our booking the owner was called but didn't arrive for an hour and when he finally did he was slow to approach us, he turned out to be a very nice chap. Our rooms were a mix up initially but once sorted they were okay, not great but warm and fairly clean,ensuite was very basic with no where to put anything.
Breakfast was good and the owner although looking worse for wear was prepared for us at 8.30 am and had put out a good spread of cereal, bread selection, cheese and juices. We felt welcome and we left happy enough.
It is a good place for young people.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My boyfriend and i visited Letterfrack in August 2013 on our roadtrip in Ireland.
We were considering about staying in either Clifden or Letterfrack and decided to go for Letterfrack, and we realised to our joy that it was so, so much better. The real, beautiful Connemara actually only starts from Letterfrack (we drove the Sky Road and it was nice with the view to the sea, but in my opinion the big green hills and little roads after Letterfrack were much more stunning) and the area seems to have much more to offer. The owner of the hostel was extremely nice and helpful and pointed us to the best places to see in Connemara, which we would not have discovered without his advice. We climbed for example on top of Diamond Hill, which was one of the highlights of our trip.

Having said that, Letterfrack Lodge itself was a bit of a disappointment. Were stayed in some sort of annex behind the hostel building itself and it was slightly damp, cold and very modest. Considering that we were only driving through and stayed just one night (unfortunately we didn't have enough holidays to stay longer, but if you can, absolutely do stay longer in Letterfrack), with the cheap price and some backpacker spirit this was ok. But if we would have stayed longer, I think I would have been ready to pay some more for a bit more comfortable place and a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I don't even know how to begin my review of this hostel. I had the most amazing time during my short stay in Letterfrack. The hospitality demonstrated by Mike and the Letterfrack locals was incredible. I felt welcome from the moment I stepped inside. I was upgraded from a dorm to a private room, given advice on the region, served a home cooked meal, dropped off and picked up by Mike on a coastal walk he personally recommended. The breakfast and self catering kitchen are fantastic and common area is spacioius and cozy! The Lodge is steps away from the National Park as well!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time in the lodge! Our room was nice and clean, the kitchen was clean aswell and always available, the breakfast was excellent! The staff there is very friendly, especially Mike the owner of the lodge.
The price was also totally ok.
Letterfrack is just a very small village but it's so beautiful!
There are 3 nice typical irish pubs and one of them is also a very good restaurant. There is also a shop and I guess it's just a 2 minutes walk from the lodge to the connemara national park. The Kylemore Abbey is also not far away!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Letterfrack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letterfrack Lodge

Address: Letterfrack | Connemara, Co Galway, Letterfrack, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Letterfrack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Letterfrack Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Letterfrack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Letterfrack Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.