We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeyglen Cottage B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abbeyglen Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Abbeyglen Cottage B&B
47 Dublin Road, Swords, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Swords B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Value for money....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Value for money....10 minute drive to airport makes it comfy stay if you are there for a night or so. Rooms are small, cosy and tidy. Basic amenities intact. Hosts are helpful and provide good tips to roam around

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston Springs, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We chose this B&B because of its location - literally just five minutes from the airport - and because of the reviews. We were not disappointed. We arrived earlier than check in time and were greeted and made to feel welcome. They had our room ready which was spotless and comfortable. As we had an early flight a breakfast tray was prepared for us to have in our room so we did not have to leave hungry. Bernadette was very accomdating arranging for our taxi in advance. If I return to Ireland this will be on my list of stays!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Bernadette and Andrew's superb B&B prior to our flight to Heathrow. It was our second stay here in the last 2 years. I would strongly recommend taking a later flight rather than miss the breakfast experience. It is part of the package, not just a breakfast, and what a first class experience at that.
The decor throughout the B&B is tasteful in soft beige colors with a large comfortable bed and adequate seats. Large, warm fluffy towels complemented the indulgence experience. We even had face cloths, something lacking in many B&Bs.
We have no reservations in highly recommending this quality B&B to the most fastidious travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a value this place was. It was our least expensive B and B, but Bernadette's hospitality was great. We were sorry we couldn't stay for breakfast due to an early flight, but she left us a tray with cereal (milk in a thermos), juice, coffee, and buns.

It is literally five minutes from the airport. How convenient is that!l She recommended a great pub with good food five minutes walk down the road. Shower, beds, etc were just fine. We had off street parking which was important.

If you need that arrival or departure B and B around Dublin, this is the place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Abbeyglen is a very nicely appointed B&B. Bernadette and her husband have thought carefully about travellers' needs when creating this B&B.They were wonderful hosts. Our room was nicely appointed with a great bathroom! The breakfast was very tasty and well presented.
Abbeyglen is in a quiet location but also very handy to Dublin Aiirport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

A very nice B&B in Swords, about 20 minutes from Dublin by Bus. Our room was a bit small because of our late booking... Delicious breakfast and very friendly welcome when we arrived! Bernadette and her husband were very, very friendly and we were glad about the recommendations what we have to visit, where to eat and where to drink a Guinness in Dublin!! If I ever go to Dublin again I will surely stay in Abbeyglen Cottage!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

On our last night of our most recent trip to Ireland we were pleased to stay with Bernadette at the Abbeyglen B and B in Swords. This darling, immaculate, B and B is literally 5 minutes to the Dublin airport, located in a quiet residential neighborhood, has plenty of off street parking, and is close enough to everything in case you need to get a bite to eat or do some last minute shopping. When Bernadette learned that we had a very early morning flight and would miss her famous breakfast, she arrived at our door with a breakfast tray of fruit, juice and various rolls, coffee and tea. Everything was just so, the bathrooms were lovely and roomy, and it is a great value. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbeyglen Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyglen Cottage B&B

Address: 47 Dublin Road, Swords, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyglen Cottage is an approved 4 star quality B&B set in a privileged location - quiet yet just 5 minutes stroll from a selection of excellent pubs, restaurants and shopping. 5 Minutes drive to Dublin Airport. Ample private parking is available & bus stops are a few metres from the house. All bedrooms have spacious en-suites with power showers, superior beds, flat screen satellite TV, complimentary high speed Wi-Fi & tea/coffee making facilities. Our superior double rooms have a queen size bed. Our double room has a standard double bed. An extensive breakfast menu is available. Breakfast trays are provided for early departures. Le Francais parle. We look forward to welcoming you to our home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Abbeyglen Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbeyglen Cottage B&B Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeyglen Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.