We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shearwater Hotel

Shearwater Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shearwater Hotel to your Saves list
Shearwater Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel was really good with outstanding helpful and friendly staff. Didn't have time to try the spa but if it was as good as the rest of the hotel it would br great. The food in the bar was amazing the risotto was very moreish. Would definatley recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    147
    65
    38
    29
See reviews for
125
143
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed her once for 3 nights for a family wedding and the hotel was great ! The room was really big and the beds were excellent. The bathroom was amazing and has a very nice shower ! Will b coming back next year with the girlfriend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We Stayed here in August for 2 nights. We thought the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, very comfortable and spotless. However we were quoted a different rate over the telephone (twice the price we paid) as to the internet price. We were booking last minute due to circumstances beyond our control.
Would not hesistate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscommon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a family wedding with my husband and baby. First impressions on check in not very good. The receptionist looked under pressure, didn't smile, nor did she welcome us to the hotel or tell us to enjoy our stay. Staff in the function room were the same. Unfortunately none of the staff looked like they enjoyed their jobs. It's such a pity as it is such a lovely hotel. Our babysitter Celia was lovely though!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athgarvan Kildare
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went for a last minute overnight stay with 2 children. Receptionists were lovely and so were the staff in the Leisure Centre but we found that the staff in the Canal Bar and in the restaurant the next morning, quite abrupt. The Buffet breakfast was not great, by 10.00am the beans and Pudding were gone and when i asked for a fried egg, it was as if i was looking for them to donate me a kidney!! Great range of Food on the Bar menu, and food served up to 10.00. Was a bit disappointed that a team from Kilmacud Crokes were put on the same corridor as family rooms as the noise they made ( complete with Full blown Argument up against our door) had us and several other families awake from 4am.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin D, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Andrea O,

Thank you for your recent review posted following your stay here in the Carlton Shearwater.
Sorry for the let down in service concerning breakfast where I have dealt with relevent staff where we were very busy that morning.
Really glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities along with our newly launched bar food menu which is proving very popular with guests and locals alike.

Hope you return again with your family in the not to distant future,

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonakilty, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Friendly front desk receptionist, pool was great for kids, dinner in bar was very tasty and great value. The town of Ballinasloe was not the most exciting place on a wet Sunday evening and that would be the only negative we have.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Carlton last week for 2 nights with our two girls aged 6 and 3. From arriving the receptionist was very friendly and efficient. We paid extra for a second room which was fantastic as the girls had their own tv etc and it was all very safe. Carvery lunch was excellent and while the breakfast was plentiful it wasn't the nicest i've had. We had an evening meal included in the package and once again the staff were exellent and so was the food. The portions were on the big side and everything was lovely. The kids camp was great and provided a really good break from the kids. Leisure facilities were also very good. All in all a lovely break and great value for money. Will definately revisit .

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for additional room, we were on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shearwater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shearwater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.