We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballinderry Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballinasloe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballinderry Park
Kilconnell, Ballinasloe, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballinasloe B&B and Inns
University Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best of Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Peaceful, striking and authentic, Ballinderry Park offers guests a warm and private respite, surrounded by soft rolling fields and picturesque mature trees. A restored Georgian country house from the 18th century, Ballinderry Park has been attentively and honestly restored by its owners, George and Susie Gossip. When you walk in to the main entry hall, you are struck by the tasteful and beautiful choices of decoration and restoration. Throughout the home, perfectly hued walls are adorned with a lovely combination of antique prints, porcelain and mounted treasures from the hunt. The bedrooms combine quiet beauty, history and comfort.

Ever the hospitable host, George Gossip is exceptionally accommodating. When booking, George offered review my general itinerary for the entire trip. He vetted my proposed schedule thoroughly, offering fantastic alternatives and suggestions and saving me from a potentially overzealous touring schedule. When my parents wished to attend services at a local church, George drove down to the local parish to check the times, to see if they were better than those of the neighboring parish. He is always willing to go above and beyond. My entire family thoroughly enjoyed George's company.

The breakfasts are delicious and hearty. Anyone considering staying here simply must plan to enjoy at least one meal, expertly prepared by George Gossip. We enjoyed two fantastic dinners, served in the beautiful Prussian blue dining room. George is both a superb chef and host, and you will enjoy your dining experience immensely.

Ballinderry Park is a truly special place, enveloping guests in the secluded peaceful countryside while offering some of the best food in all of Ireland. I highly recommend Ballinderry Park and encourage others to go to their web site (www.ballinderrypark.com).

Room Tip: The Grey and Yellow Rooms are both gorgeous. If choosing between the two, the yellow room has a slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

George was extremely helpful in setting up the booking. I arrived late by car from the UK because the flights were cancelled and he stayed up until after midnight in case I couldn't find the house in the dark. He couldn't have been more welcoming - a fire blazing in the drawing room and fine red wine on arrival.

The house was great, the location peaceful and we had a smashing time.

The food was magnificent. Don't go here if you are worried about your weight! Fresh local produce superbly put together by George into a multi course dinner. Amazing breakfast sets you up for the day until dinner. George was flexible on the timing of breakfast - i hate having to get up early or miss it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

this place is a hidden gem. Impeccably decorated, oozing with charm, delicious cuisine, friendly dogs, fantastic hosts and a beautiful property. if you would rather feel like you're staying at a irish nobleman's countryhouse instead of a hotel, then you should definitely stay here. definitely have dinner there!

make sure to rent a car since you'll want to explore the area independently.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

For those hoping for an truly special and authentic Irish experience, we can thoroughly recommend Balllindery Park.

One of the most cherished memories of our recent trip to Ireland was the opportunity to spend three nights with George and Susie Gossip in what has become a long term labor of love, the restoration of this country house/guest house in County Galway. Over the years, many crafts persons have assisted them in restoring what is one of the important remaining buildings from the first half of the18th century. Not an impersonal place, each room is decorated with paintings and artifacts from their own families.

We were warmly welcomed and shown to the Yellow Room. The room was beautifully appointed and spacious. The expansive rural view, interrupted only by sheep and a few beautiful old trees, was delightful and relaxing."

We soon found the location perfect for exploring just some of the many local places of interest: Clonmacnoise, the gardens in Birr, the wonderful cathedral of Clonfert, even a trip south to Lough Derg and a visit with friends.

Each morning we woke to delicious breakfasts served with the best brown bread and scones of our trip. In the evenings, we were served dinners that were as exceptional as one might expect from a chef who loves good food and wine and is invited to offer courses at the much acclaimed Ballymaloe Cooking school. Using the freshest of ingredients, our meals were always memorable and served in one of the most beautiful of dining rooms. Afterward, it was a joy to sit before a fire in the sitting room and share stories.

We highly recommend Ballinderry Park and encourage others to go to their web site (www.ballinderrypark.com) for more information about this very special Irish experience.

Penny and Cathy

  • Liked — Superb dining experience and warm fire
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

After an extremely busy working period a calm and stylish retreat was desperately needed to rest and enjoy some of the fine country side of Ireland. Our beloved dog had to be at our side for this wish to be fulfilled, but pet-friendly places are hard to find in Ireland. Yet sometimes you get it all...

Ballinderry Park is probably one of the most exquisite destinations to be found in East Galway. Over several years, the Georgian house has been meticulously restored to it's historic specifications, without suggesting that all is old; after all the house used to be in ruins before the present owner discovered it! The entire place now makes for a cosy ambiance and oozes a traditional and tasteful, yet modern atmosphere. The old and antique furniture is present everywhere and put to everyday use, giving the guest a sense of belonging instead of walking in a museum.

The large guest rooms have beautiful, uninterrupted country side views and are equipped with large double beds, by far exceeding the size and comfort of many of the hundreds of four-star hotel beds I have seen in my life. Not to mention the classic bedlinen, matching the style and comfort of the house. The bathrooms are spacious and equipped with everything you need and all is kept clean and tidy.

Good food is quite clearly one of the most important aspects of everyday life for the owners and a happily shared joy. Breakfast is classical and deliciously prepared with mostly organic and local ingredients, wherever possible. At an extra cost the owner may offer the possibility to enjoy a diner, if time permits him to put his enviable talents to your service. There is no menu, but fear not: only the best ingredients and many years of cookery experience will enlighten your senses and bring the day to the best possible end in a quiet and personal atmosphere.

East Galway is full of ancient Celtic and Irish history. Historic places and famously scenic landscapes are right in front of the door... and beyond. Don't miss Ballinderry Park. You will cherish the memory for many years to come!

  • Liked — Time, good taste and effort put into restoration of a magnificent historic house, as well as wonderful food.
  • Disliked — Too many sheep on the doorstep for the dog to be let off the lead.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

When planning my husband's 40th birthday party, I wanted to find a beautiful home in Ireland where we could enjoy the company of our friends, eat wonderful meals, and visit the local Irish countryside. Ballinderry Park more than fit the bill: The house has been lovingly restored; each of the four bedrooms is quietly elegant with VERY comfortable beds. We spent hours in the drawing room, relaxing with a pot of tea (the staff is incredibly attentive and kind) and scones or biscuits that George Gossip, the owner, had thoughtfully prepared. Breakfast every morning is a superb affair: fresh squeezed orange juice, the best granola muesli mix any of us had ever tasted, warm scones with jam that George had made, and fresh fruit. We were also offered the choice of a hot breakfast -- creamy scrambled eggs with brown soda bread.

George and his wife Susie are warm, wonderful and very gracious hosts. George helped me plan our visit, providing personal recommendations for each couple (we were accompanied by four friends) on where to go for day trips and places to eat. George is also an accomplished cook; on the nights we elected to stay in for dinner, he prepared scrumptious meals for us, always with a lovely wine pairing. For my husband's birthday party at the house, he prepared a spectacular meal and helped arrange a musical performance after the dinner.

I can't recommend Ballinderry Park enough -- we are looking forward to returning.

  • Liked — Very comfortable rooms and informed, very attentive and friendly staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballinderry Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinderry Park

Address: Kilconnell, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballinasloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballinderry Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ballinderry Park to your Saves list