We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosleague Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rosleague Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague, Letterfrack, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Letterfrack
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ranger54
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2008

My wife and I got married on March 4th at Rosleague Manor. It was an absolute DREAM wedding. We had the entire hotel to ourselves and about 25 family and freinds. Mark Foyle and his staff were absolutely amazing. From the two five course gourmet meals cooked by French house chef Pascal, to the infinite wedding and stay details handled by Mark, Loretta, and Amy, the stay was an absolute dream. The rooms are all absolutely amazing top to bottom, the decor makes one feel as if at home. The view of the mountains and the Bay make for an absolutely delightful experience. It actually snowed on our wedding day. . .not too much, just enough to make it picture perfect. I can't say enough, my wife and I were treated to an absolutely wonderful two days at Rosleague and now have a lifetime to go back and see our freinds. Six stars for Rosleague Manor, we miss it already.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    41
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
54
108
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

We enjoyed our 3 night break at this charming "olde world" hotel. Our large spacious bedroom was a delight with a very comfortable bed and panoramic views across the bay. The ensuite bathroom included a large stand alone bath with an antique yet powerful shower. The hotel is full of antiques and old oil paintings. They adopt a strange policy of providing no keys to lock the rooms even though each bedroom door has a lock. The food was good although a little limited in choice. The one downside was the apparent unfriendly nature of the staff. Given the small size of the hotel we were surprised that no member of the management team made themselves known to either welcome us or ask how we were enjoying our stay and/or meals.

  • Liked — The spacious bedroom with fantastic views
  • Disliked — The senior staff were unattentive
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for one night.
This hotel is quite unique. The experience is more like a stay at an Edwardian house party than a night in an hotel. All the rooms are different - we were offered a choice! The view across the gardens and river were delightful. Miss Marple would have felt at home!
Thats not to say that the service and quality was outmoded. This is one of very few hotels that I have stayed in that provided free internet access. The staff were very very friendly, and the food very good indeed.
This place is worth travelling across Ireland to visit.

  • Liked — The very high level of service and the ambiance
  • Disliked — No locks on the doors!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

Letterfrack is about as remote a spot as you can get in Ireland. Therefore it is strange to find a hotel as good as Rosleague Manor in this part of the country. All of the rooms are spacious with antique furniture and comfortable beds. The ensuite bathrooms are clean and equally sizeable. The lounge areas are comfortable witout being plush. The food is of high quality with very tasty natural and local produce. The only real drawback is that there are no inhouse leisure facilities. However, when you have scenery lie this outside your front door why would you stay indoors. The only slight fault is that the staff are efficient without being friendly (don't get on the wrong side of the head waitress), which is strange in what is about the most friendly part of Ireland.

  • Liked — Luxury in a remote location
  • Disliked — Bossy waitress
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring a car
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2006

My husband and I had a marvellous three day break in this wonderful, relaxing and relaxed country house. The food was superb, well served and presented in a striking dining room. I would highly recommend this hotel for those seeking a relaxing break away from it all . The view from the hotel is stunning - a beautiful harbour surrounded by misty hills. Reading in front of a turf/peat fire, sipping a glass of Guiness after bracing walks on deserted sandy beaches was bliss. If you want to relax in a country house situated on the wild and rugged Connemara shore, this is the place to go.

  • Liked — relaxed elegance
  • Disliked — shower not great
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

A very pleasant hotel, but failed for us in two key areas. First, there are no keys to the bedroom doors. Whether this is some sort of bizarre policy the hotel has, or simply that they've lost them all, it's just not acceptable, whatever the reason. We ended up locking most of our valuable possessions in the car each night. Second, there is no excuse in this day and age for a hotel to have sagging, soft bouncy beds. Our ancient mattress creaked, and every time I turned over in bed it woke my partner. After three days, I had backache and she was suffering from sleep deprivation. Food was good, service was good and the grounds and general location were excellent.
If they find the keys and replace the mattresses, we'll be back in a trice - but not until then.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLetterfrack, Mark Foyle - Owner/Manager at Rosleague Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2007
I appreciate the feedback contained in this review and acknowledge that at the time of writing, the issues raised were valid.

The policy of not using room keys goes back to my grandmothers time and was maintained to keep a relaxed Country House atmosphere.
The majority of our guests have seen this as a positive experience, reflecting the type of accomodation and also the locationof the House.

We now have keys available for all rooms, for those who wish to avail of them.
There are also dead-bolts on the inside of bedroom doors to guarantee privacy.

Since I took over the management of the House 7 years ago we have replaced all of the beds in the House, most in the last 3 years.

Mark Foyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsica, france
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2005

our best hotel in our Ireland trip : excellent service, food, location, very quiet and relaxing.
Nice view, garden and furnitures.
We hope to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosleague Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosleague Manor Hotel

Address: Rosleague, Letterfrack, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Letterfrack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Letterfrack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rosleague Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosleague Manor Letterfrack
Hotel Rosleague Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosleague Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.