We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for. We felt, we got a lot more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kettles Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kettles Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Kettles Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lispopple Cross, Swords, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Swords
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“You get what you pay for. We felt, we got a lot more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

we booked on a groupon voucher for 59 euro. It included 2 of us, breakfast, late check out [recommended and funnily enough very much required] and a 'welcome drink' on arrival.

Top of the list has to be the staff. We tried the meal food from the bar which was good and it being a while since the youngest was born [about 3 years] I guess we didn't realise how much catching up we had to do. anythjing i could change ? probably the DJ. He was good and we didn't mind him. Just my/ our taste in music I suppose.

Overall. Enjoyed ourselves. Good rooms. Great staff. And again for 59 quid, would I really have any complaints ? Not on your nelly. Recommended. Highl;y.

Room Tip: another couple we met there [same deal] said they'd been there before and booked the bridal suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    52
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
31
62
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We hired a car from the airport and it was only a few minutes drive to the hotel. Lots of free parking so that was never a problem. Free wireless Internet kept us in touch with loved ones back home in Australia. Breakfast was included in the price of the room which meant we could order anything from the breakfast menu. Each night we had dinner in the dinning area of the hotel bar which was nice and cosy. The meals were excellent and very reasonably priced, we would say cheap compared to Australian prices. All the staff were very well trained and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was huge and very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We attended my Sister-in-Law's birthday party in Kettles Hotel and stayed overnight. We were welcomed at reception by the receptionist on duty who was professional, courteous and friendly. A special thanks to reception staff Barbara and Marion who organised the complimentary shuttle service both to and from Dublin Airport for us. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, however, the lighting was rather dim and there was only 1 channel on tv - it wasn't a major problem. Food at the party was very good and the service was excellent. Breakfast next morning was really nice, freshly cooked to order - a rarity these days in hotels!! Breakfast service was friendly and professional. Kettles Hotel is indeed a little gem in North County Dublin and one which we will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were celebrate a birthday party here. We had such a brilliant time.The food and the staff superb.After a meal we went down to the bar, very good atmosphere,great crack. We highly recommend this hotel. Finally like to say THANKS for all the STAFF for the great night.(we had a house special the giant ribs,which was a generous portion You have to try this)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Kettle's was my last stop - I stayed there because it was close to the airport and I was flying out in the early morning. Because of rush hour traffic, it probably took me about 25-30 minutes to get to the rental car return area. Not terrible.

The place seems as though it had very recently been updated. Looks nice; but cheaply done. I'd compare it to a Holiday Inn Express. It was reasonably clean . . . but not very clean, and I'm not too fussy so I didn't mind. A few lightbulbs were burnt out, there was a spider and web in the ceiling corner, peeling veneer on the bathroom door, dirty corners in the bath, about 6 long black hairs in the tub (I'm blonde, so they weren't mine), and - as usual in Irish hotels/B&B's - no washcloth.

On the good side - AMAZING shower!! Tons of water, and super hot! That alone was worth the price of admission. :) And the staff was pleasant. I would probably stay somewhere else next time - looking for a little more charm and a little more convenience; but it was perfectly servicable all-in-all.

Room Tip: I wound up staying in room 203 - which, it turns out, had a window that looked out over the roof of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Afternoon tea is excellent at Kettles Country House Hotel. I bought a voucher on the internet for four people to go for afternoon tea. We got a great amount of sandwiches and cakes and an Irish coffee was included for each of us. Great value with the voucher but quite expensive if paying full price.Staff were very pleasant too. Altogether a very enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed a few days ago as I had a long layover at the airport and the price was reasonable though taxi fare to and from the airport was about 18 Euro each way. The hotel is quite far from Dublin so is not a very practical place if you want to see the city. I had a beef casserole which was really an Irish Stew and it was excellent, including a huge slab of in-house baked whole grain bread. It was plentiful and reasonably priced. Had the full Irish breakfast in the morning and could not finish it all. I second the notion that the staff are great, I would just repeat OrahK's comments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kettles Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kettles Country House Hotel

Address: Lispopple Cross, Swords, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Swords
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Swords
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kettles Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kettle's Country House Hotel located just outside the lively town of Swords is an ideal venue for weddings, meetings or simply just to relax. Just minutes from Dublin airport, the Country House Hotel has 25 stylish and comfortable bedrooms all designed to incorporate the highest level of technology available while maintaining the homely atmosphere that we are famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kettles Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kettles Country House Hotel Swords, County Dublin, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kettles Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.