We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food/Booze/People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kealys of Cloghran

Kealys of Cloghran
Old Airport Road | Cloghran, Swords, Ireland
01 8401372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Swords
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, Family Fare, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great place to relax on your lunch break or for a nice evening out with friends or family. Right beside Dublin airport.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food/Booze/People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed at the Radisson Blu for work and while the hotel bar/restaraunt was decent, it was extremely easy to walk to Kealy's for dinner and a pint. They have a great selection of beer and whiskey with a good mix of traditional and non-traditional irish food. Key points are as follows.
1. Beamish on draft.
2. Steak Sandwich/Fish 'n chips are great.
3. Staff is super helpful and friendly.
4. They seemed to always be somewhat busy, but never packed.

So I'm sitting at the bar at Kealy's and this girl walks in and starts talking to the young lady tending bar. One girl mentions to the other something they were wearing looks "massive". I didn't want to be rude but I couldn't un-hear the comment and needed clarification, I interrupted them and said "what did you just say to her?", after she repeated herself they could tell I was a little confused and put-off by the comment. They went on to explain that "massive" is used as a compliment in that context. Needless to say, MY MIND = BLOWN.
Now I'm back in the states and eager to show how worldly I am, so whenever I meet a female, I'm sure to casually work my newly learned compliment into conversation. I.E. "that dress makes you look simply massive". My results have been less than positive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Perhaps I went on a "off" day, I ordered the garlic bread, which was fine, and the madras which was awful, it wasn't anything even close to a madras, it tasted like powered curry sauce. On the whole the portions were big, again this would be good if the food was in anyway nice! My family ordered turkey and ham and veg, they liked it but I thought it was all below average, over cooked and way too much salt and butter.
I would not return even though it's only ten minutes from where I live, which is a shame because the location is very handy and it has lots of parking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison K, Manager at Kealys of Cloghran, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit to Kealy's, and in particular that our food was not to your liking. We have taken your feedback on board and will address your issues raised. I do hope that maybe you will visit us again and have a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super Super Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I was in here today with my family. We had a party of ten. The staff are excellent. A girl called Ann served us and she is brilliant. I had the three course special which is €21.95. The food is really good and they are very generous with the portions. I had the chicken wings for starters (Which are amazing by the way with Blue Cheese) and a Sirloin steak with Chips and pepper sauce. For dessert I had Meringue with fruit and cream which is my favourite! Overall I was really pleased with the excellent service and will definitely be going back. Now I know why my family go here on a regular basis!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison K, Manager at Kealys of Cloghran, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to looking after you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place for families with super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Thank you so so much to Elaine who was super helpful, understanding and so pleasant to deal with and the chef at Kealys for looking after my family and myself so well today. You guys helped me out with great tasting food on my restrictive diet. Would 100% recommend to all we will all be back in the near future :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison K, Manager at Kealys of Cloghran, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted that our staff looked after you so well. We have passed your positive feedback on to them and we look forward to looking after you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Niamh's Confirmation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had our duaghters confirmation party in the room up stairs at Kealys on 31/5/2014 the staff were friendly& helpful with everything we needed would recomend to anybody having a family gathering or party .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison K, Manager at Kealys of Cloghran, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you and the family had a great day celebrating Niamh's Confirmation. We look forward to looking after you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kealys of Cloghran also viewed

 

Been to Kealys of Cloghran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kealys of Cloghran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.