We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot,food just okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old School House Bar and Restaurant

The Old School House Bar and Restaurant
Church Road, Swords, Ireland
+353 1 840 2846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Swords
Price range: $9 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spot,food just okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I ate here recently. Its a fabulous venue,staff are efficient, friendly and attentive however I was disappointed to order cod and chips and get the usual 'fake' cod that is being served everywhere. It annoys me so much that catering establishments continue to substitute cod with cheaper white fish. People are not fools and won't return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    50
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend visited here after spending a week holidaying in the UK, it was the best meal we've had in a long time. The gluten-free menu was extensive and we each enjoyed good-sized courses and more than reasonable value. Service was friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend this to anyone and we will be returning the next time we're in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time there and I loved it. Nice food, elegantly presented, generous portions, professional staff, cosy restaurant and live music downstairs for after. A must go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Great .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Depsite having eaten in the bar of the Old Schoolhouse regularly I had not been to the restaurant since it reopened some months ago and probably won't return. The restaurant is suffering as a comparison to the great food and fantastic service available in the bar area. We went as a party of seven to mark my Mam's birthday on a wet Wednesday evening and availed of the Early Bird (available all evening Tuesday & Wednesday) - 3 courses for €20 which seems like incredible value but the standard of food served was not great. Four of us went with the deep fried brie and two went with the Toulouse Sausage starter (one of the party opted out of the Early Bird menu and went off menu for steak main course only). The starters were fine but that's about all you could say. For main courses Lamb Shank was the choice for the two men and it was poor example of a lamb shank, two of us went for the fish and chips which was served tempura style and was very nice the remaining two of the party opted for the fresh sole and both agreed it was tasty. The steak main course came served with just the steak and chips ...... no vegetables, no mushrooms ..... nothing else and at the price not great value. When it came to deserts we all opted for the panna cotta with one exception, who not being a creamy desert fan, went for the strange option of marble cake and ice cream. While the panna cotta was fine the marble cake was like a rock and when we alerted the waitress to this she merely explained that the chef had probably popped it into the microwave and now it was gone hard. No apology, another desert was offered but when we explained that none of the other options were appealing that was the end of that. We were strangely all offered a post dinner drink on the house not sure if this is normal practice or if this was to go some way to making up for the dodgy desert and if it was surely the offer of a desert off the a la carte menu would be have been more appropriate. The main courses work well but more variety and a little more imagination on starters and deserts is badly needed. While the company was very enjoyable there was something about the experience which felt very second rate and highly unusual I would imagine to say that the bar food and service in the bar in the same venue FAR exceeds the restaurant experience. Something is badly needed here but for us it will the bar food all the way from here on!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob k, Manager at The Old School House Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Jchalmers

Very Sorry to hear you had mixed feelings on your experience in our restaurant. Hope you can give us another try in the future or if you would like to discuss your experience with me, I would be delighted to take your call.

Kind regards

Rob

Restaurant Manager
01 8404160 Ext 2
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I called in on a Sunday evening for dinner. Plenty on the menu to choose from and a decent wine selection. Starters of tempura prawns and Brie huge, maybe too big, (not a bad complaint!) and the steaks cook to perfection. Well satisfied with food and service and finished the night with a pint in the bar listening to the live music. Good food, good craic, good night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old School House Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Swords, County Dublin
 

Been to The Old School House Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old School House Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.