We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value meal, lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kettles Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kettles Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Kettles Country House Hotel
Lispopple Cross, Swords, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Swords
Drogheda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value meal, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had steak dinner on a Groupon deal. Current, April promotion may have actually been cheaper but cannot fault the value-steak was excellent quality, side orders all great and we were given complimentary salad and rosemary potatoes both of which were lovely. Oh, almost forgot the nice bread provided too!

We booked for 5:30pm and were the only diners-probably for the best as my two year old was a bit cranky! Staff could not have been nicer and dining room is very comfortable.

All in all I heartily recommend Kettles if you're in the market for a good steak in north Co Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    49
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
56
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a magnificent steak dinner had.
Prime juicy steak cooked to perfection and served with a smile.
Fantastic value at €11.95 (Thursdays) for 10oz steak-fries-onions-mushrooms and glass of wine.
Never had better and will return as often as possible.
Staff were the nicest I have delt with in years

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here on a groupon deal. Rooms spacious and clean,the heating was difficult to control, we had turned the thermostat down and opened the window but the room was still very stuffy. Very peaceful, did not hear a soul.Breakfast good. We ate in the steak house, what a place, this was the best steak dish I have had in a very long time, friendly waiting staff and plenty of portions. Both bars were busy and full of locals, always a good sign.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enniskillen
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

stayed here on a sat night. arrived early and was told that checkin was at 3 so we went into swords and arrived back at 2.45. the room was then ready. it was a large room with a bathroom with a bath overlooking the back of the hotel. the decor of the room and bathroom was lovely. we booked a table in the restaurant for 7. we did want 7.30 but were told that they were booked up between 7 and 8 and there was a cancellation for 7. we didnt have 2 go downstairs to go 2 the restaurant as there was a door leading from the 2nd floor of the hotel. we were the only people in the restaurant until about 10 others arrived. we didnt leave the restaurant until 8.30 and it was still quite empty even then. the meal however was lovely and my husband especially enjoyed his steak. we did go down to the bar to listen to the music but it was just like background music and we retired 2 bed early. we heard no noise until around 3oclock from people going past to their rooms. this noise went on for about an hour. breakfast the next morning was at 8.15 and we arrived down around around 8.20. there was no juice, cereal or fruit. we were given a menu and we ordered 2 full irish fried breakfasts. tea and coffee were brought to our table. around 15 mins later we seen the waiter bringing out juice and cereal for people to help themselves. we just took the juice as our frys were on the way. we would have been liked to have been informed that the cereal was on its way and it should have been out for 8.15. we checked out early as it was snowing and we were going to stay in the d hotel in drogheda that night ( review to follow for it ). the staff in kettles were all pleasent but i think if we were 2 return maybe we would eat in the bar the next time and go down later for the breakfast. also the hotel had a large carpark

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here on a voucher offer and found it to be warm, welcoming, well staffed, and easy going place. Had a bar meal, which was quite impressive for the cost. Breakfast was fine and made to order.Rooms clean, warm, so all in all yes it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a Christmas present from the kids. From ringing to book our stay to leaving all members or staff where extremely friendly. Our room wasnt ready when we arrived early to book in but was offered complimentary tea or coffee which was nice. Our room was massive, free safe, usual tea/coffee and bathroom accessories. Everything very clean. Would have been nice to have had a coffee table to go with the two chairs, but thats our only complaint! There was a disco going on in the bar and we expected to be kept awake till the early hours, but couldnt hear a thing in our room. Barely heard any noise at all during the night, which is unusual in hotels. Next morning breakfast started 0815 and ended 1130hrs. We expected the usual buffett breakfast but it was actually cooked fresh to order and was delicous.
Would willing go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very unpleasant waiting staff,particularly the female staff. Sandwiches were stale obviously prepared day before. Female staff were clearing the condiments from the table whilst we were still eating. Seems like they couldnt wait to get rid of us so they could finish up. Tea and coffee were cold. Have to say the male floor and barstaff were far better.overall a bad experience and wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kettles Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kettles Country House Hotel

Address: Lispopple Cross, Swords, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kettle's Country House Hotel located just outside the lively town of Swords is an ideal venue for weddings, meetings or simply just to relax. Just minutes from Dublin airport, the Country House Hotel has 25 stylish and comfortable bedrooms all designed to incorporate the highest level of technology available while maintaining the homely atmosphere that we are famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kettles Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kettles Country House Hotel Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kettles Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.