We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locale for easy in and out of Dublin ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riversdale Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riversdale Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Riversdale Bed & Breakfast
Balheary Road, Swords, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Swords B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
“Great locale for easy in and out of Dublin ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very conveniently located for sightseeing and pub crawling in Dublin ... Michael and Catherine couldn't be more accommodating or gracious with everything from parking and traffic tips to help registering Vat tax refund cards ... great breakfast, cozy rooms ... and free soccer right next door

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Compared to the other B&B's we stayed at it's just OK. Breakfast was very average. Old furniture and beds. Very small bathroom. You could hear every sound when others would come and go. It is close to the airport, and not to far from stores and restaurants. Room for parking your car. The owners were nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms upstairs are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Riverdale was the last B&B stay of our trip to Ireland. It was a very comfortable and clean home and we had a pleasant 20 minute walk to town for dinner and sight seeing. Michael was very helpful with recommendations for dinner (the old public school house) as well as the best route to the Dublin airport. It was nice finish to a great first time visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My cousin and I enjoyed our stay. The house was lovely; very comfortable and homey feeling. The outdoor environment was great, we enjoyed the country-fied feeling and look of the surrounding grounds. The hosts were marvelous....friendly and helpful. The suggestions and advise they provided was spot on. We only spent one night in Swords. We wanted to tour Dublin on our last night but did not want to stay in the city and deal with traffic. We drove Ireland in mid-June and decided we had had enough driving, we wanted someone else to do the driving for a change. So we followed Catherine's suggestions on bus transportation and were able to enjoy our jaunt into Dublin. We would consider staying here again if our travels bring us back to the area.

Room Tip: Great small town atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had one night at Riverdale. The house was very clean, peaceful, and comfortable. Catherine was very friendly and willing to help above and beyond. We had a flight to Liverpool the next day with a return two days later. Catherine was nice enough to store our large bag until we returned, thus saving us checked luggage fee on Ryanair or a baggage check fee at the airport. Neither were cheap.

We were unable to have the breakfast that many others have complimented on. We had a very early flight, however, bread, cereals, coffee, tea, yogurt, and many condiments were set out for us to have a small meal before our flight. It was greatly appreciated!

When we return to Ireland, we will certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dfw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in Riversdale for 1 day during our trip in Ireland. The B&B was very clean and in a very quiet environment. The breakfast was very good and the hosts very friendly. The Shannon Airport is very near this location and made our next-day connection very easy. The Hosts were very accommodating on our departure time and wanted to make certain that we were well cared for in their home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at Riversdale for 2 nights so I would have ready access to Newgrange and Dublin. Catherine was very friendly and helpful in directing us to catching the commuter bus to Dublin and the bus stop was very close by. She also gave us several ideas for dinner and we tried two of them and had excellent meals. The cold bottled water was lovely. After a long day walking, I needed it! The room was small but very clean and the bathroom also small but very clean. Easy access to airport as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riversdale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversdale Bed & Breakfast

Address: Balheary Road, Swords, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riversdale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riversdale Bed & Breakfast Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riversdale Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.