We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort in a beautiful area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay
110 Village Lane, Fairfield Bay, AR 72088 (Formerly Fairfield Bay Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fairfield Bay
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice resort in a beautiful area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would have given it a 5, but no internet connection in the units. We stayed in a 2-bedroom in the Fairways section. One level unit with a deck that looked out to the golf course. Clean, comfortable, quiet. Full kitchen. Washer & dryer. And a whirlpool tub in the master bath that is big enough to have a small party in! Greer's Ferry Lake is close by, and the resort offers a marina, bowling alley, pools, miniature golf, etc. The countryside in the area is just beautiful. Great place to go to see beautiful fall foliage. The resort, which is located in the town of Fairfield Bay, also has several restaurants within the complex and there is a grocery store just off the property. We ate at Grumpy's Restaurant and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for providing such great feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the unit accommodations. We hope you come back to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
37
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Spent Labor Day weekend 2013 at Wyndham at Fairfield Bay and was greatly disappointed. Something everyone needs to know BEFORE going to Fairfield Bay - It is a not your typical timeshare or resort area. The entire community of Fairfield Bay, including Wyndham Fairfield Bay, is a resort/retirement village that was established in 1966. As a result, it is VERY spread out (our unit was 3 miles from the check-in) and is intermixed with the full-time residential areas.

The unit itself was nice, except the weird master whirlpool/shower tub (in order to take a shower, it was a hand held shower while standing in the whirlpool tub!). The ammenities, quite frankly, suck. There was a pool within easy walking distance from our unit located in Hamilton Cove, but no hot tub. We drove all around the various Wyndham timeshare groupings and not a single one had a hot tub. Mountain Meadows did not even have a pool within walking distance. If you do stay here, if you have young children - Cliffside area would be your best area to stay as the pool had Zero entry and fun area for little kids. The only hot tub was located at the Fitness Center and was indoors (and the fitness center is open to the entire community of Fairfield Bay).

In order to check out movies or games, you do so at various business locations within the community and there is a fee even to check out a game. The restaurants, marina, and everything is part of the community. The marina was an absolute madhouse and you is not easily accessible when pulling a boat. The "swim beach" was right next to the boat launch (which is a do not swim area where I am from due to the oil, etc from the boats) and the "beach" was literally sand thrown on the asphalt of part of the road!

We tried to go out to Sugar Loaf Mountain, an island on the lake. When we contacted the marina to book the ferry, we found out that the ferry does not run on the weekends - not even Labor Day Weekend! How absurd! In all the literature we were given at check-in, other than the Fitness Center schedule everything was for stuff to do at least 1-hour drive away. We went to the front desk to ask what there was to do in the area and was directed to places at least a hour away and nothing worth driving at least 2-hours round trip for (i.e. a trading post, people that show up on a courthouse lawn and sing, etc.)

Luckily I had found a few things to do online in the area that could keep us busy for 1 day, the log cabin museum, the Indian Rock House Cave, and 3 totem poles that were made by local artisan woodcarvers. These were all right in Fairfield Bay, but not listed at all in the literature provided to us or mentioned by the front desk when we inquired about things to do in the area. Basically, unless you have a boat with you or are into golfing or hiking there is nothing to do here.

Room Tip: Hamilton Cove if just adults in group. Cliffside if traveling with young children or enjoy tennis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback along with some helpful tips to future guests. We apologize for any inconvenience the resort layout provided during your visit. We strive to provide this information to the guests through the website. We will work better to communicate this through additional channels in the future. Again, thank you for reaching out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Probably shouldn't write this review so it doesn't get crowded, but this was a tremendous vacation spot for a week. The resort is actually part of Fairfield Glade which is a 8000 home development near Crossville, TN. There is so much activity to do daily, you can be as busy as you want. There is a small mall with a couple of excellent restaurants, a Kroger convenience store (really?, yep) and other shops.
There are 5 18 hole golf courses here as well as numerous lakes and horse stables! The 2 bedroom unit we had was excellent and clean with no maintenance issues! We'll be back again and again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Hank,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this helpful feedback including activities in the area. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This timeshare resort caters for the more senior community and does it very well. The staff could not be more nice or helpful. The rooms, although dated, were very well maintained and comfortable, with modern appliances. Our "kitchenette" had parquet floors that brought back memories when there was actually wood on the floors instead of laminate.

What's unique Fairfield Bay is that it's a community, not a town. There's activities to do every day. The only disappointing thing was that there were no canoe, paddleboat, kayaks to rent.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Mountain Ridge section have a secluded, woodsy view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife booked this stay, and I'm glad she did. We usually tend to stay places with a lot of amenities nearby. We also tend to stay places that keep us busy and on the run, without the opportunity to relax. This resort was different...

The 'Unit': Our 2 bedroom condo was on the top floor and had vaulted ceilings, was very well lit with tons of windows allowing natural light to pour in, and included a porch that wrapped around two of the three sides of the unit. When we walked into the unit, we were greeted with a fully furnished kitchen on the right with a full size stove, oven, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, stainless steel sink, and painted white cabinets furnished with all of the dishes necessary for a one week stay. Just past the kitchen was an open dining area with a nice table and enough chairs to seat 6, not including the two taller chairs at the kitchen bar that separated the two spaces. Just past the Dining Area was the living room which had a sofa, chair, coffee table, a couple end tables with lamps, a flat screen TV on a nice stand, and a wood-burning fire place with utensils. Both the living room and the dining area had sliding glass doors that opened out to what may be considered a wrap around porch. This porch was up nearly four or five stories and had an incredible view!

The two bedrooms were also nice... One bedroom had two twin size beds separated by an end table and lamp, a chair, a dresser, and a reasonable sized closet. Just outside of this bedroom was a closet with an apartment style top/bottom clothes washer and dryer, and a standard sized bathroom with a nice size sink, clean toilet, and tub and shower. The Master Bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed, a couple end tables with lamps, a dresser, a small tube TV on a nice sized stand, a chair, and a nice sized closet. The Master Bedroom Bathroom was rather large with one somewhat long sink, a clean toilet, and one of the largest Jacuzzi tubs I've ever seen before! I'm not much of a tub kind of guy and was pleased that they also had a hand held shower wand! It wasn't until I took my first shower that I realized there was no shower curtain around this giant Jacuzzi tub... That was a little unsettling at first with the feeling of showering in a large open room, but I quickly adapted to all the extra space!

The 'Unit' Pros: The space, layout, amenities, furnishings, etc. in the unit were very clean and did not have many signs of wear.

The 'Unit' Cons: The unit appeared to have been built in the 1970's or 1980's. There is nothing wrong with this except the furnishings also appeared to have been sitting there since the unit was new. The colors, patterns, designs, etc. appear to be outdated. This is the only reason I couldn't give this property the highest rating.

The 'Area': Fairfield Bay, Arkansas is a very quiet area that is located off the beaten path. It was very nice, tree'd, and located on the north side of Greer's Ferry Lake. The views from the hilltops and the valleys were all very beautiful! We felt like we were staying in the heart of Ozark country!

During our one week stay, we visited quite a few beautiful and fun attractions! The first we saw was Indian Rock Cave which is a very large cave opening with Indian carvings located on the side of Indian Hills Golf Course right in Fairfield Bay. We enjoyed visiting the nearby museum and cabin, and loved hiking the beautiful trails! Another nearby attraction we visited was the Greer's Ferry Lake Marina where we stopped to feed the fish. Other than attractions, we did a little shopping at Craven Foods, the grocery store located just outside the main entrance of Fairfield Bay, and Dollar General, located next door to Craven Foods. We were surprised to find that the prices at Craven Foods were very reasonable. Other places we visited in Fairfield bay included Janssen's, a restaurant that served delicious pizza and drinks, and the local gym where we played in the large indoor swimming pool and relaxed in the hot tub! I also visited the Fairfield Bay Pharmacy... Something that I must be allergic to was blooming that week, and the Pharmacist was very helpful in helping me find just what I needed!

Fortunately, our unit was located just down the parking lot from one of the three or four swimming pools in Fairfield Bay. When we decided to go swimming, we were expecting to see a simple in-ground concrete hole filled with water... Boy were we surprised! The swimming pool was large and included a toddler pool off to the side! It had fountains spraying water into it, and had depths ranging from 3 feet to 5.5 feet. The toddler pool had a zero depth entry with a maximum depth of only 2.5 feet. Surrounding the pool were clean tables and lawn chairs for relaxing, which is exactly what we did! Plus, the pool area was located on a hill with an impressive view looking southeast to Greer's Ferry Lake! We spent a lot more time there than what we expected!

There are two very nice golf courses located in Fairfield Bay, but unfortunately, I threw my back out the week before our vacation and did not play. However, when driving around and hiking, we took a look at the beautiful courses. It made me wish I would have brought my clubs with me anyways!

Outside of Fairfield Bay, we visited the Arkansas Natural Bridge ($5 per adult), Buffalo National River (free), Little Rock Zoo($10 per adult), Blanchard Springs (free) and Blanchard Springs Caverns ($10.50 per adult), and the beautiful town of Mountain View (free). All of these places were very nice, but were located a little distance from the condo. If we return in the future, we will probably return to the small town of Mountain View and Blanchard Springs.

The 'Area' Pros: The area was quiet and peaceful with remarkable views!

The 'Area' Cons: Most of the attractions we wanted to see were at least a one hour drive from the resort.

All in all, we had a wonderful time! We were surprised by all of the people who lived in Fairfield Bay. We thought it was all owned by Wyndham but later found out that the town of Fairfield Bay originally started as a retirement community, but later grew into a spread out town. We would love to return in the future for another relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room on the top floor... More space and better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just got back from a 1 week stay and had a great time. Yes, as other reviews state it is a bit older, but has been kept up fairly well. We were in unit 15 at Mountain Ridge, during Labor Day week. It was quiet, and since we were on a top unit didn't have any noise issues. Janice especially, but really all the front desk staff were amazing. They gave us extra popcorn,coffee,lemonade and other goodies just to make sure we were comfortable. The unit was older, but was clean and was kept up very well. I reported a disposal problem, and it was fixed within hours. That was our only issue. The "welcome breakfast" left something to be desired, with only biscuits, jelly and gravy....maybe zt least some fruit would gaff been nice. The info given and door prizes were very nice, but would have also been nice if the surrounding towns to Fairfield Bay could have been covered. Once you cover that area, which will only take a day or two, you will want to see and do other things, so it would be nice if the towns close by, like Mountain View were covered. Thanks to Janice and the front desk staff and our own research we did see many other things.
I would go back, it was very relaxing. Be sgure to go to Mountain View, eat at the pharmacy, stay for the pickin' and grinin' on the town square, and go see the caverns.....amazing.

Room Tip: Mountain ridge top floor, awesome view. Bring your adult beverages with you, you are surrounded by d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TULSA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very deep in the woods!! We loved it. We are not golfers so that didnt interest us much. We played mini-golf, it was great. We are country people so we dont chase balls around pastures. But if you are golfers we heard it was great from others. 2 bedroom deluxe condo was pretty nice, A little dated but pretty nice. We took both nature trails. Not enough rain for waterfalls to run but both were nice including the cave trail by the golf course. Ate at Grumpys & Jensens both good places to eat. Marina was nice. Go feed the fish, kids will love it. You will need a full week if you want to do it all. We recommend highlly to return.We didnt have much contact with the main desk, but they seemed friendlly and helpful.

Room Tip: 2 bedrrom delux is great for 4 to 6 people. We had 4 so we did not have to fold out the couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay

Address: 110 Village Lane, Fairfield Bay, AR 72088 (Formerly Fairfield Bay Resort)
Location: United States > Arkansas > Fairfield Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fairfield Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Bay Hotel Fairfield Bay
Wyndham Fairfield Bay
Wyndham Hotel Fairfield Bay
Fairfield Bay Resort Arkansas
Fairfield Bay Wyndham
Wyndham Resort At Fairfield Bay Arkansas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.